Page 4 of 19 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Thread: The Sam Maguire

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    I'll settle for beating Galway and onto the final before getting annihilated by Kerry.
    What's your obsession with beating us?. And getting hammered in the final as an acceptable outcome if ye beat us?
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

I'll settle for beating Galway and onto the final before getting annihilated by Kerry.
    We would settle for seeing Mayo getting hammered in Croker again as well

to be honest, poor student id say Mayo should easily beat galway. Roscommon showed ( for all their weaknesses ) that galways defence is very poor. 3 goal opportunities from just running direct is very poor for a team with all ireland ambitions. Roscommons forward line is good though, but its certainly nowhere near all ireland level.

Anyhow i lost 30 quid today betting on the eejits, not to win but for a respectable score but they couldnt even do that.

214 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gilberto_eire View Post
    What's your obsession with beating us?. And getting hammered in the final as an acceptable outcome if ye beat us?
    sure your our main rivals! In the same way Cork/Kerry, Meath/Dubs, Tyrone/Armagh all want to beat each other.

I for one cannot take another Kerry beating in a final. Soundest people you could meet but they need to share the Sam now and again!!!

70 Posts
    Relax there, I was only being flippant about Mayo's regular failure in the final, usually at the hands of Kerry. The minimum target every year for Mayo is to beat Galway, nine times out of ten it would see Mayo take the Connacht.

1,912 Posts
    Shocking performance by Kildare, Roscommon had signs of more life about them than Kildare.
    Still it should not detract from the Wicklow boys and (the GAA's Father Time) Micko, it was Wicklows day and 100% deserved.

Next weekend sees another episode of Sam.
    But only one decent game on the schedule
    Ulster Senior Football Championship
    Enniskillen 4.00pm Fear Manach v Muineacháin, Live RTE 2 & BBC 2.

You will note that the game is live on BBC and RTE at the same time.
    For a round 1 game - respect
    Brewster Park should be sold out, about 20,000. A nice sunny dry day would be just the ticket.
    Fermanagh got promoted out of NFL div3.
    I missed their game against Wexford, I don´t know about them.
    Monaghan have had problems in Div 2
    But have finished games well against Armagh and Dublin.

Midfield as always will be a key. Primary possession and scooping up the loose ball. Monaghan this year have to improve in that area by about 200%.
    I´d say big man Corey will be FF and the live wires feeding off his flicks and passes.
    No prediction from me, not fence sitting, just too superstitious for that.

Other games
    Connacht
    Ruislip 2.30pm Londain v Sligeach

Munster
    Fermoy 3.30pm Luimneach v Tiobraid Árann
    Ennis 3.30pm Port Láirge v An Clár

Going to go with predicting wins for Monaghan, Sligo, Limerick and Waterford!
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

Galways midfield will be their downfall. No good having marquee forwards if you can't get the ball to them.
    Anyway, following our annihilation of the scallion munchers in HQ yesterday, I'd say Sam is pretty much in the bag so the rest of ye might as well jack it in now.

1,912 Posts
    Go tell it to the Dubs

Quote Originally Posted by Jinxy View Post
    Galways midfield will be their downfall. No good having marquee forwards if you can't get the ball to them.
    Anyway, following our annihilation of the scallion munchers in HQ yesterday, I'd say Sam is pretty much in the bag so the rest of ye might as well jack it in now.
    Well in fairness O'neill and mannion are big lads and on his day there aren't many if any better fielders than O'neill. However what i would be more worried about is their defence roscommon walked through, like moses parting the waves, galways defence for 2 of their 3 goal chances and when quick ball was sent in ended up scoring easily.

1,912 Posts
    The feckers at RTE have restricted viewing of the games and highlights to the 32 county Islanders so I can't see how Galway fell asleep for those few chances that Roscommon didn't take
    Though I can picture all the other unseeded teams in the qualifying draw begging to get Roscommon.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Go tell it to the Dubs
    They already know....

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    to be honest, poor student id say Mayo should easily beat galway. Roscommon showed ( for all their weaknesses ) that galways defence is very poor. 3 goal opportunities from just running direct is very poor for a team with all ireland ambitions. Roscommons forward line is good though, but its certainly nowhere near all ireland level.

Anyhow i lost 30 quid today betting on the eejits, not to win but for a respectable score but they couldnt even do that.
    Easily?. Sure
    We just beat them in the league there a few weeks ago and we'll take them by even more when we meet in Connacht, Mayo have gone backwards while we have progressed.

We'll do a lot better this year then we have done the past 7 years!.

In all fairness your really overpushing the goal chances remark, to the point where(Geysir) would have the impression that they missed one on ones 3 times!.
    Far cry i'm afraid, for one anyway he was closed down superbly and could only hit a tame pressure shot, another was struck from 15 yards out and to the side of the goal(and put wide) and i can't recall the third, EVERY team in EVERY sport will create chances, the stronger teams will take them and the weaker teams will not and that's why there are gulfs in class, at any rate they were hardly sitters they missed!.

Fact of the matter is we destroyed Roscommon, they may be in trouble this year but they won't be disgraced in the qualifier IMO
    Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    sure your our main rivals! In the same way Cork/Kerry, Meath/Dubs, Tyrone/Armagh all want to beat each other.

I for one cannot take another Kerry beating in a final. Soundest people you could meet but they need to share the Sam now and again!!!
    I know that i've been following GAA since i was about 11/12, i said that because Poor Student ''appeared'' to be a Dub so was wondering why they wanted to beat us so badly!!

Relax there, I was only being flippant about Mayo's regular failure in the final, usually at the hands of Kerry. The minimum target every year for Mayo is to beat Galway, nine times out of ten it would see Mayo take the Connacht.
    I made that remark because your location says ''DUBLIN'' not Mayo!!

The feckers at RTE have restricted viewing of the games and highlights to the 32 county Islanders so I can't see how Galway fell asleep for those few chances that Roscommon didn't take
    Though I can picture all the other unseeded teams in the qualifying draw begging to get Roscommon.
    eh geysir, didnt you know that rte can be gotten outside of ireland

70 Posts

I made that remark because your location says ''DUBLIN'' not Mayo!!
    My loyalties are with Mayo in GAA.

1,912 Posts
    eh geysir, didnt you know that rte can be gotten outside of ireland
    For the NFL games/ highlights, the RTE site was open.
    I have the digibox with an irish card. So I am well looked after there.
    I missed that live game, the rte site blocks out the diaspora for the championship.
    That means I would have to fárt around with my ISP nr. doesn't it?
    How is that done? bear in mind I only have a bit of knowledge, but still more than Stutts.

My loyalties are with Mayo in GAA.
    As i could tell by your next comment... but it was'nt obvious before that with no indication of Mayo in sight!!

Always found it funny the way Mayo hate Galway so much, yet all the ones who used to bad mouth us when i lived there ended up moving here for one thing or another!!.

Ever since that i love it when we hammer ye!!.
    Last edited by gilberto_eire; 20/05/2008 at 12:28 AM.

For the NFL games/ highlights, the RTE site was open.
    I have the digibox with an irish card. So I am well looked after there.
    I missed that live game, the rte site blocks out the diaspora for the championship.
    That means I would have to fárt around with my ISP nr. doesn't it?
    How is that done? bear in mind I only have a bit of knowledge, but still more than Stutts.
    Sorry I thought you lived in the UK. Its possible from there but not from further afield as I found out when derry were playin in Europe.

Ya mixer is supposed to be a good lad, old looking for a young fella though. To be honest there is loads wrong with ros football and it all stems from club football ( and an arrogance ) that I dont think I will bore people with on this forum but i have a few good stories/examples. Usually I would come on here and lie ( beautifulrock you'll like that admission ) about roscommon and their expectations and what not, but this year I cant see anything really. Seamie O'Neill will come on and catch 3 or 4 crows and do nothing else for the rest of the game ( if he were from kerry, he would have been one of the greatest footballers of all time ), shine is a good player and a very good golfer also but is still too young, cregg is a good player, we have lots of decent forwards to be honest, who are just young, a little inexperienced and not tough enough, but a few more years and that will change. The main problem lies in midfield and the half-backs, id love to see francie grehan back ( although over-weight and what not ) and Shane Curran to shore up the defence and breed a bit of confidence, but thats not going to happen. Still though looking forward to my rare occassion of getting to wear my ros jersey and riling the galway gobsh1tes i know over here.
    Lol lol. What a shame!! Hope you threw that shirt in the Thames after that humiliation. Guess us Galway Gobsh!tes had the last laugh.:

I did for a half FarBeag, I watched it in The Inn then went next door, only to eat humble pie

Page 4 of 19 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast