Page 19 of 19 FirstFirst ... 9171819

Thread: The Sam Maguire

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Gutted in an unusual way? well it wasn't Cork, was it.
    I'd disagree with your recollection of the goal, it was scored when O'Neill had the vision to do his sublime 280 degree pass, that pass created the comical defensive mayhem.

Darragh & Tomas O'Sé and Declan Ó'Sullivan were inspirational.
    In an era of midfield congestion and knock downs, Darragh has been outstanding.
    Probably his farewell at this level?

I don't know about Pat O'Shea, you have to judge him by Kerry standards and we all know ye are effin animals when it comes to things like that.
    The first 2 balls in finding the Gooch in plenty of space was a cute stroke. A question may be there with Donaghy starting the game.
    Remember AI 2009 Kerry are 13/8 favs
    No my recollection of the goal is fine. the Mistake I was referring to was Reidy's effort at clearing it!
    Tomas had a quiet enough first half, but improved, Declan did have a good game, but (obviously I'm on my own here) I don't think Dara played well, and he was out of it in the second half, and wasn't up to the pace of it. I would be surprised if he plays another game for Kerry, but its not the disaster it would have been a year or two ago. There are good options for Kerry there now, wouldn't be surprised to see Donaghy move out, with a foursome of Scanlon, Griffin, Donaghy and Moran, I'm content with that.

Jinxy it was a poor game of football, but it was damn exciting and the best atmosphere I've seen in Croker. To be fair everyone has said the last few all-irelands have been crap due to kerry winning so easily so ye can't have it every way.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Cant wait for the final...oh the craic in Longford this weekend will be serious
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

1,912 Posts
    Good news, the minor final is on RTE 2 Saturday 2.30pm.

It's ladies day at Croker on Sunday and the Monaghan will be there in the senior final against Cork who are the dream team and the hot favourites.
    Monaghan will be looking to turn around a defeat to Cork in the league in March by 3-16 to 0-06. But the Monaghan ladies are focussed on this prize and will not be daunted. The last I heard that there was going to be a huge exodus from Monaghan for the game in Croker.

214 Posts
    hopefully setanta will show the game for those over in England!
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Tough luck on Mayo to lose after extra-time. The Mayo keeper will be haunted by his mistake but he shouldn't be as he made one of the best saves I've seen in years to deny Tyrone a goal in normal time. Two excellent teams and I'me sure both of them will yield some quality senior players. Although Mayo folk will need to hide O'Shea in a cave somewhere so the aussies don't find him!

214 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jinxy View Post
    Tough luck on Mayo to lose after extra-time. The Mayo keeper will be haunted by his mistake but he shouldn't be as he made one of the best saves I've seen in years to deny Tyrone a goal in normal time. Two excellent teams and I'me sure both of them will yield some quality senior players. Although Mayo folk will need to hide O'Shea in a cave somewhere so the aussies don't find him!
    we'll just have to hope he hates the sun and money!!!

Gutted but we ran out of steam. Fingers crossed some of those young fella's make the grade at senior level. I have high hopes for a good few of em.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    we'll just have to hope he hates the sun and money!!!

Gutted but we ran out of steam. Fingers crossed some of those young fella's make the grade at senior level. I have high hopes for a good few of em.
    Word is that O'Shea said he's only interested in playing football for Mayo. I'd say there was a few AFL scouts sniffing around already but I wouldn't say he's going anywhere.

1,912 Posts
    Have those Mayo lads stopped growing yet?

Looked like the force was with Tyrone this year. They deserved the Minor title no doubt but I can't help feeling that regardless of what Mayo came up with, it was going to be Tyrone's game.

1,912 Posts
    GAA all stars
    G Connaughton (Westmeath)

C Gormley (Tyrone), Justin McMahon (Tyrone) J Keane (Westmeath)

D Harte (Tyrone) T O Se (Kerry) P Jordan (Tyrone)

E McGinley (Tyrone) S Ryan (Dublin)

B Dooher (Tyrone) Declan O'Sullivan (Kerry) S Cavanagh (Tyrone)

C Cooper (Kerry) K Donaghy (Kerry) R Clarke (Armagh)

A very good team. Tough on Wexford though.
    Ryan the token Dub was by far Dublin's outstanding player but there is no way I'd pick him ahead of Daragh O'Sé.
    I´m glad the poor performances of Cooper and Donaghy in the AIF were put into the perspective of some great performances over the championship.
    Overall, every player selected did more than enough to merit an all star.

wondering about westmeath.

I see the international rules panel have gone for brawn rather than skill and brain, yet they complain about the aussies being too physical. Its hypocritical to say the least.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    wondering about westmeath.

I see the international rules panel have gone for brawn rather than skill and brain, yet they complain about the aussies being too physical. Its hypocritical to say the least.
    but to be fair Paul they both deserved an all star at least by now

622 Posts
    By the sounds of it Kerry are amassing a dream team on the line.

Pat O'Shea gone.
    Jack O'Connor back. Fitzy selector, Pat O'Driscoll another selector. I can only imagine Pat Flanagan will come back as conditioning man(trainer) an area we were bad on in the past two years.

I'm looking forward to 2009 already.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Page 19 of 19 FirstFirst ... 9171819