Page 3 of 20 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Thread: Foot.ie Music Exchange

My last.fm as well.

I think you'll need to prepare yourselves for my week!

http://www.last.fm/user/ChristopherD/

lads do ye realise ye have to spend an Airmail stamp when sending to me. This actually reminds of the rounds night where my drink is cheapest and everyone else has an expensive drink - well kind of not quite.

Lightbulb

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    My last.fm as well.

I think you'll need to prepare yourselves for my week!

http://www.last.fm/user/ChristopherD/
    brewer ye can copy American Land good man. Leave the rest

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    lads do ye realise ye have to spend an Airmail stamp when sending to me. This actually reminds of the rounds night where my drink is cheapest and everyone else has an expensive drink - well kind of not quite.

Do you realise you have to spend on several airmail stamps? Perhaps an option for download might be more cost-effective.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

I'm hoping this sentence is suitably articulated so as to convey my desire to get involved.

On the logistics front, it's a tough call, but I think the CD option would make things much more meaningful. For one thing, the love and care I'll put in to writing out each person's address in gold calligraphic script will warm the cockles of our respective hearts.

On the other hand if we just want to cold-bloodily exchange music then it's easy to use Rapidshare. Having created a "foot.ie folder" that each person has access to, the given DJ uploads his set to the general server, and then puts it into the foot.ie folder. He posts in this thread to say it's available, so everyone then accesses the folder and freely downloads. Maybe Paul and Réiteoir could do that. The option is generally available anyway, though the CD/post option is more appealing to a "it's the little things" man like me.

115 Posts
    I'll be tenth man so if that's OK with yiz.
    Don't mind the format either way, but the CDs would have more allure alright. P&P for the outlanders would be prohibitive mind you.
    Don't know about themes, though, maybe just a general 'no metal and no jazz' theme.
    Nah that's a good idea actually, ideas forming already.
    Last edited by stann; 29/05/2008 at 9:57 PM.
    more bass

Looking at the calendar, I nominate myself for the fourth week, if that's ok with everyone. I'm going on holidays after that, and would prefer to get it done before that.

Are we going to close the door after Stann before the list gets too big? If there's enough interest I'm sure a second list could be started.

Door closed just as Hoop and Stann sneak in so, a second list can always be started after all. Right I have Noby's and Block's addresses so I'll need the rest for Tuesday/Wednesday and I'll get the CDs out!

Can't wait now. I've already started on my playlist for next week
    it'll be a fairly eclectic mix so there should be something for everyone

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Door closed just as Hoop and Stann sneak in so, a second list can always be started after all. Right I have Noby's and Block's addresses so I'll need the rest for Tuesday/Wednesday and I'll get the CDs out!

Jebus, when you have a list of all Names and addresses, how about e-mailing/pming the list onto the next person up etc. etc.?

Quote Originally Posted by noby View Post
    Jebus, when you have a list of all Names and addresses, how about e-mailing/pming the list onto the next person up etc. etc.?
    Good idea

As for my playlist, I'm torn between playing it nice and easy for the first CD, or just throwing in a pile of weirdness.....it's the fun of the decision that makes this idea worthwhile

290 Posts
    *Running after bus*

No, wait, come baaaacckk!

Is it too late to get involved?

My list...
    http://www.last.fm/user/DerryCity/

I'll send you out one, 11 people and that's it so, end of....and all that jazz. Send me on your address

12 actually. Any more will make it a bit unwieldy.

Does Paul want in though?

You're the boss/bouncer around here! I wouldn't have any narrow-minded folk admitted to my club though.

Are there subjects/themes for the cds, or is this up to the compiler?
    I'd leave it all up to the compiler so as to enshrine the surprise factor. Ideally I suppose a narrowish common theme ought prevail, but once it works in your opinion then it doesn't matter, IMO. Top marks will, however, be awarded to those efforts with an imaginative, left-field title, and with a logical, cohesive, progressive structure.

It might make it easier if this is just get to the irish isle. So ill opt out and he can take my place!

This sounds like a great idea..don't worry I'm not going to ask to take part. I just wanted to suggest a couple of alternatives if people didn't want to mail cds. Ye might already be aware of them, so hey ho.

http://muxtape.com is a site for creating and posting mp3 mixtapes that can be streamed, but not (as far as I'm aware) downloaded.

www.multiply.com is a really good site for sharing media. You can create music playlists and make them available to anyone, or to specific contacts. It does same for photos and video. Playlists open in WMP and can be downloaded. Some people post albums, but its a handy way of sharing a selection of music with a large number of people. You need to register to play the songs and of course to up and download.

115 Posts
    Weirdness works for me anyway jebus, will be a nice counterpoint to the tameness of my own selection.
    On that note, I'll bagsy the next spot if that suits everyone, 5th I think?

Address PM sent too.
    more bass

I've pmed my address too.

Page 3 of 20 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast