Thread: World cup squad

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Billy-Green View Post
    If he is playing well and fit yes, but at the moment he is neither, hence i'd rather have Lawrence who is fit and in form in the squad
    I still dont get why you are comparing the 2 players though, they play in different positions
    Its really not that complicated!!!

If he is playing well and fit yes, but at the moment he is neither, hence i'd rather have Lawrence who is fit and in form in the squad
    Have you seen him play? I've heard good reports about him a lot this season. Perhaps he has been poor this year, but not from what I have heard. To give you an example Andy Reid is a player who has struggled with injuries a lot but when fit I would ALWAYS include him in the starting eleven no matter how poor his form is. He simply adds another dimension to our play.

Besides, this is all a moot point anway; if Liam Lawrence plays it will be on the right and if Steven Reid plays, it will probably be in the centre. They're not vying for each other's positions.
    My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method, is love. I love you Sheriff Truman.

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    I still dont get why you are comparing the 2 players though, they play in different positions
    Hang on there on minute mate, i was never comparing them, i was saying who i would rather have in the squad
    We'll never die, we'll never die

As far as I'm aware he's having an operation at the moment (but I may be mistaken). It's the end of the season and plenty of players go in for operations in the close season. I'm sure he's doing it to make sure he's fully fit next year and at his best. It's not really a relevant point at the moment IMO.
    My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method, is love. I love you Sheriff Truman.

This is a most pedantic discussion.

But here's my squad anyway, considering O'Brien, Finnan and Ireland come back. If they don't, there are alternatives.

Given
    Kiely
    Kenny

Delaney
    O'Shea
    Dunne
    St. Ledger
    O'Dea
    J. O'Brien
    A. O'Brien/McShane
    Finnan/Kelly

Hunt
    Duff
    McGeady
    Lawrence
    A. Reid
    S. Reid
    Garvan
    Ireland/Rowlands

Keane
    Doyle
    Keogh
    Folan/Morrisson

This squad really depends on how Lawrence and Folan do in the Premiership this year. Hunt wasn't really well regarded until last season (I don't really remember anyone fighting for his inclusion when he was in the Championship) so I have a lot of hope for Morrisson and Folan.

QPR seem to be going in the right direction (i.e. investment) so it'll be interesting to see what happens Rowlands and Delaney in the next season also.

Garvan and Keogh seem to be developing well.

All in all, I think qualification is possible.

Quote Originally Posted by jmurphyc View Post
    Have you seen him play?
    Besides, this is all a moot point anway; if Liam Lawrence plays it will be on the right and if Steven Reid plays, it will probably be in the centre. They're not vying for each other's positions.
    Yes i have seen him play and he was very good.
    But my original point was "I would have Lawernce ahead of S. Reid, i think Lawernce could offer us alot more than reid" while reid is injured and struggling for form

Quote Originally Posted by Ruben Sosa View Post
    I'd personally like to see Morrison back. I rate him higher than Doyle to be honest.
    As outdated as it sounds, I'd love Elliott to stay clear of injuries and find form again. I haven't seen too much of him at club level but I really liked him whenever he played for us. Sadly I think his time has come and gone.

1,001 Posts
    Hang on there on minute mate, i was never comparing them, i was saying who i would rather have in the squad
    surely u should be talkin bout 2 players that play in the same position, to say that Lawrence should be in instead of Reid makes no sense to me... maybe Im taking u up wrong

I'd personally like to see Morrison back. I rate him higher than Doyle to be honest.
    Yep defo love to see him back, dont know if id rate him higher than Doyle

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    surely u should be talkin bout 2 players that play in the same position, to say that Lawrence should be in instead of Reid makes no sense to me... maybe Im taking u up wrong
    Im getting a head ache now.
    For the last time id rather have a fully fit and in form Liam Lawrence than a non fit not in form Steven reid which is the case at the moment.

1,001 Posts
    Awwwwwww buddy, you started that so well, then ended it so badly... Doyle is extremley limited. I mean seriously. I can't see the attraction at all. Does anyone remember the hassle Morrison gave France in Paris a few years ago? He was fantastic. He has more to offer than Doyle, in my opinion an all that crap.
    Ah yeah but can we trust your opinion now though since you are high??

1,001 Posts
    Im getting a head ache now.
    For the last time id rather have a fully fit and in form Liam Lawrence than a non fit not in form Steven reid which is the case at the moment.
    Im giving up too

Awwwwwww buddy, you started that so well, then ended it so badly...

192 Posts
    id rather have a fully fit and in form Liam Lawrence than a non fit not in form Steven reid which is the case at the moment.
    I'm not sure where you're getting the "not in form" bit from. Reid had a serious back injury and only became available to Blackburn again last December. He made a few substitute appearances and then started every game from 13th January until the end of the season - played all except 5 minutes of those 17 games. He's a first-choice player for a top-7 team in the English premiership - we don't have many of them. There is no way Hughes would continue to pick him if he wasn't performing.

He had a good game against Germany in Stuttgart (in the still hopeful phase of the Stan regime) and we really haven't had him available since then. No doubt injury has severely curtailed his International career but I have never heard any suggestions that he was off-form. The sooner we get him back in the team the better!
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

i have to say lads, i admire yer positivity.. to put those 20 odd players down on paper and then have everyone say we could easily get second, or maybe even 1st in the group - fair play to ye...
    in all honesty i think we'd do well to even challenge for second with that squad - i think when people are having honest discussions about who should play centre half for us and mentioning st.ledger,mcshane,o shea.. we are in serious trouble...
    also, when people are seriously discussing whose a better option - lawrence or reid - thats definitely a sign that we are up shi*t creek without a paddle

listen i hate to be mr. negative, but im gonna say it anyway. i love watching Ireland play, and have done for years. but i honestly think that we are jus not near good enough to take 1st place in this group. the italians will walk it. we may strugggle against the likes o cyprus and montenegro. we will find it hard to beat bulgaria.
    i pray we can take the playoff position but even then we will come up against stronger opposition. columbia should have hammered us the other night. we cant score goals to save our lifes. we allways seem to concede. and i cant see how trap will bring these average players to a world cup. im sorry but thats my opinion. hope im wrong tho.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by beepbeep View Post
    listen i hate to be mr. negative, but im gonna say it anyway. i love watching Ireland play, and have done for years. but i honestly think that we are jus not near good enough to take 1st place in this group. the italians will walk it. we may strugggle against the likes o cyprus and montenegro. we will find it hard to beat bulgaria.
    i pray we can take the playoff position but even then we will come up against stronger opposition. columbia should have hammered us the other night. we cant score goals to save our lifes. we allways seem to concede. and i cant see how trap will bring these average players to a world cup. im sorry but thats my opinion. hope im wrong tho.
    sad but true...
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

and another point i just wanna get off me head , out of all the teams that finished 3rd in their qualifying groups, we scored the least and conceded the most. apart from nrt ireland who had the same gf/ga record.
    Bulgaria got 25 points in their group, only loseing once and still didnt qualify. eg Russia got 24 points and qualified, so in right, bulgaria were very unlucky not to be at euro2008.
    We are up against it BIG time in our group for 2010. and it makes me laugh that people keep bringing names like laurence and mc shane and the rest of out average squad up and seriously thinkin we can win this group??? yer having a laugh.WE ARE JUST NOT GOOD ENOUGH.
    again i do hope im proved wrong. infact i do believe we can cause one shock or two, but then again, when we talk about shocks, maybe 5-2 against cyprus could happen again!

Quote Originally Posted by beepbeep View Post
    and another point i just wanna get off me head , out of all the teams that finished 3rd in their qualifying groups, we scored the least and conceded the most. apart from nrt ireland who had the same gf/ga record.
    Bulgaria got 25 points in their group, only loseing once and still didnt qualify. eg Russia got 24 points and qualified, so in right, bulgaria were very unlucky not to be at euro2008.
    We are up against it BIG time in our group for 2010. and it makes me laugh that people keep bringing names like laurence and mc shane and the rest of out average squad up and seriously thinkin we can win this group??? yer having a laugh.WE ARE JUST NOT GOOD ENOUGH.
    again i do hope im proved wrong. infact i do believe we can cause one shock or two, but then again, when we talk about shocks, maybe 5-2 against cyprus could happen again!
    I too am not someone who thinks that we'll definitely qualify. I'm a bit more optimistic than you but it isn't going to be easy. However, two things which I want to point out are:

1. I know it's been said plenty of times, but the example of Greece is an excellent one. I don't particularly know Greece's squad that well so I can't compare it to ours, but Greece were one of the weakest sides in Euro 2004 on paper and went on to win the competition. So that can give us hope, especially now that we have a competent manager.

2. I wouldn't even bother mentioning our results under Staunton. They will not have any bearing on what happens in this campaign. Staunton was possibly the worst manager I've ever witnessed so the scale for improvement is massive.

Some people are a bit delusional alright, I've heard people who think we have a good chance of winning the group and others who said they would settle for 2nd, we have no right to expect to win the group and 2nd would be a good achievement and I wouldn't call it "settling for 2nd", I reckon we got about a 3-1 shot of qualifying, we have a 50-50 shot of getting to the playoffs and a 50-50 shot of winning the playoffs