Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Bohs fan fails to get 'hooligan associates' ban lifted

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Its got very little do to with justice. He's being excluded from a football ground, not locked up in Mountjoy. Ergo different standards apply.
    Justice as a concept differs significantly from the judiciary. For a football fan, being banned from your club is one of the worst things that can happen you and should be reserved for serious offenses, not wh o you hang around with.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Justice as a concept differs significantly from the judiciary. For a football fan, being banned from your club is one of the worst things that can happen you and should be reserved for serious offenses, not wh o you hang around with.
    I reserve the right not to admit people I don't like into my own home.

Likewise, as private property, football clubs can do the same.

I'd also query how a big a fan this lad is if he spends his time knocking around with the BSC.

Justice as a concept differs significantly from the judiciary. For a football fan, being banned from your club is one of the worst things that can happen you and should be reserved for serious offenses, not who you hang around with.
    It is ..... BSC and any other wannabe hooligans/trouble makers are a cancer in society, and can do irreversible damage to this league. He was associated with them, its a serious offence.

It was too late when he was banned from home games and its much later now.

The judge should have asked him to tell all the BSC to never go near a game again, home or away.

Im wondering about your motives, as a football fan the worst thing can be to be associated with scum like the BSC and if he was a real fan im sure he would be distancing himself from such people.

I doubt if bohs would go to this trouble if they had not very good reason.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Bar BohsPartisan's contribution all the views expressed in this thread are idiotic. You can't kick a guy out of his team's ground because of who he hangs out with, that's just ridiculous. If he hasn't been involved in any hooligan activity himself then he can't be branded one, simple as that and no amount of hand wringing by you lot about the BSC will change that. You all sound like Daily Mail readers truth be told so I doubt anyone will be able to change your minds on this.

I'm surprised he wanted back in to Dalymount, if Limerick did similar to me I wouldn't be bothered with the club afterwards
    Last edited by jebus; 11/05/2008 at 8:09 PM.

My motives revolve around someone getting banned for nothing. AFAIK, we've had no major hoolie incidents this year and someone gets banned for who he hangs around with. I'm also concerned with the precedent this sets. If your club is arbitrarily banning fans, who knows who could be next. Will they stop at people who have friends in the BSC, or could you be inadvertently chatting to someone in the bar you don't know is a hoolie? What if they expand the definition of hooliganism or trump up charges against people with a different point of view on key issues to the board?

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    You can't kick a guy out of his team's ground because of who he hangs out with, that's just ridiculous.
    Eh, i think this proves you can!

Bar BohsPartisan's contribution all the views expressed in this thread are idiotic. You can't kick a guy out of his team's ground because of who he hangs out with, that's just ridiculous. If he hasn't been involved in any hooligan activity himself then he can't be branded one, simple as that and no amount of hand wringing by you lot about the BSC will change that. You all sound like Daily Mail readers truth be told so I doubt anyone will be able to change your minds on this
    Do you really think the directors of Bohs would go to that much trouble if he was really that innocent?

I personally know one of their directors and he would not support the board without very strong evidence, and before you say present the evidence, its not always that straight forward.

If all EL clubs took such a strong stance you would see a rise in attendences.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Quote Originally Posted by skitz3 View Post
    Eh, i think this proves you can!

Jebus is right, just because he knows them its a joke the only thing is, whatever chasnce he had of sneaking into to grounds are well gone, he hasnt half gone and publicised himself
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    Do you really think the directors of Bohs would go to that much trouble if he was really that innocent?
    If he's not innocent than he deserves kicking out, as it stands people are saying he has been banned for being friends with some hooligans, and that's just ridiculous. I've been friends with some drug dealers in my time, do I deserve to go to prison for associating with them?

Do people who 'associate' with this guy get kicked out now? And people who 'associate' with them...

If he's not innocent than he deserves kicking out, as it stands people are saying he has been banned for being friends with some hooligans, and that's just ridiculous. I've been friends with some drug dealers in my time, do I deserve to go to prison for associating with them?
    Moderation: text removed

If you were still hanging around with those same people on a regular basis how do you think other people would view you?? It's human nature and guilt by association whether you like it or not. If the Guards decided to search a known drug dealer in your company you can be damn sure that you would be searched as well.
    Last edited by A face; 11/05/2008 at 8:55 PM. Reason: Offensive text removed

They said it themselves. They were at pains to say they weren't kicking him out for being a hooligan. I know some of the board members to talk to aswell and though they can be nice people I'm sometimes baffled by the things they do. Why did they do it? I don't know, to be seen to be doing something?
    Last edited by BohsPartisan; 11/05/2008 at 8:44 PM.

You can't kick a guy out of his team's ground because of who he hangs out with, that's just ridiculous.
    Can a bouncer refuse admission to a nightclub if someone is a potential troublemaker? Bohs have the right to refuse admission.

I'm surprised he wanted back in to Dalymount, if Limerick did similar to me I wouldn't be bothered with the club afterwards
    That's just it, they dont want him back it seems.

My motives revolve around someone getting banned for nothing.
    BP, for the record i know where you're coming from but there is more to this.

Will they stop at people who have friends in the BSC, or could you be inadvertently chatting to someone in the bar you don't know is a hoolie? What if they expand the definition of hooliganism or trump up charges against people with a different point of view on key issues to the board?
    That in all fairness is not likely to happen. It wouldn't be in their interests to do so, all clubs welcome paying punters. To get banned from a clubs ground you have to have been fairly questionable imo

Exactly

If all EL clubs took such a strong stance you would see a rise in attendences.
    Its not happening soon enough. I have mates in Dublin and when i ask them why they dont attend games they all say that its because of the people who attend games, its perceived to be unsavoury characters. That is the size of it, the image is already tarnished. Inviting more trouble that could make headlines is stupid. And thats not even mentioning the fact that people simply just dont want to see aggro in any shape or form if they were to attend games, concerts, the circus, anything. Its just not acceptable.

If Gardai were watching you, and stopped you i think you would distance yourself soon enough, not doubt about it. If they were monitoring you and your not involved in anything dodgy then you have nothing to worry about.

Anyway, thats a completely different matter.

They said it themselves. They were at pains to say they weren't kicking him out for being a hooligan. I know some of the board members to talk to aswell and though they can be nice people I'm sometimes baffled by the things they do. Why did they do it? I don't know, to be seen to be doing something?
    I can only imagine they had enough reason to do so. And anyway, they are entrusted with people safety while at games. If they felt they had to take this measure then so be it. In my opinion they are completely justified if it makes going to games safer for everyone. It doesn't all revolve around the BSC and their associates, the general public are entitle to attend games in a hassle free environment and nothing should compromise that.
    Last edited by A face; 11/05/2008 at 9:13 PM. Reason: Typo

No, of course not.

But if you tried to walk into a bar with these drug dealers, and the bouncer knew they were drug dealers, would they leave you in? (obviously assuming they dont want drug dealers in the bar)

The BSC do huge damage to the image of Bohs as a club, something their fans give out about regularly.

I don't see how any real fan of the club would associate with a group who are damaging his club like that.

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post

But if you tried to walk into a bar with these drug dealers, and the bouncer knew they were drug dealers, would they leave you in?
    If I'd been going to that bar for 30 years and had never sold drugs there then they should leave me in, regardless of what they do to the actual drug dealers

Quote Originally Posted by skitz3 View Post
    I'm a 23 year old thats been a Shels fan for 20 years. Went to my first game age 3.
    Aren't you a bit old to be supporting Shels now though...?

For a football fan, being banned from your club is one of the worst things that can happen you...
    And for a football club, being tainted and dogged by the presence of wannabe-hooiigan idiots is the worst thing that can happen to it.

So perhaps if the person concerned had combined those two 'worst things' together in his mind he'd have made the sensible decision that hanging around with hooligans at his football club was neither smart for him nor good for his club.

The sooner these idiots get isolated and exposed the sooner they'll die out.
    Last edited by A face; 11/05/2008 at 11:16 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    The BSC do huge damage to the image of Bohs as a club, something their fans give out about regularly.
    I dont think they give out regularly enough to be honest. I dont want to be slated for this, nearly all of the Bohs fans on here are good heads and know the game very well. But that said i think (and its only my opinion) they dont separate themselves enough from the problem.

Surely Bohs fans must be aware of the damage it does, i know we have Bebo kids to deal with but if it ever got to the levels of BSC for City i'd appear in court against them. Give this whole thing an inch and it would envelop your club in half a season.

The Bohs board are copping alot of criticism at the moment but i'm surely they'll be glad the took this stance.

It probably a question that has been asked a million times elsewhere but is there any way to communicate to these people that they are not wanted?

If I'd been going to that bar for 30 years and had never sold drugs there then they should leave me in, regardless of what they do to the actual drug dealers
    30 years doesn't matter a toss

The questions they ask are ....

• Is this guy selling drugs?
    • Is this guy facilitating the selling of drugs?
    • Has he repeated been seen with drug dealers?
    • Why is he associating with these dealers?
    • How bad are these drug dealers getting?
    • How can we best stop these drug dealers?

The question they should be asking but probably cant ...

• Will our job be made easier if we take this guy out of the equation?

Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast