If the taker breaks the rules and misses then he doesn't get another go. If, on the other hand, the goalkeeper moves off his line (or in normal time a defender encroaches) and the taker misses he does get another go. Obviously, in this second scenario if the taker scores he doesn't have to take it again.
AFAIK (and I am open to correction) the rule about stopping in the run-up was relaxed when they changed the rule to allow the goalkeeper move before the ball is struck so long as he stays on his line.
Bookmarks