161 Posts

Likely Team to start against Georgia

Kiely/Given

Kelly Dunne O'Shea Kilbane/Delaney

Finnan A.Reid S.Reid/Carsley Duff

Doyle Keane

I believe Trap will play persist with Finnan in midfield rather than at full back as our midfield is unbalanced on the right and I don't see S.Ireland coming back.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Kiely/Given

Doyle Keane

I believe Trap will play persist with Finnan in midfield rather than at full back as our midfield is unbalanced on the right and I don't see S.Ireland coming back.
    McGeady will be in the team
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Given

Finnan Dunne O'Shea Delaney

McGeady A Reid Kilbane Duff

Keane Keogh
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    Given

Finnan Dunne O'Shea Delaney

McGeady A Reid Kilbane Duff

Keane Keogh

why would u have Kilbane in central midfield??

Assuming Finnan and O'Brien and Ireland are retired:

Given

Kelly Dunne O'Shea Kilbane

McGeady Carsely A Reid Duff

Doyle and Keane

Thats the probable team. My preferred team:

Given
    Kelly (Finnan if available) Dunne O'Brien (if avail) O'Shea (if O'Brien at CB)

Mc Geady Hunt Carsely A Reid Duff

Murphy
    The deepest layer of human thinking and feeling somehow knows that God must exist - Pope Benedict XVI

if everyone is fit and out of 'retirement'

Given
    Kelly Dunne O Shea Finnan

Ireland Carsley A.Reid McGeady

Duff

Keane

No worries about the defence, i think they can all do a job in those positons. yes finnan and o shea have played there before. there better and experienced at international level then delaney and mc shane.
    Midfiled, carsley for a defvesive role, sweeping up anything that comes from their midfield(makalele type) Ireland and A. McGeady to cause havoc on the wings. Areid to deliver them acute passes to the front men, and he has a good foot for set pieces. Give duff freedom to move about up front switching to the left and right. and keep robbie keane up front in the six yard box. something he hasnt been doing for Ireland. he will get service from the midfield and duff.

WHO NEEDS TRAP WHEN IM HERE LOL !
    Last edited by beepbeep; 25/05/2008 at 10:49 PM.

1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by beepbeep View Post
    Given
    Kelly Dunne O Shea Finnan

Ireland Carsley A.Reid McGeady

Duff

Keane
    How many times does Duff have to play in that position before people realise that he cant do it???

Given

Finnan/Kelly Dunne O'Shea/ St Ledger Delaney

McGeady A Reid S Reid Duff

Keane Keogh

Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Kiely/Given

Doyle Keane

Finnan retired because he was played out of position.

Do you think he will come back to do the same?

I don't think so.

If he returns, it will be as a right full only.
    "Football is a game you play with your brain".

114 Posts
    Better teams, but there are still one or two people who know nothing about football still willing to champion McShane. He was no worse yesterday than the rest of the season.

Should also get Lawrence in.

161 Posts
    Interesting comments about McGeady from Trap

Three of Saturday night’s players — Daryl Murphy (knee), Paul McShane (neck) and Richard Dunne (foot) — picked up minor knocks in the game but the manager expects all to be available for selection for next Thursday’s friendly against Colombia at Craven Cottage. However, he still hasn’t quite made up his mind about the inclusion of Celtic’s Aiden McGeady. “I’m not sure if he’ll play right away,” he said. “I want to see him and make sure that he understands the new system before I put him in the team.”

McGeady will not be starting in Georgia as Duff has nailed down the left wing slot. I would say that Hunt is now behind McGeady in the pecking order. Trap and Marco are making their own minds up about players and how those players play for the team. I am a big fan of McGeady but he will have to dislodge Duff as there is no way Trap is going to pay him on the right wing ala Staunton. Finnan wil play in midfield because Trap will tell him it is best for the team. He will cajole him. We can't be overrun by sides especially away from home. IMO Trap is trying to give the opposition the least amount of chances possible to score. Robbie Keane is going to be key as he is going to have to take the few chances we will create. In the words of Dunphy if you want entertainment go to the pictures. If you want us to qualify for 2010 then get ready for some dour battles. I can't wait and am ready to pack the bags for SA.
    Last edited by Noelys Guitar; 26/05/2008 at 3:00 AM.

Given

Finnan Dunne O Brien O Shea

Ireland S Reid A Reid Duff

Keane Doyle

my starting 11

ah good to see we're back on form with some crazy team suggestions...

Finnan right wing - completely inneffective, the only reason he was played there in the past was because we didn't actually have anyone else to play there...now we could have Duff (who is actually looking better on the right than left), McGeady, Lawrence and possibly Ireland. Also, Kelly's distribution is muck so we really need Finnan back at RB asap.

Kilbane CM??? say no more....

and Murphy up front by himself? What has he done to earn a starting spot?

Anyway, if 4-4-2 I'd go for the following:

Given
    Kelly Dunne O'Shea Delaney

McGeady A.Reid S.Reid Duff

Keane Keogh

I think Keogh's shown enough to warrant inclusion. Also I think he'd be an excellent foil for Keane but by jaysus, we really need Finnan and Andy O'Brien back asap if we have any plans to keep clean sheets....
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Ogba View Post
    ah good to see we're back on form with some crazy team suggestions...

Finnan right wing - completely inneffective, the only reason he was played there in the past was because we didn't actually have anyone else to play there...now we could have Duff (who is actually looking better on the right than left), McGeady, Lawrence and possibly Ireland. Also, Kelly's distribution is muck so we really need Finnan back at RB asap.

Kilbane CM??? say no more....

and Murphy up front by himself? What has he done to earn a starting spot?

Anyway, if 4-4-2 I'd go for the following:

Given
    Kelly Dunne O'Shea Delaney

McGeady A.Reid S.Reid Duff

Keane Keogh

I think Keogh's shown enough to warrant inclusion. Also I think he'd be an excellent foil for Keane but by jaysus, we really need Finnan and Andy O'Brien back asap if we have any plans to keep clean sheets....
    ya this would be pretty much my team aswell. hopefully keogh will keep up his good form. doyle is outa sorts at the minute but murphy could also play his part.

Quote Originally Posted by The Scientist View Post
    Given

Finnan Dunne O Brien O Shea

Keane Doyle

my starting 11
    I'd agree with this team except I'd start McGeady for Doyle (who's confidence seems to be shot). I'd switch Duff to the right, McGeady on the left and Ireland playing off Keane where I believe he's most effective.

Of course this is assuming the exiled trio return and there are no injuries - fairly doubtful we'll be this lucky

185 Posts
    some interesting views here on the starting X11 for ireland.
    one thing worries me tho.
    that is not a defensive midfield by any stretch of the imagination.
    all those players are forward thinking not defensively minded.

for what its worth heres my team:
    Given
    Kelly dunne o'brien O'Shea
    s hunt a reid carlsy mcgeady
    Keane doyle

subs : keogh,duff, n hunt*, an other

* think noel hunt is worth a go.doing good things in sweaty-land.
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

634 Posts
    Given

Finnan
    O'Brien
    Dunne
    DD/KK

Reid
    Reid

McGeady
    Keogh
    Duff

Keane
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

I don't understsand some people having Carsley in their starting line ups. He's an extremely poor footballer with no pace, skill or stamina. I couldn't believe the hype surrounding his return in the last campaign considering how shocking a player he was for Ireland before he retired a few years back.

Also, the man himself realises he doesnt have much left in him as he's chosen to drop down a division. And yet some people still believe he's a better option for us than Stephen Reid - an intelligent midfielder who always seems to choose the right pass and an excellent tackler with a great engine. I find that laughable.

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz View Post
    I don't understsand some people having Carsley in their starting line ups. He's an extremely poor footballer with no pace, skill or stamina. I couldn't believe the hype surrounding his return in the last campaign considering how shocking a player he was for Ireland before he retired a few years back.

Also, the man himself realises he doesnt have much left in him as he's chosen to drop down a division. And yet some people still believe he's a better option for us than Stephen Reid - an intelligent midfielder who always seems to choose the right pass and an excellent tackler with a great engine. I find that laughable.
    Do you know what's laughable? You're opinion! Carsley...no stamina? I was listening to Jamie Redknapp the other day and he had him runner up for his player of the season. I would take his view, him being a former midfielder. Carsley did a great job for Everton and they wanted him to stay..Then to your comments about dropping down as there aint much left in him?! The fact of the matter is he has a child with downs syndrome and wanted to spend more time with his family in the midlends as opposed to living in an apartment in liverpool. Here are Moyes comments: "I'd like to thank Lee Carsley for his years at Everton Football Club. He has undoubtedly been a big part in our success in the last few seasons," said Moyes.

"Lee feels he now needs to be closer to his family and everyone at the club fully appreciates that."

Get your facts right before spouting sh*te

Quote Originally Posted by livehead1 View Post
    I was listening to Jamie Redknapp the other day ............... I would take his view
    there's your first mistake...
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast