Page 18 of 19 FirstFirst ... 816171819 LastLast

Thread: The Sam Maguire

Today is the day!!! Found out last night my Dad gave his ticket away...Raging, I would have went in his place. Looking forward to watching the game though
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

Its a beautiful day here in Dublin. All set up for a savage game.

Whoop Whoop! Well done Tyrone. Me Mammy is thrilled and my granny and grandad are dancing in their graves!

Super game delighted for Tyrone

Disgusted but fair dues to Tyrone better team on the day. I'm happy for Mickey Harte after all the criticism during the year. Thats it now til next year...
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

214 Posts
    you beauty
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    knew tyrone would win this. kerry were not t their greatest throughout the whole tournament. tyrone played well and deserved it. Well done tyrone for bringing SAM back where he belongs, up north

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    lads off topic, emailed RTE about getting info on getting a particular kerry (legend)man over to london for a night, any ideas how much it would cost to have the pleasure of the mans company for one night? Fair play to RTE, I am ringing them later(at lunch when its free) to find out the story.
    http://www.maleirishescorts.com/

Well done Tyrone. Thoroughly deserved the win. The minor game was a gem. Hope Mayo didn't leave it behind them though.

Gutted - not a kerryman but was hoping they would win. Tyrone have a nasty streak - constant pulling and dragging and digging off the ball - the classic move is when a defender passes to midfield and when everybodys attention is gone he gets creamed

Like the Meath tem who invented it - terrible tripe and a huge pity because of the super players they have - dooher, cavanagh, harte, mcguigan - top class - super players but they ruin it for me by the elbos, knees and digs
    DB Cooper is alive !

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Angus View Post
    Gutted - not a kerryman but was hoping they would win. Tyrone have a nasty streak - constant pulling and dragging and digging off the ball - the classic move is when a defender passes to midfield and when everybodys attention is gone he gets creamed

Like the Meath tem who invented it - terrible tripe and a huge pity because of the super players they have - dooher, cavanagh, harte, mcguigan - top class - super players but they ruin it for me by the elbos, knees and digs
    man you obviously have never played Ga then
    also didnt Kerry get about 5 yellow cards all for dangerous tackles - tyrone just got the one!!!!

214 Posts
    Kerry got ambushed and I'm surprised that so many pundits went against Tyrone. Kerry hate playing Tyrone. They are rough, determined and do not **** themselves when they see the yellow and green jersey, unlike our shower and Cork.

The last 5 minutes was a sight to see, Kerry went into a shell and Tyrone just kept going up the gears. Kerry need to send out a search party for some of their big stars because when it came to the crunch they disappeared big time.

Mayo-Tyrone in the minors was a brilliant game of football. We were a little naive when 1 point up in injury time but they'll learn - hopefully next weekend with a win in the replay. Aiden O'Shea looks a monster, one for the future for sure.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

1,928 Posts
    A very enjoyable final by the two top teams.

In truth it was a credit to the resilience of Kerry, that struggling in the 2nd half with a game plan that wasn't working, also having started with an injured Donaghy that they fought back in the 2nd half before Tyrone went into overdrive.
    Overall, it was a thoroughly deserved win for Tyrone and a courageous attempt by Kerry to get the 3 in a row.

This fist passing the ball over the bar mullarkey should be taken away from football.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

634 Posts
    Gutted, but in an unusual way. Tyrone were superb, they thoroughly deserved. I can only echo what Geysir said.

In football terms it was a brutal game of football. The amount of mistakes was laughable and the goal that ultimately decided the game was testament to that.
    In the qualifiers POS was commended for his substitutions; yesterday he has to be criticised for both selection (Brosnan instead of Galvin, Griffin instead of Reidy (who himself didn't have a terrible game)) and substitutions. It was obvious early on in the 2nd half that Sheehan and Brosnan weren't up for it, while the substitution of Scanlon (instead of Dara) was unforgivable in my book.

What was really noticeable was how Kerry were out on their feet by the time they got themselves back into contention. This has been a question mark over the management for 2 years now.

The better game of football was the minor game. A truely great display of football by both teams with some monsterous scores by Mayo and some wonderfully crafted scores by the Red Hand.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    Gutted, but in an unusual way. Tyrone were superb, they thoroughly deserved.
    Gutted in an unusual way? well it wasn't Cork, was it.
    I'd disagree with your recollection of the goal, it was scored when O'Neill had the vision to do his sublime 280 degree pass, that pass created the comical defensive mayhem.

Darragh & Tomas O'Sé and Declan Ó'Sullivan were inspirational.
    In an era of midfield congestion and knock downs, Darragh has been outstanding.
    Probably his farewell at this level?

I don't know about Pat O'Shea, you have to judge him by Kerry standards and we all know ye are effin animals when it comes to things like that.
    The first 2 balls in finding the Gooch in plenty of space was a cute stroke. A question may be there with Donaghy starting the game.
    Remember AI 2009 Kerry are 13/8 favs

Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post

In football terms it was a brutal game of football.
    It's gas how it's always a brutal game of football when Kerry lose.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Gutted in an unusual way? well it wasn't Cork, was it.
    I'd disagree with your recollection of the goal, it was scored when O'Neill had the vision to do his sublime 280 degree pass, that pass created the comical defensive mayhem.

Darragh & Tomas O'Sé and Declan Ó'Sullivan were inspirational.
    In an era of midfield congestion and knock downs, Darragh has been outstanding.
    Probably his farewell at this level?

I don't know about Pat O'Shea, you have to judge him by Kerry standards and we all know ye are effin animals when it comes to things like that.
    The first 2 balls in finding the Gooch in plenty of space was a cute stroke. A question may be there with Donaghy starting the game.
    Remember AI 2009 Kerry are 13/8 favs

its funny in training at any level, you are always told not to do that passing over the shoulder mullarkey.

Minor game was great, hopefully connaught can do the three in a row. Mayo deserved it and should have won, i spose inexperience let htem down in the end, when they should have held onto the ball and just passed it about rather than playing an upfield ball.

1,928 Posts
    How far out was that Mayo free kick from Walsh to go a point ahead?
    It looked to be around the 45m at an angle.
    Not even ace sharpshooter Bryan Sheehan could rise above that level of pressure to emulate it in the seniors.

ya was some kick he is a big lad too. Mayo were alot better than they were against Roscommon in the Connaught Final when it went to extra time especially their shooting.

Page 18 of 19 FirstFirst ... 816171819 LastLast