Page 7 of 18 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast

Thread: Irish abroad transfer rumours

Quote Originally Posted by SilkCut View Post
    I'm all for ambition but we have to remember Given is in his 30's now and has been living in and playing for Newcastle for 10 years or so now, he is settled with his family and probably has his life pretty much the way he wants it. Would any of us uproot our families and move to the other end of the country to play for a club for whom we had no real affection or loyalty on the off chance that we may be their starting keeper (remember Wenger has shown great faith in Almunia) or we may end up warming the bench because we have a couple of dodgy games and the club can afford to splash out on a replacement. I'm sure Given would weigh up the pros and cons but at his age it is perfectly understandable that he doesnt want to move. If he were 20-24 then it would be a different story.
    I agree with all of that and think you've assessed the situation very well. To me, however, all of that says the guy lacks ambition professionally: he is comfortable and settled and does not want to go any further. It's entirely his prerogative and I am not going to criticise him - over the years he has been one of our most loyal players and has always given his best. Having said that, if he cannot make it into Newcastle's first team though he may find that a transfer out becomes inevitable.

Darren Dennehy has signed for Cardiff from Everton according to BBC Sport.
    Apparantly he was offered a new contract but chose to move on which I think is admirable.
    Anybody see this lad play?

253 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cheifo View Post
    Apparantly he was offered a new contract but chose to move on which I think is admirable.
    I read it was going to be for around 2 million. That's a lot for a young defender, he must look promising.

Quote Originally Posted by Emmet View Post
    I agree with all of that and think you've assessed the situation very well. To me, however, all of that says the guy lacks ambition professionally: he is comfortable and settled and does not want to go any further. It's entirely his prerogative and I am not going to criticise him - over the years he has been one of our most loyal players and has always given his best. Having said that, if he cannot make it into Newcastle's first team though he may find that a transfer out becomes inevitable.

From an IRish point of view Im happy to see him stay at Newcastle provided he keeps his place.

Goalkeeper is the one postition that you are better off with a mid table or lower team in the premiership to keep and develop your skills. It's much easier when playing behind any of the best defences. Not that I car if he wins any medals! Selfish but only interested in Ireland
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

630 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cheifo View Post
    These young footballers sometimes have to make very difficult decisions.It would have been very easy to stay at everton.Hopefully he will be playing first team football in matches that really mean something and having to deal with the demands of team fanatics.There is no substitute for this kind of experience.

85 Posts
    Robbie Keane to Liverpool, according to the bastion of reliabillity that is The News Of The World....
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

3,501 Posts
    Kevin Doyle is wanted by West Ham according to the mirror

72 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Kevin Doyle is wanted by West Ham according to the mirror
    Doyle has been linked with Sunderland, Fulham & West ham this week.

Keane to Liverpool!! At last, should have signed him when he was a kid!!
    Help something bit me!!!

Doyle to West Ham? Thats just great. We can rule him out for the next 8 months now.

20 Posts
    ;Would be nice to see him in the Prem. Not sure another year in the CHampionship is what he needs. He can either hack it or he can't. As this stage we might as well find out particularly if he's going to be one of our first choice strikers.
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

214 Posts
    Keane to Liverpool mentioned in the guardian today so maybe some truth in it.....

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    James O'Connor has gone to Shefield Wednesday according to the mirror..

Correct:

http://www.swfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page...335051,00.html
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

3,501 Posts
    Diarmuid O'Carroll has gone from Celtic to Morecambe.
    Nothing official on either site, but there's a report here: http://www.armchaircelts.co.uk/conte...celtic-striker

Sammy McIlroy.

"My former Manchester United team mate Jimmy Nicholl really rates this boy.

"He's an exciting prospect - he had a choice of a few clubs but he chose us and I am really looking forward to him linking up with the rest of the lads."

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    Sammy McIlroy.

"My former Manchester United team mate Jimmy Nicholl really rates this boy.

"He's an exciting prospect - he had a choice of a few clubs but he chose us and I am really looking forward to him linking up with the rest of the lads."
    erm, he's retired. A long time ago. And he played for the North.

Willo Flood has gone back to Dundee Utd for another season long loan, did well there last season. Also, Leeds have agreed personal terms with Alan Sheehan and are rumoured to be interested in Ben Burgess and O'Donovan.

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    erm, he's retired. A long time ago. And he played for the North.
    He's speaking about Diarmuid O'Carroll move from Celtic to Morecombe.
    Sammy Mcillroy is manager of Morecombe me thinks

Anthony Mason, formally of Plymouth, has gone on trial at Yeovil Town.

Andrew Callaghan has begun a trial at Exeter City. He appears to have been unlucky with injuries but according to the ex-youth team boss at Millwall who is now at Exeter, Millwall had to fight off 4 premier league clubs from trying to sign him at one stage. He is only 18 so maybe this is the break he needs.

Page 7 of 18 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast