Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Thread: Tonights Latest (9/5/08)

2,771 Posts
    almost... Murphy saved a penalty. It was really all Cobh in the second half, but we'll take the three points at this stage!! Nice one!!
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Flume View Post
    Anyone else notice a common factor running through the thread - we have some terrible referees! The bray decision must have been bad, all papers comented on it and the mirror even gave a headline to it. Also heard from a sligo friend that it was a definite penalty down at the cross. Makes you laugh when you see crowe getting a penalty for falling over himself.......
    Another refereeing incident in our match (about the only incident too...) - Matt Gregg was complaining because some Pat's player was standing in the D when he was taking a goal kick, held on to the ball for at least 15 seconds giving out to the ref, who eventually gave a free out, presumably for not retreating for a goal kick even though he was outside the box, which is just nonsense.

we destroyed them in 2nd half to no avail though
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    You did too.... until now i didn't believe Henderson's weekly lament about how hard done- by you are, but if tonight is exemplary of your luck so far, then I see exactly what he means. Who is your right winger? better by far than either of our pair
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

Quote Originally Posted by sonofstan View Post
    You did too.... until now i didn't believe Henderson's weekly lament about how hard done- by you are, but if tonight is exemplary of your luck so far, then I see exactly what he means. Who is your right winger? better by far than either of our pair
    Gareth Cambridge I think.

Let's hope our being destroyed in that fashion continues all season.

Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley View Post
    Let's hope our being destroyed in that fashion continues all season.
    God, no - hell to watch....

True but we invited you onto us. We played a very dangerous game sitting on the lead but thankfully we came away with the three points. A massive win for us seeing as how long it has been since Cobh lost at home.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Quote Originally Posted by sonofstan View Post
    Who is your right winger? better by far than either of our pair
    Our two wingers........Number 26 was Michael O'Shea and Number 11 was Michael Mulconry.

Cambridge came on as a 2nd half substitute and played up front.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Quote Originally Posted by rambler14 View Post
    Our two wingers........Number 26 was Michael O'Shea and Number 11 was Michael Mulconry.

Cambridge came on as a 2nd half substitute and played up front.
    26 was the one i was thinking of - thanks.

246 Posts
    the way I saw the game was that Pat's were shown up to be a poor enough team. Faced against a team who could defend well, they lacked any sort of imagination or ideas. Surprised how easy the point was for us.
    That's nonsense. Poor teams don't generally find themselves at the top of the table, winning 8 games out of ten. Pats dominated the game, and if ye'd come out to play we'd have destroyed you. Pats also tried to keep playing football,a nd never resorted to hoofing it in an attempt to get a goal. The fact that you came to get a point and succeeded doesn't earn you the right to call us a poor side. Now fair enough, ye defended well, as you've every right to do. I don't go along with all the whinging about UCD generally. Of course you haven't the resources of the likes of ourselves, Bohs, Cork, etc and I don't expect you to some and roll over for us. It's up to us to break you down and we didn't do it. Season after season UCD earn enough points to stay in the top division, and that has to be respected. Wouldn't find me crying if ye did go down though.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

3,491 Posts
    Yeah, probably phrased that wrong alright.

They weren't "shown up to be a poor side", and your defence of that is correct. They were poor on the night though, which is a different thing.

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    The amount of stupid yellow cards was unreal. Ref got some abuse when walking off and rightly so. One of the worst reffing displays i have witnessed.
    Hanney was an complete joke.
    He let play continue in the 1st half after a foul by Almeida and then when the ball went dead went back and booked Butler. I think the lad Butler ended up with 3 bookings but maybe they resolved the mistaken identity at HT.
    easy mistake to make.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Grounds have improved, teams have improved on and off the field, TV coverage is better than it's ever been, and yet we still have these clowns refereeing. Some of them shouldn't be allowed to referee under-12s. Every weekend we're seeing at least one or two atrocious decisions that affect results, and if a manager as much as opens his mouth, there's a completely disproportionate ban.
    The FAI is trying to project a positive, professional image of the league, but if you repeatedly have 2 or 3-point swings through crap officiating, it just looks ridiculous.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345