Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Under 21 Tournament thread

Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    The same illogical argument over and over again. Imagine you were offered a job as a heart surgeon even though you have no experience whatsoever. In the operating room you cause the death of your first patient but refuse to step down. You continue practicing and ignore other people's objections and concerns and are responsible for a number of other people's deaths until you are eventually forced out of your position .

By your logic you bear no responsibility for the unfortunate circumstances above though. It's all the fault of the people who employed you then. Staunton is just as much to blame as Delaney and I for one have lost any respect I held for him as a player due to his incompetence but more relevant his stubborness as a manager.
    You cannot compare the two.Surgeons have to be trained for up to ten years before they can carry out any type of operation. This is their speciality. This is the type of medicine they found they were more suited to as a doctor.They are bound by all sort of professional conducts and ethics and if they make a mistake there can be serious consequences for them and their patient.

On the other hand, a football manager needs little or no experience but it helps if you have.You are either a good manager or your not.The sames applies to any type of management job. Someone with a masters degree may not be a good as some with a diploma. Its all about the individual.If you mess up you get a slap on the wrist and you move on. There will always be a job out there for you somewhere eg Stan gone to Leeds.

Lost in Giovanni Trappatoni's Tactics Board
    132 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    Staunton is a lovely fella, and was thrown in at the deep end, but he did accept the job and why wouldnt he, blame he who gave him the job.

Let's not bring Trap into this, but it is Trap who took the best players, that makes a clear statement of how he valuues this level.

Is that not what Trap did, take players with him for the week to look at them?

Englands U21s dont set the world on fire and dont get the same press as when the senior team play crap.

Anyway let's agree to disagree on the matter,
    im sure don is a lovely fella - but what about all the times that he had full squads and continued to get crap results - he is not a manager

ireland U21 development is more important to get right than england u21 development due to the much smaller pool of players we have to choose from - so therefore we have less chances to get it right

givens job as underage international manager has to come to an end - but the sad thing is that it wont anytime soon

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibernian View Post
    At least Stan got few decent results as manager.
    Actually not one decent result.

Ireland have qualified for the semi-finals where they will play Australia (who won all three games) after Nigeria beat Iraq 1-0 today.

Givens is a nice bloke, a lovely fella in fact.

BUT, his problem is he's too hard headed to be a top international manager. When you've got such a little squad, isolating players becomes a bigger deal. Givens hasn't copped that yet and continues to put players backs up.

I know of at least three lads who should be at that tournament but aren't because Don has had a row with them.

That in itself should call the guys involvement into question.

Also, he took up the job as caretaker boss of the national team while the 21's had a game. Obviously the FAI had asked him to do this but he really didn't seem arsed and that grated on me.

And, these are the qualifying results this campaign. FOUR points. Not good enough.

07/09/07: Republic of Ireland 0 – 2 Portugal, in Cork
    16/10/07: Republic of Ireland 0 - 3 England, Turner’s Cross 8.00 pm
    16/11/07: Montenegro 1-0 Republic of Ireland
    20/11/07: Republic of Ireland 1 - 0 Bulgaria in Athlone
    05/02/08: England 3 - 0 Republic of Ireland in Southampton
    25/03/08: Republic of Ireland 1-1 Montenegro, Terryland Park, Galway
    The inches we need are all around us.

Quote Originally Posted by Paulie Bleecker View Post
    Givens is a nice bloke, a lovely fella in fact.

BUT, his problem is he's too hard headed to be a top international manager. When you've got such a little squad, isolating players becomes a bigger deal. Givens hasn't copped that yet and continues to put players backs up.

I know of at least three lads who should be at that tournament but aren't because Don has had a row with them.

That in itself should call the guys involvement into question.

Also, he took up the job as caretaker boss of the national team while the 21's had a game. Obviously the FAI had asked him to do this but he really didn't seem arsed and that grated on me.

And, these are the qualifying results this campaign. FOUR points. Not good enough.

07/09/07: Republic of Ireland 0 – 2 Portugal, in Cork
    16/10/07: Republic of Ireland 0 - 3 England, Turner’s Cross 8.00 pm
    16/11/07: Montenegro 1-0 Republic of Ireland
    20/11/07: Republic of Ireland 1 - 0 Bulgaria in Athlone
    05/02/08: England 3 - 0 Republic of Ireland in Southampton
    25/03/08: Republic of Ireland 1-1 Montenegro, Terryland Park, Galway

It should be noted that the Givens was not responsible for the one decent result there (Bulgaria), it was Sean McCaffrey who was in charge that night.

And anyone who saw the match would agree that it was one of if not the best performance from the U21s in the last couple of years. And the team was actually set up properly that night and were playing good football. It just highlighted what a bad job Givens is doing. I wouldn't miond even McCaffrey himself taking over from Givens once we get a decent coach that has a clue what he's doing and doesn't fall out with players right, left and centre.
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

Is the game Vs. Australia on tv? Can't find it listed.

367 Posts
    Not exactly what you'd want to hear on match day.

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=c...k=view&id=3204

20 Posts
    Jaysus, nasty stuff. Though i guess we can't blame Givens for that. Or CAN we?

They are all literally ****ting it
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

According to the Malaysian FA's website, an injury/sickness hit Irish team lost 3-1 to Australia

367 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by zackmorris View Post
    According to the Malaysian FA's website, an injury/sickness hit Irish team lost 3-1 to Australia
    Australia went 2-0 up after only 15 mins. We got a late goal at the end.

132 Posts
    are austrailia that good that even an irish squad with withdrawals can lose to them?

any1 know how good the aussies are?

or do i just put it down as another poor result against a poor team on dons list of being a poor manager?
    Last edited by back of the net; 23/05/2008 at 7:06 PM.

132 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paddy Garcia View Post
    Actually not one decent result.
    hahaha - with possibly the exception of the draw and performance at home to the czechs - your right - hahaha - dear god ))-:

Ireland 1-3 Australia

386 Posts
    Cheers for the vid.

Not one of these Irish players will ever play in a competitive senior game for Ireland. An embarassingly weak team devoid of any talent. A complete waste of money by the FAI IMO.

George Hamilton better watch his back with up and coming commentators like this young Malaysian lad around. George your days are numbered!

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    848 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tommy_c12000 View Post
    Cheers for the vid.

Not one of these Irish players will ever play in a competitive senior game for Ireland. An embarassingly weak team devoid of any talent. A complete waste of money by the FAI IMO.

George Hamilton better watch his back with up and coming commentators like this young Malaysian lad around. George your days are numbered!
    dont agree with ya there mate, Alan Judge and Keith Tracy are good players
    Its really not that complicated!!!

386 Posts
    Apologies. I acknowledge it was a bit brash of me. Not sure about Judge but Keith Treacy has the best chance out of the squad to carve out a successful career. Mark Hughes rates him very highly. But can't see much else potential talent in that squad which was only to be expected being end of season and all

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    848 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tommy_c12000 View Post
    Apologies. I acknowledge it was a bit brash of me. Not sure about Judge but Keith Treacy has the best chance out of the squad to carve out a successful career. Mark Hughes rates him very highly. But can't see much else potential talent in that squad which was only to be expected being end of season and all
    Yeah it was a pretty poor team in general to be fair
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123