Page 11 of 39 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast

Thread: Marc Wilson

60 Posts
    I was reasonably impressed by Wislon on Saturday. He passing was excellent and he broke up play as required. Wonder what his best position is?
    Always look on the bright side of life

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by drummerboy View Post
    I was reasonably impressed by Wislon on Saturday. He passing was excellent and he broke up play as required. Wonder what his best position is?
    He feels that defensive midfielder is his best role and perhaps Grant does now as well. We really could do with a top player in that role, would be the perfect fit alongside an Andy Reid, James McCarthy or the unmentionable from Man C style player.

285 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    He feels that defensive midfielder is his best role and perhaps Grant does now as well. We really could do with a top player in that role, would be the perfect fit alongside an Andy Reid, James McCarthy or the unmentionable from Man C style player.
    I think him and Glen Whelan would be our best bet. Reid on the left and Duff on the right.
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

244 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TrapAPony View Post
    I think him and Glen Whelan would be our best bet. Reid on the left and Duff on the right.
    If the weirdo returned, this would be my lineup:

-------------Doyle-----------
    Weirdo----Keane--McCarthy/Duff
    -----Whelan---Andrews/S.Reid/Wilson
    Killer--Dunne--Sledge---O'Shea
    Eirebhoy's "We Love You" Chant. RIP:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7UfSbASyrQ

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    848 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by irishfan86 View Post

Jaysus we'd get hammered..... ya forgot the feckin goalie !!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Either that or we'd be playing a 3-2-4 with Doyle in goal.

244 Posts
    There was actually a glitch and didn't send initially, so I quickly typed it out again and missed Shay...I suppose it's because I don't think that position is even up for debate!

2,629 Posts
    I suppose it's because I don't think that position is even up for debate!
    exactly! the cap-hungry b*st*rd!!!!!

59 Posts

Regardless off that eejit i'd still take that formation with duff on the left and McCarthy on the right. To be honest, i dont think the whelan/andrews partnership can continue. Whelan is miles ahead of Andrews imo and i'd like to see wilson or reid in there. Worth mentioning tho if we get O'Hara he'll take the weirdo position. Trap pretty much said he'd go straight into the starting line up

Oh and replace Killer with Ward of course

285 Posts
    Playing decent enough in a defensive midfield position in today's FA Cup semi final against Spurs. Piquionne has just scored to make it 1-0 for Portsmouth in extra time.

Edit : Boateng scored a penalty to make it 2 nil. What a win for Pompey. Wilson, Finnan & (O'Hara) into the cup final.
    Last edited by TrapAPony; 11/04/2010 at 6:00 PM.

Being watched by Newcastle according to BBC Sport Football Gossip. At least it might keep him in the Premiership.
    'And Crouch must score'

Quote Originally Posted by DeNiro View Post
    Being watched by Newcastle according to BBC Sport Football Gossip. At least it might keep him in the Premiership.
    As is Robbie Keane and Jamie O'Hara.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Quote Originally Posted by DeNiro View Post
    Arry might have a pop, especially considering that defence of his. He signed him for Pompey and was very complimentary in a couple of recent interviews.

3,310 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Arry might have a pop, especially considering that defence of his. He signed him for Pompey and was very complimentary in a couple of recent interviews.
    he won the reserve player of the year while Harry was still in charge too

285 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    he won the reserve player of the year while Harry was still in charge too
    He won Young Player of the Year in 2008.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2t2mDCekeb4

Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Joint third best defence in the PL, hardly desperate to sign another centre half
    And you ask me to help you??!! Man is evil!!!! Capable of nothing but destruction!

203 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Docboy View Post
    Joint third best defence in the PL, hardly desperate to sign another centre half
    Wilson has stated on numerous occasions that his preference is to play in front of the defence. He isn't necessarily just a centre-half. I'm not sure he's up to Spurs' standard yet, but they could do with some more midfield grafters - they suffered without Huddlestone.

Quote Originally Posted by Docboy View Post
    Since when has necessity dictated Redknapp's transfer policy? If they're going to be competing in the Champions League next year, or Europe at the least, they'll need more players anyway.

244 Posts
    While Wilson has impressed me, I don't think he's top-half Premier League quality yet. Going to a team like Spurs wouldn't be best for his development.

A season of first team football in the Championship with Portsmouth, or with a lower Premier League team would be a better situation.

I just watched the FA Cup semi-final there, and he looked very impressive. He did everything you'd want a defensive midfielder to do. He really mitigated anything Spurs tried to create in midfield.

Based on that performance, I wouldn't mind seeing him play for Ireland in that defensive centremidfield role with Ireland, as it would really work with the way Trap likes his central players to play. What I like about Wilson's game is that he's not just a destroyer -- he's actually a good passer of the ball. I wouldn't go so far as to say he's a creative player, but he always seems to find a man with his passes, and he did pick the odd penetrating forward pass as well.

Perhaps in a better side we'd see him pick a few more offensive passes.

Anyway, exciting times for Irish midfield prospects. Good luck to Wilson and Finnan in the final, they'll need it!

130 Posts
    Fulham look set to win the race for Portsmouth's £4m-rated defender Marc Wilson.
    Full story: Daily Mail

Page 11 of 39 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast