Thread: Carlisle keeper

Carlisle keeper

What kind of a farce is it to have brought in Carlisle keeper Kieron Westwood into the Irish set-up!!??............the fella himself said "I'm not Irish as such but I am a Cathloic"!!!..............ah yea good lad.....what a plonker for saying such sh*t in the first place but to be called in a few days later is a major insult to Brian Murphy, Barry Murphy, Darren Quigley, Barry Ryan, Gary Rogers and every other keeper in the eircom League who qualify for Ireland........

Trapp said Alan Kelly(Irish goalkeeping coach) made the call , which doesn't surprise me as Gio can't speak English but my oh my Alan Kelly , you should be ashamed of yourself....
    Then again our goalkeeping coach Alan Kelly does visit the eircom League grounds very often for talent--NOT!!....did he even hear of the eircom League or is he just on another jolly-up like the rest of the entourage picking up handy money!

22 Posts
    While I agree that either of the Murphys could have been potentially a better call, Quigley is injured and Ryan and Rogers are nowhere near good enough.

Bear in mind that if one of our keepers was called up they would have to miss a couple of important league games just to sit on the bench at international level. While I am sure it would have been a good experience for them can you really see Scully or Fenlon being impressed?

I wasn't suggesting all players mentioned would be good enough or if they are injured or not at present.......to have a clown like this chap whom nobody heard of until last weeks first leg play off for Carlisle at Leeds, ahead of any of the lads I mentioned is an insult......people harp on about the major improvement in the LOI , how could anybody take it seriously if players are going to be overlooked by a fella who says he is a "Catholic".......

Bit unfair on the clubs in the middle of the season to have players called up for a holiday sorry training camp in Portugal.

Murphys save for Rovers will be on MNS tonight.Check it out.World class save and you will see I am not exaggerating.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cheifo View Post
    Murphys save for Rovers will be on MNS tonight.Check it out.World class save and you will see I am not exaggerating.
    Whats the relevance of one save to an international call up?

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Whats the relevance of one save to an international call up?
    One game seems to be enough if you play for Carlisle.

Quote Originally Posted by Spoons View Post
    I wasn't suggesting all players mentioned would be good enough or if they are injured or not at present.......to have a clown like this chap whom nobody heard of until last weeks first leg play off for Carlisle at Leeds, ahead of any of the lads I mentioned is an insult......people harp on about the major improvement in the LOI , how could anybody take it seriously if players are going to be overlooked by a fella who says he is a "Catholic".......

Whom YOU might not have heard of till last week. What makes you thing Alan Kelly doest know him and hasnt seen him play before this?

This talk about Westwood saying he's a catholic but not Irish, has anyone heard the whole interview?

Im not saying he's better than any EL goalkeepers but as previous posters have said do EL managers want to lose their star goalkeeper for a weeks holiday in the sun.

AS long as the EL is a summer season it will go against EL players getting picked for end of season training camps and U21s etc. Weather the El should play summer soccer is another debate altogether.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Maybe Ireland should go Israel on us and open citizenship up to all Catholics. Wait, what century is this?

Rubbish!!..........Brian Murphy at Bohs last season alone had 25 clean sheets..
    Westwood was released by Man City and has done well since he went to Carlisle 4 years ago.....if anybody genuinely believes Westwood warrants a place EVEN on an end of season jolly-up like the trip to Portugal is, then they are seriously deluded......

238 Posts
    Westwood had a decent season according to a carlisle fan I know.
    Both Murphys are better keepers imo but as above, during the EL season it would be crazy to allow the lad go away for a Holiday when there is a mid season break coming up in a few weeks.

I think what Cheifo was getting at was, there will be a very good example of Murphys ability on MNS tonight.

Heres the two great saves in the Harps - Rovers game : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vxR3QxkpaQ4
    1.21 from Cullen and Murphys at 3.54

Gavin Cullen for Ireland
    Last edited by Sam_Heggy; 19/05/2008 at 11:02 AM. Reason: added link

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post

AS long as the EL is a summer season it will go against EL players getting picked for end of season training camps and U21s etc.
    What he said.

Although I also think that Trap could had said, when unveiling his squad to the media, that no EL players were considered due to it only being a training camp.

No point in beating the eL drum lads, Alan Kelly probably just wanted to have a better look at Westwood and so invited him out. He's not going to get a cap, and he probably won't be in any squad in the near future. Kelly probably realised that if he needed to watch Quigley, the Murphys etc. he could pop along to any of the competitive league matches this summer and check them out. With Westwood he would have to wait three months, and since Westwood is just declaring now I'm assuming he's never been looked over before, hence the call out to the camp to see what he's about. Real non-story to get worked up about

49 Posts
    i blame alan kelly. hopefully after this training camp we will never hear of him again. westwood that is. bring bonner back as goalkeeping coach, proper legend.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Duggie View Post
    i blame alan kelly. hopefully after this training camp we will never hear of him again. westwood that is. bring bonner back as goalkeeping coach, proper legend.
    I don't think Packie would be too happy to be demoted from FAI technical director to goalkeeping coach....

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    I don't think Packie would be too happy to be demoted from FAI technical director to goalkeeping coach....
    hah would like to see him involved in the team though. great guy.

Quote Originally Posted by Spoons View Post
    Rubbish!!..........Brian Murphy at Bohs last season alone had 25 clean sheets..
    Westwood was released by Man City and has done well since he went to Carlisle 4 years ago.....if anybody genuinely believes Westwood warrants a place EVEN on an end of season jolly-up like the trip to Portugal is, then they are seriously deluded......

BUT ONCE again I ask do EL managers want their players called up for events like this and as long as EL is a summer season this will always be the case, as in the U21s

Quote Originally Posted by McShels View Post
    What he said.

Although I also think that Trap could had said, when unveiling his squad to the media, that no EL players were considered due to it only being a training camp.

I can agree with this, but in fairness Givens made the point that he did not consider El payers for the same reason and got loads of abuse here.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    No point in beating the eL drum lads, Alan Kelly probably just wanted to have a better look at Westwood and so invited him out. He's not going to get a cap, and he probably won't be in any squad in the near future. Kelly probably realised that if he needed to watch Quigley, the Murphys etc. he could pop along to any of the competitive league matches this summer and check them out. With Westwood he would have to wait three months, and since Westwood is just declaring now I'm assuming he's never been looked over before, hence the call out to the camp to see what he's about. Real non-story to get worked up about
    I'd call that a good point, well made. Can't see what the fuss is about.
    Could you imagine the reaction of Pat Fenlon if Murphy packed his bags and headed off on a training camp, hours before Bohs play a vital league game with Cork?
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Duggie View Post
    and how many eL keepers would he call up in all seriousness if he did take the demotion?

I'll wager none at all

Plus ca change as the Frenchies say...

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    BUT ONCE again I ask do EL managers want their players called up for events like this and as long as EL is a summer season this will always be the case, as in the U21s
    The only way I can see all parties being accomodated is if the mid-season break we have in the League is the same time as these camps - then calls up could be made, and the wishes of eL managers accomodated.
    Last edited by Réiteoir; 19/05/2008 at 11:59 AM.
    Kom Igen, FCK...