Page 9 of 18 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Irish abroad transfer rumours

Looks like Finnan could be going to Villa as part of the Gareth Barry deal.

229 Posts
    Palace have withdrawn their contract offer for Morrison and it looks likely he will be moving on.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Strange, I thought they would be eager to keep him after the season he had

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Morbo View Post
    Strange, I thought they would be eager to keep him after the season he had
    Nope, apparently Colin told Morrison he wasn't part of his plans for next season, and would be starting as a substitute at best (see the story on eleven-a-side here: http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrosst...ws.asp?n=32437 ). Hopefully this will mean more gametime for Scannell. Swings and roundabouts, eh?

Any speculation regarding the Reading lads. I was expecting Hunt to have moved somewhere in the premiership by now.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

Quote Originally Posted by Torn-Ado View Post
    Any speculation regarding the Reading lads. I was expecting Hunt to have moved somewhere in the premiership by now.
    Yeah there has been speculation about them going to Sunderland as you would expect. Coppell was giving out about players not being commited to Reading as well with Hunt seen as one of his targets.

215 Posts

Exclamation transfer rumours

Quote Originally Posted by Ceirtlis View Post
    Yeah there has been speculation about them going to Sunderland as you would expect. Coppell was giving out about players not being commited to Reading as well with Hunt seen as one of his targets.
    I cannot for the life of me understand how Hunt can be taken seriously as a Premiership player. The admiration that people have for his exceedingly limited abilities reminds me of the many deluded Liverpool supporters who used to berate Dalglish for preferring Ray Houghton to Craig Johnstone. Hunt offers a huge amount of enery and honest effort, but 90% of the time it is totally misdirected. He occasionally confuses defenders simply by running straight at them, but whatever temporary advantage he secures is immediately undone by the fact that he has also managed to confuse himself. I would never ever ever pick this man to play for Ireland as I think he typifies an approach based on a collective sense of racial inferiority. (What we lack in class we can make up for with sheer mindless hard work). He has done incredibly well with the little talent he has, but he does not have the guile, technique or awareness to contribute constructively to a successful premiership or international side. I would rather have Willo Flood or Wes Hoolihan in the squad than Hunt, but with Duff, McGeady,Scannell and Walters available to play in the wide positions I would only consider them in desperate circumstances.

I feel better for geting that one of my chest

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ciaran View Post
    How many Irish midfielders scored 7 goals in a top league last season? Probably none
    Michael Doyle and Martin Rowlands also got 7. McGeady, Yeates and Andy Reid scored 8 (remember Yeates was playing in a crap side and was out from early February) and Lawrence got 15.

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Michael Doyle and Martin Rowlands also got 7. McGeady, Yeates and Andy Reid scored 8 (remember Yeates was playing in a crap side and was out from early February) and Lawrence got 15.
    In fairness Hunts goals were in the Premier League, the others were in lesser leagues. Only McGeady and Reid have proved themselves in top flight football as yet.
    On the point made about Houghton v's Johnston, Johnston was an early version of Harry Kewell, supremely talented but completely inconsistent whereas with Houghton you knew you would get 100% from him every game regardless of what shirt he was wearing. Dalglish did not have a difficult choice to make. Players like Houghton, Moran, Irwin etc.. are sadly on the way out, players who always perform above their actual skill level with 100% consistency and effort week in week out, Hunt is one of these players and we should be happy to have him in the squad. Keane obviously likes this type of player (Leadbitter, Nosworthy, Collins).
    Help something bit me!!!

85 Posts
    Noel Hunt to Celtic according to yesterdays mirror...
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

That's a load of nonsense. The one and only thing Hunt doesn't have is ball control, he's no Kilbane whatsover. He's a magnificent passer of the ball, gets countless assists and has great set piece ability as well. He's good in the air and has an eye for goal. How many Irish midfielders scored 7 goals in a top league last season? Probably none.
    Have you ever even seen him play for Reading? Sounds like you're judging him off 2 or 3 poor Irish performances.
    Strange you say that Ciaran. I agree with your post but I would swp bad control for bad dribbling skills. Hunt actually seems to have a good first touch. But his crossing is insanely good, I guess he's David Beckham light.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Clinton Morrison close to signing for Coventry.
    http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrosst...ws.asp?n=33108

That's a load of nonsense. The one and only thing Hunt doesn't have is ball control, he's no Kilbane whatsover. He's a magnificent passer of the ball, gets countless assists and has great set piece ability as well. He's good in the air and has an eye for goal. How many Irish midfielders scored 7 goals in a top league last season? Probably none.
    Have you ever even seen him play for Reading? Sounds like you're judging him off 2 or 3 poor Irish performances.
    Agreed, he has proven himself capable in the premiership, to pick Willo Flood, Hoolihan, Scannell and Walters before Hunt is crazy, these guys have yet to prove themselves, to put them ahead of Hunt in the pecking order is something I wouldn't even expect Staunton to do

215 Posts

transfer rumours

Let me clarify. I do not think tha Hoolihan / Flood are world beaters or that Walters / Scannell are seasoned international performers I merely believe that Hunt is totally overrated by some people on this forum and is not an international footballer. In fact I dont think he is a premiership footballer and would be quite surprised if any premiership manager other than Roy Keane would look twice at him. I stand by the Craig Johnstone comparison, and it was interesting to hear Jan Molby last night on LFCTV descibe Johnstone as a player with limited ability who always gave his all.
    Hunt catches the eye because of his hyperactive style and "personality" but he plays with his head down. He lacks awareness and guile and is the antithesis of the kind of intellgent footballer that we need to be assimilating into a decent international team. If we are going to comptete at all at international level we need to abandon the head down and charge style that Hunt epitomises. Like Johnstone, and I suppose the much lamented Micky Thomas, (to whom he bears an uncanny physical resemblace) he does posses the capacity to occasionally excite the crowd, but putting him into an international team is like putting Shane McGowan into an operatic choir.

I don't think anyone thinks Hunt is world class or anything, they chant his name because they appreciate his work rate not because he is a great player and when you got lazy players like Daddy Dick on the pitch not pulling their weight it makes Hunt's workrate standout more.
    I also think he has more intelligence than you give him credit for, a lot of the goals he has scored were due to using his head to make clever runs at the right time.
    Not saying he should definitely start as he has McGeady and Duff to compete with but he deserves to be an impact sub at the very least
    Last edited by Morbo; 11/07/2008 at 4:23 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by third policeman View Post
    Let me clarify. I do not think tha Hoolihan / Flood are world beaters or that Walters / Scannell are seasoned international performers I merely believe that Hunt is totally overrated by some people on this forum and is not an international footballer. In fact I dont think he is a premiership footballer and would be quite surprised if any premiership manager other than Roy Keane would look twice at him. I stand by the Craig Johnstone comparison, and it was interesting to hear Jan Molby last night on LFCTV descibe Johnstone as a player with limited ability who always gave his all.
    Hunt catches the eye because of his hyperactive style and "personality" but he plays with his head down. He lacks awareness and guile and is the antithesis of the kind of intellgent footballer that we need to be assimilating into a decent international team. If we are going to comptete at all at international level we need to abandon the head down and charge style that Hunt epitomises. Like Johnstone, and I suppose the much lamented Micky Thomas, (to whom he bears an uncanny physical resemblace) he does posses the capacity to occasionally excite the crowd, but putting him into an international team is like putting Shane McGowan into an operatic choir.
    You nearly have him summed up spot on as a footballer, but you say you don't think he is an International Footballer or a 'premiership footballer'', but the fact is he scored goals and made a lot of assists in the Premiership. The guy is limited as in he's not brilliant but he is a good player. I think he could be extremely useful to us if Trap can explain to him clearly his role in the team. You underestimate his intelligence as well. He's actually a really good central midfielder, he's not a magician on the ball, but he passes the ball in the hope of having it returned and aways has his head up. Seriously Hunt was Reading's player of the season last year and apparently was the only player who really put the fight in to staying up.

The big thing I feel about Hunt is he is very hit and miss. It wouldn't suprise me to see him just drift away if he doesn't get a move.

60 Posts
    Darren Randolf has signed for Hereford on a season-long loan from Charlton.

BTW I also think Hunt is very over-rated.
    Always look on the bright side of life

630 Posts
    we shouldnt knock the guy for being a tryer

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by third policeman View Post
    but putting him into an international team is like putting Shane McGowan into an operatic choir.
    I think that is grossely unfair.

253 Posts
    There's a balance here.

Hunt is not world-class, and would have no place in any top international side.

At the same time, he's not as bad as some of you are saying.

In the context of us being a second tier international side, he is a very useful option for us. I wouldn't say he's automatically first choice, but he's certainly in competition for a spot on the wings.

Personally, I love his work ethic, and he is more talented than some on here give him credit for. Hope he gets a move back to the Prem.

Page 9 of 18 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast