Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: Tonights Latest (9/5/08)

65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    The goal came from a Stuey Byrne mistake. He passed the ball across the Drogs defence and Kav picked it up.
    He did this a few times, I know he is playing out of position. Ewings kicking also leaves a lot to be desired.
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

Paul Tuite won't have any friends in Drogheda for a while.

In the second minute, Adam Hughes headed the ball past Skippy and it was going in...until Derek Foran flapped his hand at it. He was on the line, deliberate handball, definite goal and Tuite did nothing.

It should have been a straight red and a peno but he waved play on. Easily, the worst decision I've seen in this league.

We didn't play very well tonight but we won again which is brilliant. The goal came from a Stuey Byrne mistake. He passed the ball across the Drogs defence and Kav picked it up. Ewings gave Kav the entire goal to aim for and it was an easy chance.

Bray had one more chance after that. Drogs dominated. They hit the post three times and had many more half-chances. I'd love to see the possession stats for the game. It was great to get the result and fair play to the lads for managing to get the ball away from goal in the end.

It just would have been so much different with Foran sent off and Drogs getting the peno on two minutes.
    Very fair assessment if the game. Our defense is lookin lik it could be over next Friday

Ironically, Rovers' best performance in weeks and weeks and the result is a goal from nothing 1-1 draw.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

33 Posts
    Pat's played some short passes around our box.
    Sometimes they reached the by-line. But it took them awhile to get the one shot on target in the first half. UCD play the ball from the back, nowadays that may be considered 'timewasting' that would be unfornatunate. Pat's increased the tempo for five minutes in the second half and there was a real concern that a named player would go down in the box and claim a penalty. That didn't happen, but Kirby did hit the crossbar.

Pete Mahon put on Timmy Purcell up-front to relieve some pressure and after derek Doyle went off with cramp, Patrick McWalter switched to the left wing, UCD continued to carry the ball forward.
    One out of one without a goal, it's a worry for UCD.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    He also disallowed a perfectly good Denis Behan goal becuase your keeper fumbled it after he jumped into Denis.
    I was a good bit away but there didn't seem to be anything wrong, goal should have stood. We should have had a penalty, terrible decision and then McKenzie had to get his second yellow if the ref thought it was a dive
    "he tries his best.... but I was a proper player".

In the second minute, Adam Hughes headed the ball past Skippy and it was going in...until Derek Foran flapped his hand at it. He was on the line, deliberate handball, definite goal and Tuite did nothing.

It should have been a straight red and a peno but he waved play on. Easily, the worst decision I've seen in this league.

We didn't play very well tonight but we won again which is brilliant. The goal came from a Stuey Byrne mistake. He passed the ball across the Drogs defence and Kav picked it up. Ewings gave Kav the entire goal to aim for and it was an easy chance.

Bray had one more chance after that. Drogs dominated. They hit the post three times and had many more half-chances. I'd love to see the possession stats for the game. It was great to get the result and fair play to the lads for managing to get the ball away from goal in the end.

It just would have been so much different with Foran sent off and Drogs getting the peno on two minutes.

Good to see GOD is teaching young Foran some goalkeeping skills for us too.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by forza View Post
    UCD had one attempt at goal all night.
    But you don't mention that you had about two shots on target, both straight at Matt Gregg?

Silly me; the fact it was a poor game was all our fault and none of your fault.

We were afraid to shoot and we did it just wouldnt anywhere
    I'm not sure that sentence makes sense, but the way I saw the game was that Pat's were shown up to be a poor enough team. Faced against a team who could defend well, they lacked any sort of imagination or ideas. Surprised how easy the point was for us.

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    It was directly across from me and all denis did was not move out of the way.
    I agree it shouldn't have been a free but in fairness the ref blew a few seconds before Behan took his shot so players had stopped.
    Quote Originally Posted by joey4ireland View Post
    Fair enough I didn't see it that well but the goalkepper is always gonna get those decision's especially with refs like McKeown
    It was Declan Hanney, not McKeown. He's a disgrace to football, seriously poor decisions tonight. Still annoyed now just thinking about it

On a side note, at least I didn't have to pay in...thank you Ski-LEGEND!

It was Declan Hanney, not McKeown. He's a disgrace to football, seriously poor decisions tonight. Still annoyed now just thinking about it
    It said McKeown on the programme, thats why people are mentioning him. Hanney was brutal, he should spend the rest of the year in the schoolboy leagues. Has to be the worst performance from a ref all year.

If you look at some of the yellow cards being given out it would make you wonder. Are they trying to stack up suspensions for players or what. You have to ask like. If there was a refs accessor as the game last night, he will have been kept very busy. Cringeworthy stuff. Spoke to a few people who dont usually go to games and they couldn't believe have bad it was.

Its at crisis point now in my opinion.

Quote Originally Posted by 5ForKeeps View Post

The ref was a clown ruined the game, the linesman and lineswoman why the hell have them when they don't do the whole line.

because it was a soccer match you were at, not hurling

Harps are absoloutely shocking,easily worse than us and took an undeserved point.

Having said that 4 defensive errors cost both teams goals and both teams are destined for relegation.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

The game last night was a pure snooze fest. Ucd set up the bus in front of the goal and we couldn't break it down.At times it looked like we just didn't want too. We are going to have to learn how to put teams like that away if we want to win the league otherwise every team whos happy with a point will do it.

Anyone else notice a common factor running through the thread - we have some terrible referees! The bray decision must have been bad, all papers comented on it and the mirror even gave a headline to it. Also heard from a sligo friend that it was a definite penalty down at the cross. Makes you laugh when you see crowe getting a penalty for falling over himself.......

Agreed, iv'e never seen a worse decision in my life.... Tuite should be given a serious ban for it.

But don't agree on the other stuff... I thought we played very well. Drogs are a better all-round side than us and hold and pass the ball better (a great benifit of training full time !!!) but we more than held or own for 95 minutes. Drogs started better and should have had a peno but it wasn't given. They didn't create anything of note for the rest of the half, they had most of the ball but we didn't let them do anything with it.

Did Rowe not send Kavanagh clear? I'm almost sure he split the Drogs defence with his pass for Paddy to run onto, very cool finish.

We defo created more than once chance after that as well. Paul Dunphy came very close on 2 occassions, grazed the bar from 25 yards out and then blasted wide (both 2nd half). We caught Drogheda on the break a few times as well and Rowe set Daz free but for Gavins studs Daz had a clear shot on goal from 6 yards out.

Over-all it was a good team preformance by Bray, we defended really well and looked like a team that would do anything for eachother, very resolute and confidence is rife in the squad.

Roll on Sligo next Saturday, a draw would do me nicely but the way were going all 3 points is not impossible... but i fear our run of 7 unbeaten will end soon....

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    And I remember everyone laughed when Eddie Gormley said he had European aspirations

Quote Originally Posted by joey4ireland View Post
    Unfortunately it does look like they will stay up and an actual proper football club like Harps will go down instead of them. Pity
    Boo hoo. The anti UCD-bile, while nothing new, gets more and more far fetched every week it seems. The audacity of the litte paupers for not attempting to go out and outpass arguably the best team in the league. There's more to football than prettiness and if UCD grind their way to safety and Harps or whoever else pass (or misplace passes) their way to relegation than UCD deserve credit for cutting their cloth to suit their measure. The reason they stay up year after year is because they're a better football team, maybe not prettier but better, than the teams that go down instead.

tonights match:

Cobh 0-1 Bohs

brennan after 14mins

2,771 Posts
    its pretty much all Bohs in the first half according to reports..

http://www.bohs.ie/commentary.php
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by City till I Die View Post
    And I remember everyone laughed when Eddie Gormley said he had European aspirations
    I had a great laugh at that,what a turn around
    RIP JOHNNY

71 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    Boo hoo. The anti UCD-bile, while nothing new, gets more and more far fetched every week it seems. The audacity of the litte paupers for not attempting to go out and outpass arguably the best team in the league. There's more to football than prettiness and if UCD grind their way to safety and Harps or whoever else pass (or misplace passes) their way to relegation than UCD deserve credit for cutting their cloth to suit their measure. The reason they stay up year after year is because they're a better football team, maybe not prettier but better, than the teams that go down instead.
    SLK, why don't you just come over and support us, you've been yearning to do so for some time.

2,771 Posts
    all Cobh second half...
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast