Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Republic of Ireland V Colombia - Thursday, 29th May 2008 - Friendly - Craven Cottage

Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    Yeah - he's exactly what was required. Anything is possible with the right attitude and application. As he has continually stressed to the players "Remember Greece. Remember Greece".

The players have nowhere to hide now as I think we could have no issue with the new management teams pedigree.

His enthusiasm is infectious.
    Yeah, he's totally right. How must the team have felt when Staunton pretty much wrote off our chances of qualification before a ball was kicked? Trapattoni seems to be building up their confidence and if he can get the team well organised - which I have no doubt he can - anything is possible. It seems like it's a good time to be supporting us once again. Long live Trap!
    My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method, is love. I love you Sheriff Truman.

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Good man trap dont ye love reading things like this. None of the crap from staunton saying we are building for the future blah blah blah. Can you imagine if staunton was still there now saying well its a chance to bring in some new players etc etc. Got love everything about The Trap so far. Couldn't be more positive and assertive.
    Exactly my thoughts. The future is now. Bringing younger players into a team that knows what it doing makes it easier for all concerned.

Woflie, it certainly is.

Quote Originally Posted by theworm2345 View Post
    I did (in 2008 at least, he was never had a Sylvan Ebanks-Blake (unless you count Billy Sharp in League 1) before to make me realize his worth), but I'm a Wolves fan. I'm feeling very open minded about McGeady right now. If he excels in one game and does at least decent in the other (meaning Colombia and Norway) I see no reason why not to start him when Qualifying starts
    There is no way McGeady won't start in the autumn if he's fit. Whilst the hype about him is a bit OTT he's clearly better than our other options on the wings atm.

Left back, a partner for Dunne at centre back and right midfield are without doubt our main problems. At left back, our three main options are Kilbane, O'Shea and Delaney - none of whom inspire confidence in me. Although Delaney, given his chance, could become a solid full back for us.

A partner for Dunne could be solved with the return of O'Brien - I'm not his biggest fan by any stretch but he played well with Bolton last season and is a much better option at the moment than the out of sorts McShane, the absent minded O'Shea or the relative unkowns O'Dea and St. Ledger.

Right midfield will probably have to be filled by one of our left sided players, ie McGeady or Duff. Duff has played very well for us on the right in his last few games there and I think McGeady should be given time on the left to try and produce his best form. Our other options on the right would be Ireland or Stephen Reid - but I believe Reid is essential in the middle and Ireland - even if he does return - doesn't look comfortable on the right.

Finnan was suggested as another possibilty at right midfield - especially for away games - which Trap could definitely go for since he would give the midfield a much more solid look. With Finnans excellent crossing ability and passing, he is certainly a viable option when we need to keep it tight.

Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz View Post
    Finnan was suggested as another possibilty at right midfield - especially for away games - which Trap could definitely go for since he would give the midfield a much more solid look. With Finnans excellent crossing ability and passing, he is certainly a viable option when we need to keep it tight.
    Ya could be very interesting indeed, however if finnan was unhappy at being played out of position the whole time then he might not wish to play there, but I think his passing and crossing is very good so it could definitely be an option and it would shore up our midfield.

'It is different because against Serbia, we were compact as a team - against Colombia, it's important they win the duels against their direct opponent.

'It is a different match, but in every game, I hope we go a little bit further forward as a team.'
    not sure what he means here, is he saying the serbs played like the germans and were technically efficient and harder to play against due to physical size as well, whereas colombia will play more freestyle/freeflowing football a more passing game etc. Or does he just mean colombia aren't as good as teh serbs and we should be better individually and should have more time on the ball?

The first one. Against Serbia it was more important to match them up, but tonight it is individual battles which will decide the outcome of the match.

Quote Originally Posted by irishultra View Post
    The first one. Against Serbia it was more important to match them up, but tonight it is individual battles which will decide the outcome of the match.
    You missed the boat to Holyhead then?

Quote Originally Posted by FarBeag View Post
    You missed the boat to Holyhead then?
    Farbeag whats your excuse then?

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz View Post

Right midfield will probably have to be filled by one of our left sided players, ie McGeady or Duff. Duff has played very well for us on the right in his last few games there and I think McGeady should be given time on the left to try and produce his best form. Our other options on the right would be Ireland or Stephen Reid - but I believe Reid is essential in the middle and Ireland - even if he does return - doesn't look comfortable on the right.

If we are playing a 4 man MF then RMF is none of above-mentioned players' best position. We only have one stand-out RMF specialist and that is Lawrence. I know he's injured and couldn't play tonight anyway but he wasn't even included in the extended squad. Hopefully he'll have a good start to next season and will be included in the squad for Norway. McGeady and Duff are probably more skillful and Trap would prefer to have either one of those play there. However, Lawrence should at least be in the squad as he adds something different from the bench. Lots of assists, goals and handy to have another tall player for set-pieces.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Farbeag whats your excuse then?

Nah, i am heading over in about an hour or so.Taking the young lad with me.

Quote Originally Posted by FarBeag View Post
    Nah, i am heading over in about an hour or so.Taking the young lad with me.
    Fair play fearbeag, bit of a trek all that way. Fair play.

I didn't go because the train times didn't coincide with the ferry. I really could only afford a day trip.

i cant see us winning tonight. sorry but, columbia will be no joke, i think their 19th in world?? not sure.
    il go for 0-0 draw

I can't see it being 0-0 judging by the style of football Colombia usually play. There will be goals tonight - I'll go with 2-2

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    848 Posts
    Im always a bit over optimistic when we are playing so Im gonna go for 3-1 with Keane,Doyle, and McGeady scoring
    Its really not that complicated!!!

222 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    I'm disappointed to see Ireland lowering themselves to play a university team, rather than playing other international sides.

Yours,
    P. Dant.
    If you're going to engage in pedantry over Thread Titles, Osarusan, you really should get it completely correct.
    Unless, of course, you were referring to a game between "Ireland" and this lot:
    http://www.columbia.edu/cu/rugby

Yours,

Con D. Sending

Will you ever **** off Ealing! Were here discussing the game and you come on with your usual crap. This time giving out that we call our team Ireland next week eligibility the next week something even more petty. Have you nothing to talk about on "Are we a country"?

Anyway lads, Im going for one nil to Ireland. At 18.13 im telling ye Trap will get his first win and first clean sheet!

Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast