Thread: People that go to gigs...

Thumbs down People that go to gigs...

...and spend their time at the back chatting and laughing as loudly as possible....why bother going???

Went to Iron & Wine in d'Olympia last night and much of their mellower stuff was nearly completely drowned out by some stupid bints down the back who just wouldn't shut up. this just makes no sense to me, I mean why pay 30 euro for a ticket and then not bother listening to the music?????

rant over!!!!
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Ogba View Post
    ...and spend their time at the back chatting and laughing as loudly as possible....why bother going???

Went to Iron & Wine in d'Olympia last night and much of their mellower stuff was nearly completely drowned out by some stupid bints down the back who just wouldn't shut up. this just makes no sense to me, I mean why pay 30 euro for a ticket and then not bother listening to the music?????

rant over!!!!
    I've often had the same experience. Nearly as bad as the muppets singing along - I paid to listen the band, not some tonedeath arsehole shouting in my ear. I put my lack of tolerance to getting old.

I agree and the only thing I can think of is that they get free tickets and do not really like the band or have been invited by a mate etc. They should all be sent to Austria.
    In Trap we trust

I hate when people start chanting Ole Ole at gigs ,

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    I hate when people start chanting Ole Ole at gigs ,
    Hate it with a passion.

Jesus, you lot are great craic altogether.

Live music is about people coming together in a social setting; throw booze in on top of that and you know there's going to be talking.

And you know people are going to sing along. If you don't want to put up with that, perhaps you should consider just listening to the music in silence at home?

I don't mind the singing too much and it does depend on the gig too. If its a rock gig talking is fine as they music is loud and people are there to jump around and have the craic. But if its a gig thats an acoustic set, talking is a no no and a real put off.
    In Trap we trust

Its mass you lot are on about

Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    I paid to listen the band, not some tonedeath arsehole shouting in my ear.
    There's an Oasis joke in there somewhere, but I'm too lazy to tease it out.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

You can sing along without bawling at the top of your voice. It's a gig, not a who can scream the words loudest competition.

Went to a gig and had a guy talk into my ear all the way through it untill i lost it and turned around told him to shut the F' up i paid to listen the Bob Dylan not him.

But then worse happened some idiot decided it would be "fun" to put his missus up on his shoulders in front of us she was so ugly i got sick (literary) . she was discusting i told him put that monster down which he got offended by for some reason

A little bit of talking is ok and bit of singing is fine even the shouting/singing that most irish seem to do is fine its just people enjoying themselves. its just when its constant and so bad you can't hear the band.

On the Ole ole ole thing its so embarresing , was at picnic and one of my mates started it thinking everyone would join in no one did he just got dirty looks from a few hundred people and skulked away into the crowd !! brilliant !!

Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    I've often had the same experience. Nearly as bad as the muppets singing along - I paid to listen the band, not some tonedeath arsehole shouting in my ear. I put my lack of tolerance to getting old.
    I'd call that crowd participation...but maybe I'm just not as old as you!
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    I don't mind the singing too much and it does depend on the gig too. If its a rock gig talking is fine as they music is loud and people are there to jump around and have the craic. But if its a gig thats an acoustic set, talking is a no no and a real put off.
    exactly, I went to a couple of gigs over the weekend and both were quite different. Nada Surf in the village had the crowd singing along to quite a lot of their stuff which was great craic altogether so people chatting at the back isn't as noticable whereas Iron and Wine were predominantly acoustic-y so it was more of a silent crowd and these feckin eejits are more easily heard....

they should just pi$$ off out to the bar if they want a chat....

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post
    i got sick (literary) .
    What, you threw up a book ??
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

ole ole ole ole ole ole ole ole ole......................

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    I hate ... people
    Me too.

What I hate is when youre at a gig and get good and close up the front, theres always that tosser standing behind his mot with his arms around her waist, both of them standing there like saps.
    Then when the crowd start jumping around and everyone bumps into each other, they start getting thick and giving you weird looks. Erm, youre at the very front of a gig, if you wanna stand there in peace head to the back, its sort of impossible to avoid yous...