Page 14 of 19 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 ... LastLast

Thread: The Sam Maguire

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    I can't wait for tomorrow I really can't. I hope to God our lads don't let us down
    And I thought the Champions would be able to handle a wee bit of pressure.
    All my Kerry cousins are shíttin bricks.
    Why would you be worried? still 1-4 red hot favs and everyone knows Monaghan were just a one season team who Kerry will play around with, like a cat with a wee mouse, tomorrow

Actually I have no expectations from Monaghan tomorrow. Unlike most counties, Kerry have the resource of skill, experience and depth of squad to fall back on over these past 4 weeks to get their championship campaign back on track.
    They should have too much for Monaghan.

On the other hand, you can expect Banty has them mentally well prepared and ready to split rocks.
    If Monaghan are not already burnt out, they will be just as fit, if not fitter than Kerry.
    Imo they have a bit better team than last year, better subs
    and as a team are playing better football. Beating Donegal this year was a much bigger achievement than last years at a neutral ground.

Quote Originally Posted by Jinxy View Post
    Wexford, Kerry, Mayo and Kildare will all come through this weekend. Get down to the bookies and don't say you weren't told!
    Leinster football rules! If Mayo weren't such damn chokers I would have had the full set.

60 Posts
    When is the draw for the quarter finals.?
    Always look on the bright side of life

QF draw

Cork v Kildare
    Dublin v Tyrone
    Galway v Kerry
    Armagh v Wexford
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

630 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jinxy View Post
    Leinster football rules! If Mayo weren't such damn chokers I would have had the full set.
    You took a flight of fancy backing mayo.I say this as a mayo man.Another year another broken heart.When will it end I beg you???????????

1,928 Posts
    It was a black weekend for football, 3 awful games and then Kerry win
    Fortunately the last game had everything the other 3 games put together couldn't come close to matching.

Like last year, Kerry not only stood up to the challenge but came out of the blocks this time spitting lumps of iron. They were not going to let Monaghan get a head start on the scoreboard. This Kerry team want a three in row more than they want to live.

People did not rate Kerry's q/f win enough last year, this year this game had a semi final intensity about it. Kerry have that championship ambition, a 70 minute physical combativness to match the best, plenty of quality along with a few players still to hit real form.

The ref did very well, he read the game, treated the players with respect and took the heat out of a few situations, (apart from that gift of a penalty of course )

634 Posts

Yes yes yes. At last that was sweet. It was good to see them beat a tough tough team.
    The tactics worked well. As someone said to me today, Kerry seemed to get their scores easier than Monaghan got theirs, and I'd agree. Eoin Lennon had a fine game for the Farney as did Freeman, thats the worst game I've seen from Marc in a long time. delighted to see clerkin leave the field early unless it was for injury. Bring on Gaillimh and a change of tactics again.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    It was a black weekend for football, 3 awful games and then Kerry win
    Fortunately the last game had everything the other 3 games put together couldn't come close to matching.

Like last year, Kerry not only stood up to the challenge but came out of the blocks this time spitting lumps of iron. They were not going to let Monaghan get a head start on the scoreboard. This Kerry team want a three in row more than they want to live.

People did not rate Kerry's q/f win enough last year, this year this game had a semi final intensity about it. Kerry have that championship ambition, a 70 minute physical combativness to match the best, plenty of quality along with a few players still to hit real form.

The ref did very well, he read the game, treated the players with respect and took the heat out of a few situations, (apart from that gift of a penalty of course )
    It was no gift lad, fully merited, and which I don't particularily like Deegan he was fair extremely solid and sensible.

It would be nice to see this Kerry team get the bloody credit they deserve. In this day and age to win two on the trot and be on the road to another and still not get the credit they deserve is hard. I'm saying this from the perspective of lucky all-irelands, lump of a full forward and the rest being crap as excuses.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    It would be nice to see this Kerry team get the bloody credit they deserve. In this day and age to win two on the trot and be on the road to another and still not get the credit they deserve is hard. I'm saying this from the perspective of lucky all-irelands, lump of a full forward and the rest being crap as excuses.

yeah
    but wouldn't it be lovely if Kerry with all their talent played nice clean honest football????? instead of the cynical game they usually play

the Ga was shown up again this weekend......................ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ
    at least the Olympics and the golf will be on this weekend, and the Cork-Kilkenny cracker, thank god

By the way still think galway are the best team i have seen (so fingers crossed against Kerry)

214 Posts
    After what happened with Galvin you'd think the Kerry players would show a bit more respect to the officials......Declan O'Sullivan had other ideas the mouthy lout. The GAA better be careful it cracks down on this asap otherwise the game will morph into the Premier League (Ashley Cole's of this world).

634 Posts
    This holier than thou stuff, particularily from Ulster people I find funny. I don't defend that some Kerry players take things to the edge, Galvin and D O Sé in particular, but they have got their cummupence. But I hope to God geysir you're not trying to put our men on a higher plane in the cynicism stakes than say Dick Clerkin? Or Brian Dooher? O r Ryan McMenamin.

And to you Shakermaker, I suppose Trevor Mortimer was talking to himself when he came onto the field the last day, cause he did no different to declan, both men felt they were wronged and both men voiced their opinion.

I'm happy to admit our lads pull things to the wire at times. Some of ye aren't by the seem of it?

214 Posts
    This holier than thou stuff, particularily from Ulster people I find funny. I don't defend that some Kerry players take things to the edge, Galvin and D O Sé in particular, but they have got their cummupence. But I hope to God geysir you're not trying to put our men on a higher plane in the cynicism stakes than say Dick Clerkin? Or Brian Dooher? O r Ryan McMenamin.

And to you Shakermaker, I suppose Trevor Mortimer was talking to himself when he came onto the field the last day, cause he did no different to declan, both men felt they were wronged and both men voiced their opinion.

I'm happy to admit our lads pull things to the wire at times. Some of ye aren't by the seem of it?
    Any backchat and you should be given a yellow, if they persist then a red. Shouldn't matter what colours you wear. I don't mind captains having a word but intimidating the ref is not on.

I didn't catch the T Mort incident but I've taped the game and will watch it again this weekend if I can bare it. The Mayo lads on the whole are too soft to do any of that stuff - that's why we'll never win anything. They couldn't play dirty or cynical if they were given the handbook - we have a lot to learn from Kerry, Tyrone, Armagh, Meath and Dublin. That isn't a dig it's a kind of compliment - playing clean and being Mr nice guy gets you nowhere.

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    Any backchat and you should be given a yellow, if they persist then a red. Shouldn't matter what colours you wear. I don't mind captains having a word but intimidating the ref is not on.

I didn't catch the T Mort incident but I've taped the game and will watch it again this weekend if I can bare it. The Mayo lads on the whole are too soft to do any of that stuff - that's why we'll never win anything. They couldn't play dirty or cynical if they were given the handbook - we have a lot to learn from Kerry, Tyrone, Armagh, Meath and Dublin. That isn't a dig it's a kind of compliment - playing clean and being Mr nice guy gets you nowhere.
    Agreed. If they came out and said captains are allowed approach the ref, that would be a step forward. I felt sorry for Mayo, I'd equate Conor Mortimer to Dessie Dolan, they're both bottlers when it really matters.

1,928 Posts

I never said anything about the cynicism of the Kerry players but obviously I am much more objective and less touchy than a Kerryman about these matters

I would never mention such a thing as when D O'Se clocked Clerkin on the chin coming off the pitch at h/t in the Railway cup then ran away and didn't come out for the 2nd half

634 Posts
    I never said anything about the cynicism of the Kerry players but obviously I am much more objective and less touchy than a Kerryman about these matters

I would never mention such a thing ...
    I know they're cynical it's stoopid to deny it. But sometimes the media (not you Geysir ) go on as if Kerry are the only ones at it.

To be fair to dara thats probably why he did it. I can't stand Clerkin. He's the bully boy to Lennons genuine talent.

Anyone here care for Ryan McMenamin?

1,928 Posts
    No one loves a ruffian unless he is one of our own.

I think the Galway Kerry game has a good chance to provide the best football game of the q/finals. That is if Galway aren't feeling too sorry for themselves about the luck of the draw.
    Is Joe bergin fit?

634 Posts
    No one loves a ruffian unless he is one of our own.

I think the Galway Kerry game has a good chance to provide the best football game of the q/finals. That is if Galway aren't feeling too sorry for themselves about the luck of the draw.
    Is Joe bergin fit?
    Agreed
    I hear Bergin won't be available at all. I would think Kerry would come through it, Tommy Griffin to start the next day and make a massive difference.

1,928 Posts
    The news today on Bergin is that he should be fully fit for the semi final
    'Joe Bergin has recovered from a hamstring injury but his return was postponed by a quad strain sustained in training last week. If Galway find a way past Kerry, Bergin should be fit to feature in the All-Ireland semi-final.'

The Dublin game against Tyrone has been delayed, not by 15 minutes or 1/2 hour but by a whole week. BTW, that doesn't mean it will start on time.
    The Dubs must have the omerta code imposed on their camp.
    I have to admit, I am beginning to experience a strange emotion called sympathy for the Dubs.
    Only one win in 25 years, you'd nearly think that it wouldn't be so bad if they got this one then we should be safe enough for another 15 or 20 years.

Yeah but then we'll have to hear about it for another 15 or 20 years.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portăo de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Another good win for Kerry today.

Thought they were in trouble for 5 minutes after the Galway goal but they got on top in midfield and got some great points to pull away.

Kerry full back line in trouble again but they find a way to score enough to win. Meehan was brilliant for Galway.

Can't see Cork or Kildare beating Kerry. Maybe the Dubs.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

Page 14 of 19 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 ... LastLast