Thread: Electronic Mixtape

Electronic Mixtape

Just looking at Stann's ( :nod: ) budding hippidy hoppidy compilation I've been inspired to collate an e-music one, with your help crucial of course. So much the same as Stann's criteria; songs don't necessarily have to be brilliant, just iconic, either for you, or for the time they were made. And under the broad electronic heading, so any sub-genre is fine, but I'm not sure where to draw the outer line - use your own crafty judgment, as will I. I'd imagine early ambient stuff and French 90s will dominate my selection. I'll run off now and rustle a little playlist together.

So theme is: Pete Tong requests Foot.ie crew to chart the history of electronic music, to be aired on next Saturday's Essential Mix.

Advance copies will be available outside Croke Park tomorrow! And the best "Haha e-music is it yeah? Nothin but a hilarious triple entendre. Ya know, ecstacy pills and elevators. That's all it's good for. Haha." The best joke like that wins a free copy so you can appreciate how much of a tosser you are.

hmmm, the history of electronic music.....

Well that would mean a few tracks like

Kraftwerk - The Robots
    New Order - Bizarre Love Triangle
    Altern 8 - Evapor 8 ()
    Josh Wink - Higher State
    Coldcut - Music For No Musicians
    Daft Punk - Around The World
    LCD Soundsystem - Daft Punk Is Playing at My House
    Digitalism - Magnets
    The Cryptonites - Glow

Thats off the top of my head at work, I'll think of more and post from home later
    Last edited by jebus; 23/05/2008 at 3:12 PM.

Rise Up - Yves Le Rock (I think)
    Hey Boy, Hey Girl - Chemical Brothers
    Get Up, Stand Up - Stellar Project
    Out Of Space - Prodigy
    You Don't Know Me - Armand Van Helden
    Sing It Back - Moloko
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Forgot all about Prodigy for some bizarre reason, I'd pick 'No Good (Start The Dance) from them though. I'm not the most informed of mid to late 90s dance however as the likes of Judge Jules put me off the scene

I s'pose some Vitalic would be in order too

4 off the top of my head....

808 State - In Yer Face
    A Guy Called Gerald - Voodoo Ray
    Front 242 - Headhunter
    Laibach - Tanz Mit Laibach

Kraftwerk -The Model
    The Orb- Fluffy Little Clouds
    LCD Soundsystem - North American Scum

Fot the Recent Age of Electronic

Crystal Castles - Alice Practice
    Klaxons vs Crystal Castles - Atlantis to Interzone Remix
    Foals - Hummer
    Justice - Waters of Nazareth
    Bloc Party vs Death from Above 1979 - Luno
    Foals - Astronauts 'n all
    Justice vs Simian - Never Be Alone
    Simian Mobile Disco vs The Teenagers - It's the Beat Remix
    Crystal Castles - Love and Caring

Cheers boys. Don't hesitate to put forward more suggestions - those ones were shocking. I'm leg-pulling, some good ones there. I haven't heard all of them though so must check 'em out.

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    I'm not the most informed of mid to late 90s dance
    You mean you've forgotten the un-glorious Euro-dance period? Lucky you!

Ok I'll put down what I picked myself from a quick trawl of my own stuff - so no offence if your choice isn't included, probably means I just don't have it! I'll order them in semi-educated-guess chronological fashion.

Perrey & Kingsley - Swan's Splashdown
    Gershon Kingsley - Popcorn
    Jean Michel Jarre - Equinoxe 6
    Kraftwerk - The Robots
    Kraftwerk - Autobahn (live version off Minimum-Maximum for brevity's sake)
    Kraftwerk - The Model
    Cerrone - Supernature
    Giorgio Moroder - Chase
    Tangerine Dream - Mysterious Semblance At The Strand Of Nightmares
    Brian Eno - An Ending (Ascent)

New Order - Blue Monday
    Rythim is Ryhtim - Strings of Life
    Cybotron - Cosmic Cars
    Frankie Knuckles - Your Love

Altern 8 - Infiltrate 202
    Altern 8 - Activ 8
    Electric Choc - Shock the Beat
    Aphex Twin - Xtal
    Orbital - Belfast
    DJ Shadow - Stem/Long Stem
    Chemical Brothers - Star Guitar
    Prodigy - No Good
    Underworld - Born Slippy

Daft Punk - Da Funk
    Daft Punk - Around the World
    Les Rythmes Digitales - Music Makes You Lose Control
    Stardust - Music Sounds Better With You
    Alan Braxe - Intro
    Alan Braxe - Most Wanted
    DJ Falcon & Thomas Bangalter - So Much Love To Give
    Cassius - Feeling For You
    Cassius - Toop Toop
    Etienne de Crécy - Fast Track
    Vitalic - La Rock 01

Booka Shade - Body Language
    Booka Shade - Karma Car
    The Knife - Silent Shout
    The Knife - Like A Pen
    Nathan Fake - The Sky Was Pink (James Holden Remix)

Mylo - Drop The Pressure
    Mylo - Otto's Journey
    Mylo - Paris 400 (Etienne de Crécy Remix)
    Hot Chip - And I Was A Boy From School
    Hot Chip - Ready For The Floor
    Lemon Jelly - Nice Weather For Ducks
    Royskopp - What Else Is There (Thin White Duke Remix)
    Christopher & Raphael Just - Popper (Discotown Remix)
    Freestylers/Krafty Kuts/Dynamite MC - In Love With You
    LCD Soundsystem - Tribulations
    LCD Soundsystem - (something off sound of silver...)
    Digitalism - Zdarlight
    Simian Mobile Disco - Sleep Deprivation
    Justice - Phantom Part II
    F'uck Buttons - Bright Tomorrow
    The Young Punx! - Fire

Right well that clocks in about 4 hours but still looks terribly haphazard and incomplete, no doubt criminally missing a load of classics. My head hurts though so I'll leave it that for now. But I'm sure after a few listens, close consideration of the above and future suggestions, and some general reflection, I should be able to shear the wool and still leave us with a nice warm set to excite any dark winter eve, ignite any summer barbeque, and of course gratify Pete Tong.

If you don't know one/any of the songs/artists I'd highly recommend checking them out somewhere. Particularly some of the earlier stuff. I'd say general perception is, 'and then there were Kraftwerk'. Despite their brilliance, that isn't really fair on their contemporaries. Jean Michel Jarre's Equinoxe and Oxygene are outstanding easy-listening melodic albums, for example.

I was only messing about including Altern 8 you realise?

Are you going to Booka Shade weekender next week by the by?

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    I was only messing about including Altern 8 you realise?
    Pfff, as if I'd take your opinion on board. Very much my own selections. Note how I didn't pick your choice anyway.

Are you going to Booka Shade weekender next week by the by?
    Excellent show guaranteed, so if I can I will. You'll have a PM in two minutes to that end.

115 Posts
    Many of my suggestions are there already KH.

I might go for Everybody In The Place by the Prodigy as well as a more iconic track.
    Also would go for Organ Donor (Extended Overhaul) or Blood On The Motorway from DJ Shadow for the same reasons.
    Would also opt for Tragedy For You from Front 242.

Anyway, few more off the top of me head:

Gary Numan - Cars
    Human League - Sound Of The Crowd
    Depeche Mode - Enjoy The Silence (particularly the Ewan Pearson remix)
    Simple Minds - New Gold Dream
    Utah Saints - Something Good, or one of the remixes on the Something Good '08 CDS
    Goldfrapp - many to choose, but Ride A White Horse is only brilliant
    Mint Royale - Singin' In The Rain
    Apollo 440 - Stop The Rock
    Lionrock - Rude Boy Rock
    Dreadzone - Little Britain
    SCAM - Put Up Your Hands
    Freeform Five - Eeeeaaooww (Stanton Warriors Remix)
    Rennie Pilgrem - Gladiator
    Spektrum - Kinda New (I think it's the Jacknife Lee remix is the best one)
    Felix da Housecat - Silver Screen Shower Scene
    David Holmes - Gritty Shaker
    Bentley Rhythm Ace - Bentley's Gonna Sort You Out
    Midwest Product - Dead Cat (if you can root this out, think it's a bit hard to find)
    Radioactive Man - Airlock
    Royksopp - Eple
    The Knife - Heart Beat (Rex the Dog remix)

and many, many more...

Oh, oh, oh...
    Mr Oizo - Flat Beat
    and Alter Ego - Rocker
    Last edited by stann; 23/05/2008 at 9:21 PM. Reason: two more
    more bass

Contain yourself man! Nah that's excellent. Great food for thought. One or two names I'm not familiar with too, which is nice. Just to make ye're heads hurt, pick your, say four, favourite tracks. If that's too mean feel free to ignore.

At this second in time I'd probably go for:
    Cassius - Toop Toop (Extended Club Version)
    Daft Punk - Da Funk
    Etienne de Crécy - Fast Track
    Brian Eno - An Ending (Ascent)

Stann touched on a gaping omission in your first draft with Gary Numan. Early 80s Electro/Synthpop. You would have to have some Yazoo in there. Probably 'Nobdy's Diary'. Heck you could fill a cd with Vince Clark stuff. I have a soft spot for Depeche Mode's 'Just can't get enough'. Then there's the likes of the Human league - Don't you want me (the obvious classic); OMD - Joan of Arc, or Enola Gay; Visage; Soft Cell; Devo; Bronski Beat etc. etc.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

115 Posts
    Actually that list I posted is so good I'm away to burn it now. Le do thoil of course!

Impossible to pick just four so here's five, no six:
    Human League - Sound Of The Crowd
    Utah Saints - Something Good
    Mylo - Otto's Journey
    Midwest Product - Dead Cat
    Radioactive Man - Airlock

and one I shamefully forgot...
    SL2 - On A Ragga Tip
    more bass

Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    Le do thoil of course!
    Cinnte deimhneacht, mo chara usual. Is breá liom cumhacht, ach mar shin fhéin is breá liom mo scí a liginnt. Dá bhrí sin is féidir leat pé rud is maith leat a dhéanamh agus ní beidh fearg orm! Ach ar an ábhar sin, féach thíos. Bhí smaoineamh ag Jebus.

Quote Originally Posted by noby View Post
    a gaping omission in your first draft with Gary Numan. Early 80s Electro/Synthpop.
    To be honest Noby I purposely omitted that era and genre of stuff; I said I'd wait for your (all-important) confirmation as to whether that tranche was worthy of coming under the 'electronic' tag. Naturally Cars , Enjoy the Silence and Sweet Dreams ought to rear their heads on any electronic compilation, but I was just uncertain as to whether I wanted to keep it more exclusive, and away from any sub-movements such as synth-pop or new-wave. Now that you've broached the topic I appreciate I should've included such originally, but hey, ain't that what drafts are for! On that topic, some Talking Heads will also be in order.

Next question is: What's your favourite 'Sweet Dreams' mix? And Stann, the best 'Something Good' remix? Keep the suggestions coming by the way; they're very much appreciated and enjoyed.

Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    Mylo - Otto's Journey
    Mmmm, great taste! Easily one of my favourite tunes ever. Worthy of usurping 'Drop The Pressure' or 'Paris 400' as the Mylo tune on the playlist though, I wonder? By the by, did you (stann) pick me up on my Sneaky Sound System recommendation a few months ago? If you didn't, get on it!

SL2 - On A Ragga Tip
    Fantastico!

Jebus had the idea earlier that we ought exchange our given playlists. I think that's a great idea (surprisingly enough given it was a Jebus utterance) and that as far as possible I'll e-mail my playlist to whoever's interested, and vice versa etc. Good idea yeah?

Lastly, and now I wouldn't usually be one to attract attention to negatives, but this is an exceptional case. So can anyone watch Superfrank and Daveycakes' suggestions without p'issing themselves? They could hardly be more contrasting, yet hilarious nonetheless. Or maybe by virtue of the fact they're so contrasting they're hilarious. Anyway, truly pathetic. Fair play lads, individual taste keeps things interesting!

Quote Originally Posted by kingdom hoop View Post
    To be honest Noby I purposely omitted that era and genre of stuff; I said I'd wait for your (all-important) confirmation as to whether that tranche was worthy of coming under the 'electronic' tag. Naturally Cars , Enjoy the Silence and Sweet Dreams ought to rear their heads on any electronic compilation, but I was just uncertain as to whether I wanted to keep it more exclusive, and away from any sub-movements such as synth-pop or new-wave. Now that you've broached the topic I appreciate I should've included such originally, but hey, ain't that what drafts are for! On that topic, some Talking Heads will also be in order.
    Definitely the early stuff should easily fall under the electronic banner. Yazoo being a prime example.

I can't recall Air being mentioned, although i may be wrong.
    Sparks, of course are another. I should really re-read the thread as these have probably all been done.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

630 Posts
    Lads this goes primarilly to Stann and Kingdom Hoopbut also for all who've posted so far, do ye all have cd burning equipment at home or work? If so then if I was to post cd's to ye could ye burn the songs ye've mentioned so far. This is a genre I really have limited experience of but what I've heard I've liked. Also I'm not exactly flush with cash to go buying shyte loads of albums to hear all your recommendations!
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    Lads this goes primarilly to Stann and Kingdom Hoopbut also for all who've posted so far, do ye all have cd burning equipment at home or work? If so then if I was to post cd's to ye could ye burn the songs ye've mentioned so far. This is a genre I really have limited experience of but what I've heard I've liked. Also I'm not exactly flush with cash to go buying shyte loads of albums to hear all your recommendations!
    Can listen and download most of them here. http://www.skreemr.com/

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kingdom hoop View Post
    And Stann, the best 'Something Good' remix?
    I'd go for the standard '08 mix. Have a real liking for the High Contrast remix but you'd have to like your DnB and the novelty of hearing it at double speed might yet wear off!

Quote Originally Posted by noby View Post
    I can't recall Air being mentioned, although i may be wrong. Sparks, of course are another.
    No, neither have I think. Two more glaring omissions.

Quote Originally Posted by joema View Post
    Can listen and download most of them here. http://www.skreemr.com/
    Probably your best bet to be honest, you'd only be getting stuff you know you like then. Anyway, we'll be too busy doing up the other mix CDs!
    more bass

Fair play for asking a favour of people you've never met! Rest assured, I'm a big fan of openness, so the love will be shared - I'll send you on a couple of data CDs with a selection of the singles mentioned above, a few albums, and maybe a few DJ sets if you're lucky.

Just let me know if you have any stuff in this area at all so that I don't give you anything you already have. Also, I seem to recall you expressing a fondness for Les Rhythmes Digitales before, would that be indicative of the stuff you'd like? Finally, what kind of setting (such as train/walking/party/reading/sex/transcendental meditation/etc) would you particularly like the music for?