Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Thread: Tallaght Stadium Pics

Isn't it ironic?

The 2009 season will see the re-birth of Irelands most famous club, in a brand new stadium,while regulars at the X will most likely (at best) be witnessing division 1 football.All the best to Rovers

Quote Originally Posted by ForzaHoop View Post
    each side will be 3000, and the two ends will be 2000 ! Thats what the plan is or was.\
    Phase 1 is the main stand and Temp stand on the other side...........
    Sorry to be joining so late in the discussion, and I'm sure you're blue in face from explaining to people what the plans are.
    My understanding is:
    Plans: two sideline stands - 3,000 each and two goal-end stands - 2,000 each.

Progress: Work underway on one sideline stand. Will be completed for start of 2009 season.

Questions: What are the immediate plans once 1st stand is completed? Will you be starting straight away on the opposite sideline stand? Will you be putting in SPA style temporary seating behind each goal?

Is there a set timeline in place for completion of the other 3 stands?
    Do you have the funds to start the next phase once the 1st stand is finished or will it be a case of finish one stand, save for next stand, finish that stand, save for 3rd stand... etc.?

Hopefully someone can answer the above in a straightforward way.

Great to see the ground FINALLY start to take shape. Really looking forward to visiting it, and best of luck with getting the job done on time.

Passed by the stadium at the weekend, ive seen all the photo's on the rovers website but seeing it for myself with the roof on and all gave me the shivers. It's actually happening
    We'll never die, we'll never die

I heard there was talk of temporary seating (better version of Brays Argis stand) opposite the main stand but don't know if approved.

I see the government capital programme gave SDCC i think E2.6m for the current works.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    I heard there was talk of temporary seating (better version of Brays Argis stand) opposite the main stand but don't know if approved.
    Ye thats the plan i think, also behind the goal to the right of the main stand
    We'll never die, we'll never die

Here are the latest Photo's, some from a Helicopter and one from the ground.
    The Phase I stand is almost complete as well as the clun entrance and shop.
    Happy days ! !

We are the SR the SRFC.......
    Part time Finn Harps too :)

The surface looks great.Any estimate on how much it will hold?

This stand will hold 3000 ! When complete 10,000 circular all seater
    We are the SR the SRFC.......
    Part time Finn Harps too :)

Quote Originally Posted by ForzaHoop View Post
    This stand will hold 3000 ! When complete 10,000 circular all seater
    Can't wait to go there.I think a lot of people won't got there to be honest for example if they are a family travelling.Then again i could be wrong.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    423 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by corkboy360 View Post
    Can't wait to go there.I think a lot of people won't got there to be honest for example if they are a family travelling.Then again i could be wrong.
    Why would people with a family not go?

It'll be the most modern stadium in the league with probably the best facilities. It's not smack in the middle of the slums or anything.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    Why would people with a family not go?

It'll be the most modern stadium in the league with probably the best facilities. It's not smack in the middle of the slums or anything.
    Well without being too negative.Rovers is not the safest away trip.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    423 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by corkboy360 View Post
    Well without being too negative.Rovers is not the safest away trip.
    I think that's rubbish to be honest. Unless people travel looking for trouble they won't find it.

When did you hear about a family ever having any trouble at a league of Ireland match? It'll be the best located ground in the county in terms of public transport and general accessibility. As long as the Gardaí show any kind of sensible approach to crowd management it'll be perfect, and I know Rovers are actively engaging with Tallaght Gardaí already.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

I think that's rubbish to be honest. Unless people travel looking for trouble they won't find it.

When did you hear about a family ever having any trouble at a league of Ireland match? It'll be the best located ground in the county in terms of public transport and general accessibility. As long as the Gardaí show any kind of sensible approach to crowd management it'll be perfect, and I know Rovers are actively engaging with Tallaght Gardaí already.
    Well i travelled there this year for my first time on a non-drinking bus.I had heard lost of stories and thought that's all rubbish we'll be grand.Went up on the bus and we were moved along by public order for singing 5 minutes away from the stadium.We got into the ground and the organiser of our bus ask 3 different member of gardai for the safest place to be collected or maybe for an escort they all said ye'll be grand and as we went up by abra in drumcondra the riot police were herding rovers down the road towards fagans and as our bus passes fagans our window was smashed.Their was families on this bus.

And Lidl is opening soon too!

Tallaght really is going to be a great place to live
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by corkboy360
    Well i travelled there this year for my first time on a non-drinking bus.I had heard lost of stories and thought that's all rubbish we'll be grand.Went up on the bus and we were moved along by public order for singing 5 minutes away from the stadium.We got into the ground and the organiser of our bus ask 3 different member of gardai for the safest place to be collected or maybe for an escort they all said ye'll be grand and as we went up by abra in drumcondra the riot police were herding rovers down the road towards fagans and as our bus passes fagans our window was smashed.Their was families on this bus.
    Reply by PM.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Not a Rovers fan but follow the league. Live in Firhouse and am actually looking forward to seeing a few games in Tallaght this year. Hopefully Rovers can regain some its old glory in its new home. Have some reservations about the behaviour of some of the fans but best of luck anyway.

Penfold
    Last edited by Penfold; 22/02/2009 at 4:25 PM.

Without wanting to start a 'slaughter rovers' campaign thats simply not true.

Im a big fan of trips to Rovers games, but I was one of the organisers of the bus that got a window smashed in while we left. It was a non drinking bus full of kids and families and the only reason it happened was that we had city jerseys on. Only for the double glazing a girl would have been seriously hurt.

It's the only away trip that we have trouble convincing a bus to bring us to, simply because there are those few scumbags that attach themselves to the club.

BUT, Rovers have a great chance now to sort out that image. Half the problem in the above scenario was the Gardai who herded the little scuts in our direction. if they can build up a good relationship with the local guards then there shoudlnt be many problems.

But I know there are a few families down here who would be slow to bring the kids up again. An incident like that is very scary for a child.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234