Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Bohs fan fails to get 'hooligan associates' ban lifted

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Da Real Rover View Post

Theres enough stereotypes there to fill a season of desperate housewives.

This decision is wrong.
    If his only crime is to be assosciated with the filth that is the BSC then this is bull. Pure tripe, and Bohemians will get raped in court. No man with half a legal brain will ever let this fly.

More importantly this man has followed his club for 30 years and now he has a lifetime ban? And the vast majority of posters are of the its good enough for ya sentiment?. Whats wrong with you people? I know drug dealers, grew up with them etc, doesnt make me a pusher though. Theres such a thing as due process, and evidence etc. This decision has none of that. Guilty by assosciation? Are you having a laugh? This is disgusting, it is neithor morally correct or just.

One day they came and they took the Communists
    And I said nothing because I was not a Communist
    Then one day they took the people of the Jewish faith
    And I said nothing because I had no faith left
    One day they came and they took the unionists
    And I said nothing because I was not a unionist
    Then one day they came and they took me
    And I could say nothing because I was as guilty as them
    For not speaking out and saying that all men have a right to freedom
    On any land
    "Won't somebody think of the children"........

Sense of perspective required.

As stated above ths isn't a criminal issue and is nothing to do with "freedom", so you can leave your high horse in the stable for the minute.

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    "Won't somebody think of the children"........

Sense of perspective required.

As stated above ths isn't a criminal issue and is nothing to do with "freedom", so you can leave your high horse in the stable for the minute.
    I know its not about freedom, but the quote is relevant never the less.

Quote Originally Posted by Da Real Rover View Post

Theres enough stereotypes there to fill a season of desperate housewives.

This decision is wrong.
    If his only crime is to be assosciated with the filth that is the BSC then this is bull. Pure tripe, and Bohemians will get raped in court. No man with half a legal brain will ever let this fly.

More importantly this man has followed his club for 30 years and now he has a lifetime ban? And the vast majority of posters are of the its good enough for ya sentiment?. Whats wrong with you people? I know drug dealers, grew up with them etc, doesnt make me a pusher though. Theres such a thing as due process, and evidence etc. This decision has none of that. Guilty by assosciation? Are you having a laugh? This is disgusting, it is neithor morally correct or just.

One day they came and they took the Communists
    And I said nothing because I was not a Communist
    Then one day they took the people of the Jewish faith
    And I said nothing because I had no faith left
    One day they came and they took the unionists
    And I said nothing because I was not a unionist
    Then one day they came and they took me
    And I could say nothing because I was as guilty as them
    For not speaking out and saying that all men have a right to freedom
    On any land
    Sweet Jesus....

Talk about losing the run of yourself.

Bohs are able to deny entry to whoever they want to their own establishment. So long as they aren't discriminating on grounds that they are clearly prohibited from doing so (e.g. gender, race, disability, sexuality etc) then they ahev strong groudns for doing so.

As for knowing drug dealers - there is a world of difference between knowing them, and being there by their side of an evening when they go out doing their business. The latter would probably make you an accessory. This guy was goign to football games with football hooligans. That isn't the same as saying 'how're ya' to them in the street or sharing a pint with them after work one evening.

Given that he lives within a stone's throw of Dalyer, and his employment is given as "hospital administrator" would it be stretchin' it to think he's employed by the Mater Hospital?

If so, he's a bit late calling on a former Hospital Administrator of the Mater to appeal on his behalf as he resigned as Taoiseach last week.

Well done to Bohs for giving him the red card. And I'm fairly sure James Connolly and any other apostle of socialism who has been invoked in defence of this individual's rights are turning in their graves at the way their ideals have been twisted in the name of straight forward thuggery.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

Quote Originally Posted by MyTown View Post
    Well done to Bohs for giving him the red card. And I'm fairly sure James Connolly and any other apostle of socialism who has been invoked in defence of this individual's rights are turning in their graves at the way their ideals have been twisted in the name of straight forward thuggery.
    If there was evidence of straight forward thuggery I doubt there'd even be a thread, unless you have some light to throw on the subject?

1,025 Posts
    When I was a kid, my friend stole a Kinder egg from a shop. Not only that, but when I was in university, another friend slept with a girl although he already had a girlfriend.

I`m still associating with both.

Time to chop my own balls off it seems.

Some of you people genuinely sicken me. Guilty by association should never be used in any walk of life, and if you disagree with that then I think you're a moron at best.

And to whoever it was that was saying* that hooliganism keeps families away from supporting LoI clubs, well I can only assume you don't go to LoI games yourself given how ridiculous that remark is

* Sorry I forgot your name, there's just so much nonsense from so many people you've all kinda blurred into one right wing moron (oddly enough you all probably have similiar views on guilty by association as many stereotypical hooligans do)

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Some of you people genuinely sicken me. Guilty by association should never be used in any walk of life, and if you disagree with that then I think you're a moron at best.

And to whoever it was that was saying* that hooliganism keeps families away from supporting LoI clubs, well I can only assume you don't go to LoI games yourself given how ridiculous that remark is

* Sorry I forgot your name, there's just so much nonsense from so many people you've all kinda blurred into one right wing moron (oddly enough you all probably have similiar views on guilty by association as many stereotypical hooligans do)

Please accept my apologies I never knew that all EL grounds are filled every week with families like GAA grounds. Im obviously going to the wrong games... and on that basis why are so many clubs struggling to survive if they're playing to full houses every week
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    Please accept my apologies I never knew that all EL grounds are filled every week with families like GAA grounds. Im obviously going to the wrong games... and on that basis why are so many clubs struggling to survive if they're playing to full houses every week
    He never said anything remotely similar to that.

He's arguing your point that hooliganism is a reason for low crowds. There are many reasons for low crowds, mainly the relative crapness of the football, the relative crapness of the surroundings, and the attitude of Irish people to eL, but I'd doubt if you could find 5 people who said the reason they didn't go to eL games was the fear of hooliganism.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    What Joey said. Families don't come because of hooligans (quite a few do at Limerick mind), they don't come because the parents support Man Utd, Celtic, etc. and couldn't give a toss about LoI. Most non-LoI supporters barely think we have any fans, let alone hooligans

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    When I was a kid, my friend stole a Kinder egg from a shop. Not only that, but when I was in university, another friend slept with a girl although he already had a girlfriend.

Like Mr. Kelehan's mates, your action is a bit extreme Osar....too many Samaurai movies p'haps? Lectures in tolerance and civil liberties are really spot on as long as you've been an innocent bystander at one of these matches whose had to "endure" the fall out from Mr. Kelehan's associates.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

Will you get off the soap box Jebus? This guy is STILL getting his day in court, is he not, to have the substantive issue tested by a judge? I'm happy to let the Judge decide. Luckily for most it's the way a democracy works, where a person who perceives society has done him / her wrong gets to test it.

And not everyone will be happy with the outcome, but at least nobody gets hurt, unlike, if you happen to bump into the Associates of innocents and they're in bad form.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

Like Mr. Kelehan's mates, your action is a bit extreme Osar....too many Samaurai movies p'haps? Lectures in tolerance and civil liberties are really spot on as long as you've been an innocent bystander at one of these matches whose had to "endure" the fall out from Mr. Kelehan's associates.
    Yes because he lives in Japan he can't possible know what it's like to be around violence. Much like someone living in Galway apparantly can't get that he's not talking about being around the BSC at all

Will you get off the soap box Jebus?
    Nope, not until everyone who disagrees with me on anything admits they're an idiot.

I don't care if the judge overturns this, Bohs as a club should never have imposed the ban in the first place, that's what I'm arguing against

Well, all I can say to the bloke is. If you lay with dogs-you get fleas!

Lectures in tolerance and civil liberties are really spot on as long as you've been an innocent bystander at one of these matches whose had to "endure" the fall out from Mr. Kelehan's associates.
    You were at a game where there was violence? Be careful or you'll be the next to be banned.

82 Posts

Unfortunately you haven't blurred into one idealistic moron, you're right out on your own on that front.

I find your general and frequent insults to people who disagree with your "defender of civil liberties" approach tiresome and for someone who clearly has a modicum of intelligence, beneath you. You are in many ways typical of a lot of libertarians, absolutely intolerant of those who don't share your views.

Why don't you try getting your point across without grandstanding, hyperbole, insulting people or other similar keyboard warrior-esque behaviour?

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post

Ah but would you still be a langer
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post

Why don't you try getting your point across without grandstanding, hyperbole, insulting people or other similar keyboard warrior-esque behaviour?
    Both sides of the coin need their loudmouths to get an opinion across, we then leave it to the more reasoned to actually debate the matter, I find it works better that way. Plus I'm not really trying to change anyone's opinions as I generally don't think it's possible for someone to do so, or at least that's the impression I've formed from internet forums and newspaper letter's sections. I find discussions these days goes something like, I give an opinion, someone gives their opposite opinion, I repeat my opinion, they do theirs, and we go around like that for approx. 3-5 days before everyone gets bored and we both end up with an infraction. Nope, as with everyone posting on forums or on blogs, I think my opinion is all important and needs to be published online for all to read, it's one of the major positive/negatives of the age of the internet.

Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    Ah but would you still be a langer
    I give you section a of the evidence of what being quite a reasoned poster like Osarusan gets you in online debates with people like this

I cant believe that people dont think families/general public would decide not to go to a game if they thought there were hooligans/unsavoury types at games already?

There is no way any parent would bring kids to a game if they thought there was even the slightest chance something could happen.

The Linfield fan a few weeks ago at the Pats game. 3000+ at the game and nothing happened except for that incident, which was completely blown out of proportion. Are you seriously suggesting that people wouldn't think twice about attending a game, even based solely on that incident?

There is no way on earth that most parents would want their kids to witness that (3000+ people were completely unaware of it inside the ground i might add), hear about that or be within one mile of that. People simply do not want to anything to do with it. And to dismiss that fact is brain dead.

If people know there is a hooligan presence (they dont even have to be doing anything, its simply potential for something to happen) in any ground on a regular basis they will not attend games. Its a bit lame to say 'they wouldn't come anyway', 'they are only interested in Sky Sports', 'they are just not interested in going to LOI games' .... that fact is that most clubs would cut of their right arms to double the average attendance for a few years.

If this hoolie thing is preventing the attendance from growing (even without incident) then its an issue and clubs should treat it as a crisis. If something is cutting off a life line to revenue then you have to deal with it like any other organisation would deal with it. To think that clubs couldn't, wouldn't or shouldn't do anything about it is off the wall stuff. Trying to suggest that clubs are infringing on peoples rights when the same people are strangling a club of revenue is a crazy illogical argument. You can continue to argue it but there is no way on earth it will change anything. Infact if it did then the said club is doomed anyway and you might as well just leave hoolies have a free for all.

There is a bigger picture to all of this. The league needs to move on, attract more crowds and build decent regular loyal fanbase. Hoolies dont and will never out number the potential for that to happen. While it is there hoolies will never be cast a second thought, it just not financially viable to entertain them.

Just because clubs, in recent years haven't been getting crowds, that no good enough a reason to not strive to get them. Hoolies will not help that happen so they and their 'human rights' should not even be considered.
    Last edited by A face; 13/05/2008 at 9:10 PM.

the scum deserve all they get i have a small daughter but wouldnt bring her near a game when bohs or rovers are in town, so yes it does efeect kids and families the scumbags need to be routed out in each club and get banned from all games but for this to work we need a more integrated intelligence network for stewards and guards
    We control by attitudes positive mental attitudes not by rules.

Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast