Page 15 of 20 FirstFirst ... 51314151617 ... LastLast

Thread: Foot.ie Music Exchange

Left my copy up in Dublin for the weekend so I'll get my review up tomorrow, apologies for the delay KH!

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    Never really got Roxy Music but who couldn't love Virginia Plain?
    Damn right! Story about it: I was going to the supermarket one day that Bluebeard was coming to stay and so I asked if he had any requests. His response: "Yes, Virgina Plain by Roxy Music."

So it should be noted, having failed to do so in the liner, that Virginia Plain was dedicated to Bluebeard.

Great to hear you enjoyed it Stann.
    I had a tough time picking a track off it so I'd say you'll love the Amadou & Mariam album alright, there are plenty more tunes on it in the vein of Sénégal Fast Food. La Réalité being particularly stomping.
    I'm not sure where you'd know the Jape track from but there've been loads of remixes around of late (none a patch on the original IMO) so maybe a bell is ringing there. Could've been in a set or a compilation CD maybe?
    Of the other artists you mentioned, I assume you must have the Vampire Weekend album at this stage! Probably be getting my vote in the Best 2008 Album I'd say. Definitely saved music in 2008.
    Elsewhere, you'd love Booka Shade too. The track I included is on an album they released this year, which is good, maybe a little poppier, but doesn't approach the greatness of Movements, released in 2006. Probably as close to a modern-day Kraftwerk as you could get -- seemingly dark, yet warm and inviting, and great beats pervade. Oh and they're German too! You won't regret buying Movements, I assure you.

----------------

General housekeeping now. Jebus, have you heard from Wangball of late? Will I be rushing to meet the postman in the morning or has Wangball pulled a fast one? I PM'd him the addresses anyway so no excuses.

Also, will we keep the same order as last time out? And do we (i.e. you) want to start from next week?

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kingdom hoop View Post
    Great to hear you enjoyed it Stann.
    I had a tough time picking a track off it so I'd say you'll love the Amadou & Mariam album alright, there are plenty more tunes on it in the vein of Sénégal Fast Food. La Réalité being particularly stomping.
    I'm not sure where you'd know the Jape track from but there've been loads of remixes around of late (none a patch on the original IMO) so maybe a bell is ringing there. Could've been in a set or a compilation CD maybe?
    Of the other artists you mentioned, I assume you must have the Vampire Weekend album at this stage! Probably be getting my vote in the Best 2008 Album I'd say. Definitely saved music in 2008.
    Elsewhere, you'd love Booka Shade too. The track I included is on an album they released this year, which is good, maybe a little poppier, but doesn't approach the greatness of Movements, released in 2006. Probably as close to a modern-day Kraftwerk as you could get -- seemingly dark, yet warm and inviting, and great beats pervade. Oh and they're German too! You won't regret buying Movements, I assure you.
    Yep it's a fine album, glad I got it, cheers for the tip-off!
    Might have heard Floating in a mix alright, though I'm almost certain it was an ad. Can't have been a very good ad, though, or I'd remember.
    Don't have the Vampire Weekend album, believe it or not, just the couple of singles. That and Movements are now on my next list of CDs to buy.
    On, and Cut Copy get album of 2008.
    Last edited by stann; 07/08/2008 at 1:00 PM.
    more bass

Wangball was having trouble with his iTunes up to the start of this week but I think it's been sorted now and CDs are going out today or tomorrow.

Is everyone still interested in going for another round anyway lads? We can sort out if we keep the same order then or not

115 Posts
    I am anyway. Same order is good for me.
    more bass

Im In Same Order sounds good

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor View Post
    Im In Same Order sounds good
    My CD was called Hoop Hoop.... Hurray! though. Thanks all the same. And thanks to everyone else too. Really appreciate the kind words.

Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    Oh, and Cut Copy get album of 2008.
    Yeah love that album too, though I'm not sure you winking at me will make me vote for it.
    The reason I'd lean towards VW is just that it's a bit different, something newer, whereas In Ghost Colours is just one of a glut of (albethem delightful) fairly similar records. Anyway I'm amazed you're putting it ahead of Made In The Dark!!

Count me in for the next round also, same order sounds fine. (I'm only messin with ye above too by the way!)

115 Posts
    Yeah love that album too, though I'm not sure you winking at me will make me vote for it.
    The reason I'd lean towards VW is just that it's a bit different, something newer, whereas In Ghost Colours is just one of a glut of (albethem delightful) fairly similar records. Anyway I'm amazed you're putting it ahead of Made In The Dark!!
    No, I see now that was a crass and ill-thought out ploy, it won't happen again.
    Didn't think the album of the year through either, I assumed the Hot Chip LP was out before Christmas but it was February I see. New favourite for the crown so!
    more bass

Yeah, and now that you politely, subtly mention it, I agree.

Hot Chip - a rich man's Cold Spud.

My CD was called Hoop Hoop.... Hurray! though. Thanks all the same. And thanks to everyone else too. Really appreciate the kind words.

Count me in for the next round also, same order sounds fine. (I'm only messin with ye above too by the way!)
    I'll go again too. Apologies again for the lack of commentary. I'm on holidays at the moment though I'm nipping in to the job later this evening where I'll collect it so I'll get a good few listens while I'm staring out a rain dashed window at a deserted beach.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

291 Posts
    Haven't had a chance to listen to it, but off work tomorrow and it will get a few spins during the day.

I have to say I'm disappointed with Hoop Hoop.....Hurray! I was expecting it to be my favourite of the lot of the CDs and it's become just that. How thoroughly predictable of me to favour the CD that I thought I would

Anyway Hoop I have to say that I love the tracks from Amadou et Miriam, Sigur Ros, Booka Shade, Vampire Weekend, The Velvet Underground, Lykke Li, and Etienne de Crecy, but I knew I would as soon as I saw the tracklist. The surprises for me are the Electric Choc, Suicide, Jape and Suburban Kids tracks, as I hadn't listened to much of any of them previously. The rest of the CD is quite good as well, the only so-so track for me is the Roxy Music one, don't know why I haven't liked it either, could be just the mood I'm in

Sterling effort though, 9/10 from me
    Last edited by jebus; 09/08/2008 at 11:13 AM.

(I'm only messin with ye above too by the way!)
    Apologies I've been away for a while and was greeted with 4 cd's on my return I haven't had a chance to listen to any of them yet

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor View Post
    Apologies I've been away for a while and was greeted with 4 cd's on my return I haven't had a chance to listen to any of them yet
    Ah yer grand. Was just playing 'the feel sorry for myself to provoke a reaction game'.

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    The surprises for me are the Electric Choc, Suicide, Jape and Suburban Kids tracks
    The Electric Choc tune is quite probably the greatest song of all time. Absolutely love it. AFAIK they're a one hit wonder though.
    That Suicide track is the only of theirs I have. Came across it at some stage and loved it but never took things further than first base. Must do so soon though before the flame wears out. Will report if/when I do.
    Jape (small little lad who you may recognise from a Dublin party or two) has a new album out recently actually, Ritual. Good to very good. Definitely recommended, you'd like it. He is/was in The Redneck Manifesto as well as it happens.
    And the Suburban Kids album, #3, that track is off you'd definitely love too. That sweet Swedish touch. Bright, sunny, a fantastic little album.

the only so-so track for me is the Roxy Music one, don't know why I haven't liked it either, could be just the mood I'm in.
    Definitely the mood you were in. Try it again.

Sterling effort though, 9/10 from me
    Excellent. Three cheers for me then. Hoop Hoop -- Hurray!

Can't wait for Jebus's Sound Of The Dolphin now...

115 Posts
    Has this died on its behind then?
    more bass

I guess we're at the tail end of the holiday period. Who's up next anyway? Please don't say it's me already.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

115 Posts
    No, Wangball has yet to close out the first series I think, that's why I was wondering.
    more bass

No offence to Wangball, but a quick look back through the thread shows his last contribution was two months ago. He hasn't been around the site much in general lately.

Perhaps, as before, if there is no sign of the cds leaving by, say, Tuesday then the next on the list should be allowed jump in, to keep the whole thing rolling.

As for Wangball, does anyone know if he still wants in?
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

I'll get mine done up tonight and get it out tomorrow so lads to keep the show on the road. I'll get on to Wangball to see if he's out or in as well

Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    Has this died on its behind then?
    Never! I plan to exchange music with ye for at least the next four years - tie me over til the next Olympics.

Anyway, better live in the present (though I in fact live in a timeless oasis of calm). So.... yes, I was half anticipating Jebus's latest offering this morning as I'd pretty much given up on Wangball to be honest. It'd be a pity to end the series on the kind of flat note Stann hits on his visits to the karaoke bar all the same though. So hopefully Wangball can be hunted down by Jebus and we can give the First Series the triumphant valedictory fanfare it rightly deserves.

If it's not to be fair enough, but I'd really been looking forward to closure and collating a Best of, picking Best Song and a Best Overall (or perhaps more interestingly a Worst Overall ). I suppose I can still do that.

Page 15 of 20 FirstFirst ... 51314151617 ... LastLast