Thread: Armless man DRIVING

Armless man DRIVING

www.tampabay.com

NEW PORT RICHEY - For about eight minutes on Tuesday, through the streets near downtown, police chased a driver who had no arms and one good leg.

He got away.

He is used to this sort of thing.

Authorities say the driver was Michael Francis Wiley, 40, who overcame three amputations, taught himself to drive with stumps and proceeded to become one of Pasco County's most accomplished traffic violators.

His license has been suspended so many times that driving itself has become a felony.

Which brings us to Tuesday, about 12:50 p.m., when a New Port Richey Police officer spotted Wiley in a suspicious vehicle - a blue Ford Explorer - at a convenience store off U.S. 19, according to Capt. Darryl Garman. When the officer went to investigate, the Explorer took off.

The chase, eventually joined by a second officer, led down the highway to Sunset Road and Veterans Drive, back to 19, back to Sunset, and finally over the bridge into Port Richey.

But the Explorer was spotted a minute later on Grand Boulevard, Garman said. From there it went to River Gulf Road, then south on Washington Street to Massachusetts Avenue. About 1 p.m., the officers broke off the chase because it could have put others in danger, Garman said. The Explorer was last seen heading south on Grand.

Police will seek an arrest warrant for Wiley today; charges could include fleeing to elude and habitually driving with a revoked license.

If it really was Wiley behind the wheel Tuesday - and it is hard to imagine him being confused with another driver - this was not his most spectacular car chase. In 1998, while driving a green Corvette, he led deputies down Interstate 75 at nearly 120 mph.

According to court records, Wiley has stolen a car, kicked a state trooper and attacked his wife headfirst. He is awaiting trial on separate drug and illegal-driving charges. He faces up to five years in prison.

Most Ford Explorers have automatic transmissions, though several people say Wiley is perfectly competent with a stick shift.

"He is one of the best drivers I've ever seen in my life, " said Lee Michie, a longtime acquaintance. "But he's the worst person I've ever met.
    Last edited by smellyfeet; 30/05/2008 at 9:34 AM.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Ah leave it out sure he's 'Armless enough
    TAAAAAAAAAAAXXXXXXXXXXIIIIIIIIII

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post
    His license has been suspended so many times that driving itself has become a felony.
    What a roundabout way of saying he has lost his driving license

His traffic fines must have cost him an arm & a leg.

www.tampabay.com

.......... who had no arms and one good leg.

He got away.
    Trapp should sign him up for Centre Midfield.

I wonder has he any Irish Roots?
    Quoting years at random since 1975

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Oh dear
    Whats worse is I laughed

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Read the story again, it's 2 arms and a leg actually

230 Posts
    Wonder if he's going to stump for Obama or Clinton.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Quote Originally Posted by Ruben Sosa View Post
    Smellyfeet, you are the bringer of stupidness. Keep it up young man, keep it up
    I'd love to post more but i got an infraction
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

Ya I see that. Not to worry. Your opinions are funny to most...

Thanks, maybe you can help me, i don't know how to add link,well, the correct page in the link, if you know what i mean. what do i do?

I'd love to post more but i got an infraction
    Try "Ruben Sosa" in it...it'll soon clear up
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

Quote Originally Posted by Sligo Hornet View Post
    Try "Ruben Sosa" in it...it'll soon clear up
    Good, but could be better

I am confused dude. I don't follow you exactly.
    Just like you have on the bottom of your posts...The link

Ah sooo grasshopper. Go to tools, and edit my signature. Then when you find the picture you want on another website, simply paste it on your signature and Robert's your mother's brother.
    Sanks

No worries my Clare amigo. Speaking of which, what a win Sunday!! Ye whooped Waterford like they owed ye cocaine money...
    Its all the one to me, don't follow it at all.