Post Bohs fan fails to get 'hooligan associates' ban lifted

Independent.ie

Bohs fan fails to get 'hooligan associates' ban lifted

Ray Managh

A judge has refused to order Bohemians football club to lift a ban on a fan over claims he associated with a hooligan group.

Hospital administrator Glen Kelehan has been a home and away supporter of Boh's for 30 years and a season ticket holder for its Dalymount Park ground for five years.

Gerard Hussey, counsel for Kelehan, told the Circuit Civil Court his client was now being kept out of all Bohemians Football Club's home games.

He said Kelehan, who lives in the shadows of the ground in Connaught Street, Phibsboro, had already been refused entry to away games in Cork and Galway after Bohs officials tipped off stewards and gardai.

Judge Jacqueline Linnane was asked for injunctions restraining Bohs from preventing him attending Dalymount Park, asserting he had been guilty of misbehaviour while attending matches, or including him in any blacklist circulated to other football clubs.

Mr Hussey said his client would miss all games between now and the trial of proceedings he had instigated against the club unless an injunction was granted.

Kelehan (33) said he had at all times behaved in an orderly fashion at all matches, obeying and respecting all directions and regulations at both home and away matches. On December 9 last, he flew down to Cork for a match against Cork City at Turner's Cross. At the entrance he and another fan were identified to gardai there and refused admission.

Hooliganism

He had later learned his name had been put on a black list of names excluded from Dalymount Park and from other grounds.

Alistair Rutherdale, counsel for Bohemian FC, told the court the club had never made,nor were they making, any allegations of criminality or hooliganism against Kelehan -- but it was its security policy to ban anyone who associated with known members or groups responsible for hooliganism.

Mr Conway said Kelehan travelled to the Cork City game with a group, or associated with a group, which included persons the club security personnel believed were previously involved in hooliganism. These were members of 'Boh's Soccer Casuals' who were involved in organised hooliganism over the past number of years.

Judge Linnane refused to grant an injunction lifting the ban and said damages would be an adequate remedy in the event of Mr Kelehan winning his case.

Fair play to Bohs for this one. Hopefully it sends out a strong message.

Indeed, although there is more to it than meets the eye.

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by skitz3 View Post
    Indeed, although there is more to it than meets the eye.
    you mean he,s a rover fan
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    you mean he,s a rover fan
    What are talking about? Where did you get that from? And it's a apostrophe(') you want, not an comma (,)

well done to bohs for showing scumbags the door.
    good on ye.

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by skitz3 View Post
    What are talking about? Where did you get that from? And it's a apostrophe(') you want, not an comma (,)
    lighten up skitzo its a joke sorry skitz3
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

A 33 year-old thats been a Bohs fan for 30 years

I'm a 23 year old thats been a Shels fan for 20 years. Went to my first game age 3.

Why is it a good thing that someone who has done absolutely nothing is being banned because he knows some hooligans?
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    because he knows some hooligans?
    Knows them or associates them. I know some scumbag Shels fans. Do I associate with them? Of course not. It's his own fault tbh and when you hang out with people like that you are condoning their behaviour in a way so no big loss.

Quote Originally Posted by LeixlipRed View Post
    When you hang out with people like that you are condoning their behaviour in a way so no big loss.
    No you're not, that comment is ridiculous. If he is banned just because he knows a few hoolies then that is a disgrace in fairness.
    Who Cares?!

Quote Originally Posted by LeixlipRed View Post
    Knows them or associates them. I know some scumbag Shels fans. Do I associate with them? Of course not. It's his own fault tbh and when you hang out with people like that you are condoning their behaviour in a way so no big loss.
    Thats in a nutshell.

There should be absolutely NO sympathy for this guy imo. All these types will undermine everything that clubs are trying to do to progress. Their behaviour is completely irresponsible and because they negate any responsibility they deserve what they get.

And its not like its anything new for some of these guys, they are well used to it. If they appear scummy, they people avoid them on a day to day basis, they have probably failed to get jobs because they cant hide the fact they are skangers. They experience this everyday of their lives. So why does this guy single out a football club for the 'injustices' that have been done to him. If these guys cant behave themselves in public thats their own fault, stop whinging to football clubs about it.

The thing is these measures are few and far between and should happen more often.

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red View Post
    No you're not, that comment is ridiculous. If he is banned just because he knows a few hoolies then that is a disgrace in fairness.
    To be fair, i'd say its a bit more than "just because he knows a few hoolies". If it happened to any normal people there would be means available to prove you dont associate with them. And the last thing he should be doing while banned from home games (the point where he should have realised this association isn't in his best interests) is continue to associate with them and be seen trying to enter a football ground with them.

If he has nothing to do with them then it would be clear and evidential. Its obviously not.
    Last edited by dahamsta; 13/05/2008 at 1:16 PM.

A Face, if the guy has done nothing wrong, then he has done nothing wrong. Guilt by association is not justice. I don't know him personally but from what I hear he has never been in any trouble and is not a hoolie. The whole idea of banning people should be - if you cause trouble/engage in violent behavior then you're out. Victimising someone for who they hang out with is like when the branch used to call around to peoples houses and harass them because their mates da was in the ra.

Im all for guilt by association. It might make people not involved in the trouble stay away from the clowns, and might make the clowns realise it's not so cool anymore.

Especially for the younger age group e.g. schooligans. At that age its all about being cool and fitting in. If the club shows them it doesnt pay to hang around with anyone causing trouble then it might lessen the amount of people involved in these thins.

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    Im all for guilt by association.
    Well then you have a fckd up concept of justice.

In footballing terms obviously. Theres a growing problem of hooligans/schooligans that needs to be stamped out now before it gets serious.

I think this could have a big effect on it.

Theres an easy solution for those that dont want to be banned by association, dont hang around with scumbags.

A Face, if the guy has done nothing wrong, then he has done nothing wrong.
    I dont know him but it doesn't sound that way to me. And i am aware that he might have 'done' nothing, but imo he has done enough by condoning their behaviour.

Guilt by association is not justice.
    Justice doesn't come into it, the club can ban someone from their ground if they want. He or no one else has any say in the matter. Again, not justice but if it eradicates the problem is a good thing.

I don't know him personally but from what I hear he has never been in any trouble and is not a hoolie.
    That is unfortunate, to get the punishment but not commit the sin, maybe he should have stayed away from the BSC in the first place. He learnt the hard way.

The whole idea of banning people should be - if you cause trouble/engage in violent behavior then you're out.
    NO WAY, that is allowing it to happen. Clubs need to get in there well before hand and get rid of them. The whole thing would be a lot easier if they just understood they are not wanted and never went near football again.

Victimising someone for who they hang out with is like when the branch used to call around to peoples houses and harass them because their mates da was in the ra.
    If it stamps out the problem them i'm all for it. Zero tolerance, dont allow it happen. Get rid of them at the first sign of trouble.

The BSC have done this guy no favours, other people should sit up and look at this and see the BSC for what they are. Double the amount of cameras and ostracise the BSC and anyone who associates with them.

Remember, if you condone them you are a primary part of the problem.
    Last edited by A face; 11/05/2008 at 3:48 PM. Reason: Typo

82 Posts
    Its got very little do to with justice. He's being excluded from a football ground, not locked up in Mountjoy. Ergo different standards apply.

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red View Post
    As my post clearly states there's a big difference between "knowing" and associating. It's stupid to associate with people like that. It doesn't make you a scumbag obviously but for someone from the outside looking in it would appear that way. Hooliganism should be looked with zero tolerance tinted glasses. And if you hang round with hooligans and get banned you can have absolutely no complaints.

Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast