Thread: Cup draw

3,488 Posts

Cup draw

Drogheda away on Friday week.

Not a bad draw, although at home would have been better. Drew with them in Drogheda and beat them in a replay when we got to the quarter-finals a couple of years ago.

If we draw with or beat Pat's on Thursday, I'd say we've a great chance of going through, especially after beating them on Friday.

And a t least UCD_4_life won't have to miss this one!

@ndy
    ****e draw...but sure how bad like. Away to o2 park, b0ll0cks really, but gives us a game to gather pace and remind the rest of the league that we're still around.

I don't want to end in a dogfight with derry for relegation, but beggars can't be choosers. I reckon Lloyd Colfer is gonna sort it all out! Sounds like a brit infiltrator tho :P

Didnt see ya on da telly shum, watched it in Aoife's.

3,488 Posts
    Was on the Drogheda website - they're already talking about the quarters! We beat them on Friday and were much much better on Monday against Rovers - seem to have picked up a bit of confidence now.

Had a friend over down at the match, just back from London and watching Arsenal in the Champions' League and all. One stage, he was saying how we'd lost the attack and how we kept on playing too slow - then somebody (Rooney?) took a pass and flicked it first time with the outside of the boot into Hugh Davey's pass in acres of room - yer man just gasped!

Okay, maybe I exaggerated a little bit...

Oh fluck.

O2 smells.
    And stay out of Bumtown, ya no talent bum.

@ndy
    Let them talk. Grand. It'll be a tough one, but we're well capable as we well know. At the end of the day i'd take defeat for 3 points in the league...a cup run would be nice tho..

3,488 Posts
    Incidentally, I read there a while back that Drogheda have one of the worst records in the FAI Cup in the league - only Kildare have won fewer games (obviously). Even St. Francis had won more! Something like 8 wins since joining the league in '85!

Drogheda

Point of information. Drogheda joined the League in 1963 as Drogheda F.C. and merged with Drogheda United , a junior club, with a pitch in a nice location , in 1977. Therefore they did not join the League in 1985. Granted their recent FAI CUp record is poor but they were beaten finalists in 1971 and 1976 .
    If we are going to comment about other clubs and their records, we really need to do a bit more homework first lads! So that we are at least accurate in our assertions.

beasley and bunce are the only two you have to watch out for. they are so far ahead of the rest of the side which is average.

3,488 Posts

Re: Drogheda

Originally posted by CollegeTillIDie
    If we are going to comment about other clubs and their records, we really need to do a bit more homework first lads! So that we are at least accurate in our assertions.
    Actually, I read the claim in the Irish Times! Maybe it meant that their record in the Cup as a League team was the worst around.