Thread: any progress reports

any progress reports

Has anyone got a clue as to what is happening with the "club"??There seems to be a general lull in developments, or the lack of any. Have the great policy makers made any ground-breaking developments, or found any potential investors? Or would they all do the decent thing and resign en-bloc, and allow someone who cares more about the club than their own ego do something?
    I very much doubt it!

re;

News as to any investors has gone very quiet,deadlines have been set and passed a couple of times now and still nothing i presume which is a big disappointment when you consider all the big business's in limerick.You would at least think that they would keep the fans informed.

John D, SLK and Deise have been quiet enough lately (maybe on hols). Lads, has there any word?

Seems the club will limp on to the end of the season. This is a bad outcome because raising funds generating interest is nigh impossible in the close season and we will end up losing a load of our better players for nothing.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Angry

agreed, which will give us more 'egg on face' for refusing money for Keatso, and possibly Stevo. Corks offer for Keatso(€6000) was small, but only an opening offer, and they would have paid more to get him. Still, had the offer come from anyone else but Noel O'Connor, it probably would have been accepted with open arms. The type of common sense that has us in the position we're in today. No football for us next season, me thinks!!

I was talking to a guy at the weekend and he said Limerick Tennis Club has 800+ members (one of the best in Ireland).

Surely soccer in a sporting city like Limerick should have no problem in attracting support?

Who's fault is it the club or the people?

Good luck against Longford, they are a very strong all over the park.
    Last edited by Estar; 06/08/2003 at 9:07 AM.
    Any condescension detected in this post is fully unintentional and is solely the perception of the reader. If I think you're an idiot, I'll tell you that. You won't need to intuit it.

Originally posted by Estar
    I was talking to a guy at the weekend and he said Limerick Tennis Club has 800+ members (one of the best in Ireland).
    Not really comparing like with like. You have to join the tennis club to play. If you look at the tens of thousands who play junior football in the city there is no comparison.

The other issue with Limerick FC is that there is no way to actually join the club. It is called a club but I have never found out how one becomes a member. One fund raising proposal was to open membership to the general public but the management committee (notice they don't refer to themselves as the board) said no.

Surely soccer in a sporting city like Limerick should have no problem in attracting support?

Who's fault is it the club or the people?
    Bit of both really. Limerick people like success (like others I guess) and LFC has been short of that lately. Also they have very long memories and still associate senior soccer with the shenanigans of the mid-80s and Fr Joe's time.

There is a huge potential there and the recent troubles have shown up a lot of goodwill towards the club (or towards senior soccer in the city I should say). But the current powers seem unable or unwilling to tap into that. There is no spark in teh club at present and no new thinking. This is the big problem. The club has no debts and a city on its doorstep. Other clubs would kill for that opportunity.

Good luck against Longford, they are a very strong all over the park.
    Good man. But we'd much rather get handy draws like you. Two non-league teams... Jammy or what? I suppose seeing as how you are just Newbridge Town in disguise it wouldn't eb fair to put you in with the big guns just yet.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

The reason I have not posted, other than being up to my eyes at work , is that I have no news whatsoever. There has been no committee meeting. The committee is split 2 ways (3 on one side and ? on the other). Neither side is barely talking to the other. I am supposed to be invited to next meeting.

What I do know is :

1...The Dream team goes ahead on Sun21st September.

2...The Supporters club player of the month( not telling) will be presented at the Monaghan Game.

3..We will be asking Members at that game whether they want to Travel on a Bus to Longford or Galway League game. Anyone interested in Travelling Contact Deise as I will be out of the Country and will miss the game..I will be back for the Replay

As quoted by JohnD[PHP]There has been no committee meeting. The committee is split 2 ways (3 on one side and ? on the other). Neither side is barely talking to the other.[/PHP]

This sums up nicely the absolute farce that is Limerick FC.
    The only good thing is that the only way is up.

My 2 cent (and I also apologise for my absence, how did ye manage to cope at all??? ) is that the current committee (or at least some of them still feel capable of turning the club around and aren't in any hurry to hand over the reins. That said I'd like more official detail on who's who in each of these phantom consortiums as well. It's a mess at present, there's no communications as such and nobody really knows what's ahappening.

Hence the silence here as well as everybody else.

yeah but it's this silence thats getting us nowhere..no progress...no answers...nothing. Even the activity on this board's gone to pot lately.

That is why the the committee has always won. They start with promises of meeting and the wait until peoples interest fades. They know that the efforts of the die hard supporters will be hampered by the committee's lack of action and wait for a couple of splits in the SC and pick the faction likley to present them least opposition.

Thiere must be a massive show solidarity is needed to show a united determine front. Morale must be kept up and that can only be achieved by action. Failure is ok but not trying would be the real failure.

Show the committee it would be better to walk away and find a new ''hobby''

The committee probaly think ''here we go again, another gang of moaners, we will just wait them out like the last lot''

Action is need to get things going again
    You're ruining a grand game