Thread: Carlisle keeper

Typical rubbish spouted from a LOI fan. Don't take it so personal, he's bound to be more exposed to games in England than over here. Its high time some fans of our league got off their high horses with regard to players and call ups and well just about everything else when that forbidden thing known as English football is mentioned.
    Thursdays are Oriel.

246 Posts
    Its Irish football thats the forbidden thing surely ? Where else in Europe does playing in your own league debar you from selection from your national side. No point in kidding ourselves though, If you think Trapp has any intention of calling up any LOI player, ever, you're way off the mark. It's just not gpoing to happen. I'm not neccessarily saying he should either, but when you see managers reaching down into the lower English Divisions for players......
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

Trapp was desperate for a keeper to stand in goal for training. Alan Kelly was probably watching Sky Sports last week. Only probably Brian Murphy is good enough from the LOI. If he got called up would have missed a live TV match. Would Bohs have postponed the game? With mid season break coming up soon would Bohs moan about lost revenue?

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    He is only saying what we all think. Dead right fella. and dont care, we are entitled to make all the noise we want about this .... Look at the state of this decision in all fairness, to pick a guy through the granny rule and because he is catholic who plays for Carlisle, thats wht we are talking about here.

I'm sick and tired of the 'banging the eL drum', 'get off your high horses' lark at this stage. Step back ...... look at whats happening ........ and see it for what it is. A brutal decision.

Quote Originally Posted by Spoons View Post
    What kind of a farce is it to have brought in Carlisle keeper Kieron Westwood into the Irish set-up!!??............the fella himself said "I'm not Irish as such but I am a Cathloic"!!!
    Nothing to do with the league, but international football is now a joke.
    When Ireland were beaten by Belgium in the playoff for the 1998 World Cup the goals were scored by a Slav (Nilis - not sure which country but he is from one of the Balkans) and a Brazilian (Oliviera). It's not about representing countries when this rubbish is going on. This guy even says himself he's NOT IRISH.

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Whats the relevance of one save to an international call up?
    Hmmmm, one? He does it nearly every week... I've been saying Barry Murphy is the best keeper in this league for the past two years. He really is a class act and I hope we can hold onto him for next year... Brian Murphy for Bohs comes a close 2nd though.

It's a complete and utter farce that they have not even considered one of the Murphys' and is soley prejudice on Alan Kellys part against the LOI. He really should be ashamed...
    Last edited by Buller; 19/05/2008 at 8:47 PM.

38 Posts
    Nothing to do with the league, but international football is now a joke.
    When Ireland were beaten by Belgium in the playoff for the 1998 World Cup the goals were scored by a Slav (Nilis - not sure which country but he is from one of the Balkans) and a Brazilian (Oliviera). It's not about representing countries when this rubbish is going on. This guy even says himself he's NOT IRISH.
    Eh? Nilis was Belgian through and through. Are you sure you're not confusing him with Josip Weber in 1994? And Oliveira had spent the early part of his career playing in Belgium and contributing to Belgian football, which is more than most of the fly-by-night chancers who played for "Ireland" that night ever did.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by Buller View Post
    Hmmmm, one? He does it nearly every week... I've been saying Barry Murphy is the best keeper in this league for the past two years. He really is a class act and I hope we can hold onto him for next year... Brian Murphy for Bohs comes a close 2nd though.
    Even if they were looked at i'd be happy, but they weren't. Its ridiculous.

It's a complete and utter farce that they have not even considered one of the Murphys' and is soley prejudice on Alan Kellys part against the LOI. He really should be ashamed...
    There in lies the problem.

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    Eh? Nilis was Belgian through and through. Are you sure you're not confusing him with Josip Weber in 1994?
    A quick google and I see I am totally wrong! (where's the embarrassed smilie?) But you are right, Weber played for both Croatia and Belgium, so that must be where I got it from.

And Oliveira had spent the early part of his career playing in Belgium and contributing to Belgian football, which is more than most of the fly-by-night chancers who played for "Ireland" that night ever did.
    That's a fair point.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Trapp was desperate for a keeper to stand in goal for training. Alan Kelly was probably watching Sky Sports last week. Only probably Brian Murphy is good enough from the LOI. If he got called up would have missed a live TV match. Would Bohs have postponed the game? With mid season break coming up soon would Bohs moan about lost revenue?

excellent post, dont know if the sky sports bit is through but i doubt if you will see westwood feature in sept.

FFS will all EL lovers cop on and remember this is a bloody training excercise in the middle of the EL season. No EL manager will want his players on this junket.

If the EL is ever going to be represented on the Irish team for junkets like this and invitational tournaments it is only realistically going to happen if they revert back to a traditional season, or they have a mid season break to coincide.

Now in fairness what would you be saying to the outside world if you had a mis season break so one or two players could go sunning themselves
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

If a fella says "I'M not Irish" then the gentleman should be taken at his word.Lord help us.

A cynical view might be that perhaps given previous circumstances , He realised that if he overstated his Irishness and willingness to play for the country this might somehow lessen his chances of being called up

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    FFS will all EL lovers cop on and remember this is a bloody training excercise in the middle of the EL season. No EL manager will want his players on this junket.
    From your quote I take it you're not an "EL lover" so how do you know this?

If the EL is ever going to be represented on the Irish team for junkets like this and invitational tournaments it is only realistically going to happen if they revert back to a traditional season, or they have a mid season break to coincide.
    You're so right. We're the only league in Europe that plays a summer season.

Now in fairness what would you be saying to the outside world if you had a mis season break so one or two players could go sunning themselves
    Right again. Better to pick the English to play for us so the "outside world" doesn't laugh at us.

This farce calls into question the entire meaning and purpose of having and supporting an international team. FAI needs to look at this very seriously.

Then again, I suppose the fuss will be buried under blanket coverage of 'our' teams in Moscow.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley View Post
    This farce calls into question the entire meaning and purpose of having and supporting an international team.
    How so?

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    How so?
    Being represented by an "Irish" team that isn't really Irish.

Westwood

Foley Bruce O'Brien Kilbane

McGeady Carsley Potter Reid

Connolly Morrison

Subs: Kenny, Breen, McPhail, Delap, Macken

Quote Originally Posted by niallsparky View Post

Westwood

Connolly Morrison

The likeliehood of that team ever playing is virtually nil . Delap and Macken havent figured in years and to doubt many of those players Irishness is ludicrious

57 Posts
    Oh - look at the Norwegian squad for a couple of games that you could call "junkets" in a couple of weeks time:

Rune Allmenning Jarstein (Rosenborg), Håkon Opdal (Brann), Martin Andresen (Vålerenga), Eirik Bakke (Brann), John Carew (Aston Villa), Vadim Demidov (Rosenborg), Tarik Elyounoussi (Fredrikstad), Christian Grindheim (Heerenveen), Brede Hangeland (Fulham), Thorstein Helstad (Brann), Daniel Fredheim Holm (Vålerenga), Jon Inge Høiland (Stabæk), Azar Karadas (Brann), Erik Nevland (Fulham), Morten Gamst Pedersen (Blackburn),Tore Reginiussen (Tromsø), John Arne Riise (Liverpool), Per Ciljan Skjelbred (Rosenborg), Jan Gunnar Solli (Brann), Jarl-Andre Storbæk (Vålerenga), Fredrik Strømstad (Start), Kjetil Wæhler (Vålerenga).

22 squad members - 16 of whom play in their own country's leagues...

A League season which runs at the same time as the eL
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Quote Originally Posted by niallsparky View Post

Westwood

Connolly Morrison

^Macken and Delap are nowhere near the squad

Mcphail was raised in Ireland to irish parents

Breen, Kilbane and Foley were all brought up as Irish, and supported the Irish side growing up. Kilbane turned down an england youth call up because he was irish.

McGeady suffers sectarian and racial abuse for picking Ireland over Scotland