International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar

Dunne to Newcastle?

http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrosst...ws.asp?n=32006

Newcastle make formal approach for Dunne

Newcastle United manager Kevin Keegan has made an official approach to former club Manchester City for Irish star Richard Dunne.

Dunne is out of contract at Eastlands in a little over 12 months’ time and has thus far failed to agree a new deal.

That has alerted Keegan to his potential availability, and the Magpies manager – who worked with Dunne for four years in Manchester - has given his approval to a move to bring the 28-year-old to Tyneside.

Dunne is a three-time Player of the Year at City, where he has captained the side for the past two years.

And with uncertainty over his own contract, as well as the future of manager Sven Goran Eriksson, the big Dubliner could opt to join fellow Irish internationals Shay Given, Stephen Carr and Damien Duff at St James’s Park in the summer.

3,501 Posts
    This went around before when Big Sam was in charge, don't see much in it to be honest.

Except that Keegan was his manager at City and "saved" his career

Quote Originally Posted by beautifulrock View Post
    Except that Keegan was his manager at City and "saved" his career
    I'd agree if Dunne goes anywhere Newcastle would be my No 1 bet, he wpn't be attracted to London's bright lights and may be very happy in the dreary north east
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    I'd agree if Dunne goes anywhere Newcastle would be my No 1 bet, he wpn't be attracted to London's bright lights and may be very happy in the dreary north east

He turned Charlton down when he Moved to City, at the time City were looking like relegation fodder & Charlton were safely mid-table iirc he said he prefered to stay in the North of England

Dont rule out a return to Goodison lads. Moyes has 20m to spend and even tho he has Yobo Lescott Jagielka and Baines, the word is Jag is gonna take over the Carsley role, leaving them a man short at the back, would be a far better move for all concerned

I really can't see him being sold unless he forces a move or a ridiculous sum is offered. IMO he's up there with the best in the league (and possibly Europe) and I'm sure Sven realises this too. Besides, unless City have other areas of their team which need to be vastly improved, no amount of money would be able to buy anyone of similar ability.
    Last edited by jmurphyc; 28/04/2008 at 5:45 PM.
    My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method, is love. I love you Sheriff Truman.

114 Posts
    I worry it an elephants graveyard for Irish players (Given excepted).

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paddy Garcia View Post
    I worry it an elephants graveyard for Irish players (Given excepted).
    In fairness, Duff and Carr were crocked before they ever went there, and O'Brien did about as well as he ever does. That said, Newcastle has a bad reputation for injuries and attitudes among their players, and I think Dunne's worth a better club than that.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Is he at retirement age already ?

161 Posts
    Sven is out the door at City (Scholari coming in)and I expect Dunne to follow suit as according to a few of my City supporting friends Dunne is being messed around contract wise. He will have his pick of mid-ranking premiership clubs to choose from but hopefully Wenger will put in a bid.

87 Posts
    I hear its a dunne deal

Get it?

I'll get me coat
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

Quote Originally Posted by Deckydee View Post
    I hear its a dunne deal

Get it?

I'll get me coat
    It had to be said. No shame. Pity though dunne cant attract one of the big 4 to come in. a move to newcastle is just a sideways one really, he cant be moving for any other reason than cash.
    I

60 Posts
    Perhaps Spurs might be interested. Ledley King's career is as good as over and he would be an ideal replacement, plus his close friendship with his boyhood neightbour Robbie Keane. Himself and Woodgate would make up a very commanding partnership
    Always look on the bright side of life

to be honest i cant see why wegner wouldn't go for him, i think he would be perfect for them, arsenal were poor in the centre this year and that was their only real weakness. senderos is a bit of a dope, and he could be a great player beside dunne.

112 Posts
    With the Thai owner acting like a megalomaniac, he'll surely leave. Really hope he goes to a top top club.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

It'll be Newcastle or back to Everton if he moves, a longer shot might be Boro who could do with an expereinced CB to steady them but I would see that as a step backwards. The other possibility might be Villa, With Melberg off to Juventus O'Neill will want an experienced replacement (I remain utterly unconvinced by Curtis Davies).

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    to be honest i cant see why wegner wouldn't go for him, i think he would be perfect for them, arsenal were poor in the centre this year and that was their only real weakness. senderos is a bit of a dope, and he could be a great player beside dunne.
    He's not foreign enough for Wenger, he already has Walcott as the token homegrown player.

Quote Originally Posted by Qwerty View Post
    He's not foreign enough for Wenger, he already has Walcott as the token homegrown player.
    Dunne wouldn't fit in well at arsenal, he cant pass!

253 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kingofkillteely View Post
    Dunne wouldn't fit in well at arsenal, he cant pass!
    That's actually totally inaccurate. He isn't Andy Reid, but for a centre half he makes some great outlet passes.