Thread: United in trouble

If the club is in financial difficulty it might suit the board for us to go down.........40% of Jeff's salary is dependant on survival so there is more money saved. Penny pinching at its most despicable.
    If YOU are not part of the solution,
    YOU ARE part of the problem

Kinda ironic that after the best performance for a long time is followed by this news. Had Cousins been sacked earllier and Kenna in for the pre season I think the performances would have been much better, higher in the table, healthier crowds. Oh but hindsight is a wonderful thing.

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    I'm a lot less worried about the future of the club tonight, than I was last night.

In future, we should aim to have 10-12 decent professionals backed up by local youngsters and part-timers.
    Not trying to be smart but a lot of people (myself included) said this at the time we jumped straight into full-time status once we got into the Premier.

Unfortunately by going exclusively full-time we were only able to put together a very average squad with a couple of (so-called) big names (o'flynn & lester in particular) who had potential but for different reasons had never really fulfilled it.

But the past is done with and in future we should look to a smaller number of full-timers and supplement that with local/part-time players.

In reality we are only losing 5 subs and one first teamer so if Jeff can bring in 2 players who play regularly enough in the window we are better off.

Also I reckon the club will be about 5 grand better off each week if all players leave, and this without weaking us THAT much.*

*Provided we can bring in a decent centre half.

Last edited by galwayhoop; 06/06/2008 at 9:54 AM.

147 Posts
    According to today's Tribune, the club projected revenue of €1.48m this year, that has now been revised down to €1.2m, so there is basically a shortfall of €250,000 - no wonder they have to let players go.
    Also claims club is close to breaching the 65% salary cap, and that 2 clubs already have.
    This is not good news, almost time for a bucket collection in town and yes, I am being serious
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

75 Posts
    id say revenue wont reach €1m .If none of the players get new clubs we are in serious employment law trouble and is there any cutbacks in the admin side.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Quote Originally Posted by Sumac View Post
    Kinda ironic that after the best performance for a long time is followed by this news. Had Cousins been sacked earllier and Kenna in for the pre season I think the performances would have been much better, higher in the table, healthier crowds. Oh but hindsight is a wonderful thing.
    I would'nt call it hindsight the majority of the '''hardocre'' support anyway wanted Cousins gone last season never mind this!!
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

I hope this isn't the endgame.

We have been Derby on the field and now it looks like we may be Gretna off it.

It makes me sad, but the reality is not enough people in Galway support the team. 2,500 are prepared to go to see so-called legends on a Saturday afternoon, 800 approximately are prepared to suport the team in a relegation 6 pointer against Cobh 48 hours later.

When there was huge internal debate within the club over Sunderland prices last year and season ticket prices this year, the CEO made very convincing arguments about the financial implications. He said he wanted to know if the city and county were prepared to back the team. Failure to get enough people to go to the games in Terryland is contributing directly to current events. I'm very proud to be from Galway, but our sporting public is very fickle.

Not for the first time in 30+ years, those who have backed the club financially are learning some very tough lessons, but fair play to them for doing their best to keep national league soccer in the town.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

Increasing Prices this seaon was not the answer though. I am not saying it was the major factor but it was a factor. It was highlighted by some people on here and I have spoken to others which felt the prices were prohibitive. If a guy and his girlfriend want to go to a game in the new stand for example the cost is €40. It is no wonder crowds are down. People went to the legends game beacuase of the novelty of seeing these players they used to see on tv.
    The Galway Sporting public is extremely fickle and we have known this for years. Therefore increasing prices was always going to turn people away, not tempt them.

Increasing Prices this seaon was not the answer though. I am not saying it was the major factor but it was a factor. It was highlighted by some people on here and I have spoken to others which felt the prices were prohibitive. If a guy and his girlfriend want to go to a game in the new stand for example the cost is €40. It is no wonder crowds are down. People went to the legends game beacuase of the novelty of seeing these players they used to see on tv.
    The Galway Sporting public is extremely fickle and we have known this for years. Therefore increasing prices was always going to turn people away, not tempt them.

spot on.

The board themselves have to take an awful lot of responsibility. Prices were increased on the back of on-field promises. Most were not convinced about promises of top six football. For our first season back in the big time many people bought season tickets to support the club - they were seriously good value for even those with only a passing interest and the size of crowds proved this. Instead of maintaining this support the club choose to tell them of their responsibilities and how they had to pay more for the right to compete. It was the ultimate chicken and egg. Pay for top six football first and then it will come.

The club backed a manager who many rank and file supporters had lost faith in. Now we have a manager who most seem to have faith in and the board has to slash expenses. Do we blame the support (who we all knew were fickle and always have been in this neck of the woods, but would probably have forked out at lower prices) or should the board hold up their hands and accept their blunder and perhaps offer half season reduced rate season tickets and slash entry fees????

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    spot on.

The board themselves have to take an awful lot of responsibility. Prices were increased on the back of on-field promises. Most were not convinced about promises of top six football. For our first season back in the big time many people bought season tickets to support the club - they were seriously good value for even those with only a passing interest and the size of crowds proved this. Instead of maintaining this support the club choose to tell them of their responsibilities and how they had to pay more for the right to compete. It was the ultimate chicken and egg. Pay for top six football first and then it will come.

The club backed a manager who many rank and file supporters had lost faith in. Now we have a manager who most seem to have faith in and the board has to slash expenses. Do we blame the support (who we all knew were fickle and always have been in this neck of the woods, but would probably have forked out at lower prices) or should the board hold up their hands and accept their blunder and perhaps offer half season reduced rate season tickets and slash entry fees????

Agree with you but if they offer reduced price half season tickets and slash prices you can be sure that some season ticket holders will complain and want a refund. They bought their tickets at the start of the season on the understanding that they were getting a discount. As a season ticket holder I don't care and wont feel hard done by if it helps us out of this mess but some will use any excuse to complain about the club.

Certainly dind't help. Heard many people who were regulars last season say that they were going to pick and choose their games this season because of the cost. Especially given current economic circumstances and general belt tightening.

Then people just got sick of paying those prices to see brutal home performances week after week and lost patience. Fair weather fans they may be but the club still needs them to turn up because it can't survive on the hardcore alone.

Would be a terrible situation to see United flounder again in the lower division. Only club in one of the biggest cities in the country, a city with a young population and one of the best grounds in the country. On the face of it it has everything going for it but it just never seems to work out.
    Last edited by Maroon 7; 06/06/2008 at 3:13 PM.

Also claims club is close to breaching the 65% salary cap, and that 2 clubs already have.
    [/QUOTE]

Does this mean we will see a load of these ****** on the League table soon?

Maybe we'll start jumping places up the table
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gordongekko View Post
    If you include the 2 lads coming back from loan then we have 16 plus jeff and ian is 18
    Jeff never said Foster was going to play.

He said that he was going to talk to him, but he may not even be able to play for all we know.

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    id say revenue wont reach €1m .If none of the players get new clubs we are in serious employment law trouble and is there any cutbacks in the admin side.
    Get rid of Jimmy Norman for a start.

Quote Originally Posted by gufcfan View Post
    Get rid of Jimmy Norman for a start.
    Plenty of talk about volunteers to do the job so time for one of them (who is capable of doing the job) to get off their soap box and contact the club volunteering to do it.

Quote Originally Posted by Terry-Lander View Post
    Plenty of talk about volunteers to do the job so time for one of them (who is capable of doing the job) to get off their soap box and contact the club volunteering to do it.
    The club seem more interested in "professionals" and seem to have very little time for amateur volunteers. Plenty of volunteers were sent to their "soap boxes" after volunteering for years from what I can see.
    Maybe you might be interested in helping out yourself?

Quote Originally Posted by GuisaSaigon View Post
    The club seem more interested in "professionals" and seem to have very little time for amateur volunteers. Plenty of volunteers were sent to their "soap boxes" after volunteering for years from what I can see.
    Maybe you might be interested in helping out yourself?

You obviously have no idea of what I do for, or am involved in, with the club or you wouldn't ask such a question. This is not about one-up-manship it's about us all pulling together to support the club in whatever way we can.

As for having little time for amateur volunteers the programme every week seems to be asking for volunteers to 'lend a hand'. I know there are problems and that mistakes have been made and that some might (justifyably) feel shafted. I never suggested that the club, board or fans are perfect!

I do think that it is more important for ALL involved in the club to pull together even if that means putting our differences aside. We all have a common goal of having the best club we can have, playing at the top level.

Finally I'm not having a go at you or anyone else.......I'm not interested in such pettiness. I am interested in us all working positivly together, without a need for bad mouthing the club.

37 Posts
    [/B]

You obviously have no idea of what I do for, or am involved in, with the club or you wouldn't ask such a question. This is not about one-up-manship it's about us all pulling together to support the club in whatever way we can.
    Are you trying to tell us that your name isn't really Terry-Lander? Jeeze, ya caught me there.

If the club is in financial difficulty it might suit the board for us to go down.........40% of Jeff's salary is dependant on survival so there is more money saved. Penny pinching at its most despicable.
    We all have a common goal of having the best club we can have, playing at the top level.

Your right I have no idea who you are Terry. For someone so immersed in the club you seem to be unsure about the direction the club want to go yourself.

The club needs to clarify the current situation to supporters and dispel certain rumours.Until that happens people are sure to question the actions of the board.

Quote Originally Posted by GuisaSaigon View Post

Your right I have no idea who you are Terry. For someone so immersed in the club you seem to be unsure about the direction the club want to go yourself.

The club needs to clarify the current situation to supporters and dispel certain rumours.Until that happens people are sure to question the actions of the board.

Carefull now, we might start agreeing.