Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: eL Club on the brink of going bust

eL Club on the brink of going bust

was on the local news this morning that if they dont get a big investment within the next 3 weeks they will go out of buissness, they are also appealing to the public to get along to the rsc tonight to support the club,
    it would be a great shame if this happens,
    anyone any ideas that we can put forward to the club in support of them staying in league football?

Quote Originally Posted by The Man Himself View Post
    was on the local news this morning that if they dont get a big investment within the next 3 weeks they will go out of buissness, they are also appealing to the public to get along to the rsc tonight to support the club,
    anyone any ideas that we can put forward to the club in support of them staying in league football?
    Was it on WLR or BEAT? Sad news hope that the Blues get a good crowd tonight, where is David Flynn in Waterford's time of need? He is the only in Waterford that can do something i feel.
    YNWA LFC
    Forza Youths!

While I really hope that Waterford will be ok I have to ask who paid for the stand if they're in such money trouble?

it was on wlr billy mccarthy show,
    and as for david flynn, he prob have more money then mick wallace but would rather spend it going to old trafford,
    you lot have a great man in mick wallace, lucky sods.

Think it was partly funded jointly by the FAI and the National Lottery grants they were giving out to clubs.
    YNWA LFC
    Forza Youths!

By Bluebeards....beard.....that would be bad news for the league, I have faith in the FAI pulling an investor out of a hat though, I mean the Limerick roadshow is still on the tracks so how bad can it be down in Waterford?

it was on wlr billy mccarthy show,
    and as for david flynn, he prob have more money then mick wallace but would rather spend it going to old trafford,
    you lot have a great man in mick wallace, lucky sods.
    We do , there was rumours that he was going to invest in Waterford United a good few years back but his dream was to get Wexford a senior football team into the Eircom League. Who actually owns Waterford now The Man Himself, i know Ger O'Brien was the last person that i recall owning them but he sold up didn't he?
    Last edited by 5ForKeeps; 09/05/2008 at 12:10 PM.
    YNWA LFC
    Forza Youths!

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    While I really hope that Waterford will be ok I have to ask who paid for the stand if they're in such money trouble?
    the stand was paid for by goverment grants and the waterford city council,
    waterford united didnt have to chip in a cent towards anything in the rsc and never did, thats why i cannot understand why they are so broke.

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    That was the first thing that crossed my mind. When I was there recently i had to ask why that stand was built in the first place. Anyway I hope they make it.

the stand was paid for by goverment grants and the waterford city council,
    waterford united didnt have to chip in a cent towards anything in the rsc and never did, thats why i cannot understand why they are so broke.
    Cheers for that info. As you've pointed out that still leaves the question of where this debt has come from.

Try asking some local businessmen who've made it big?

Quote Originally Posted by kingdom hoop View Post
    Try asking some local businessmen who've made it big?
    They tried it with David Flynn but he pulled out in the past as far as i am been told by Blues fans here in work.
    YNWA LFC
    Forza Youths!

225 Posts
    Sad news if it happens.

On a point of information, are Waterford full-time or part-time?

And does anyone know whether they were a candidate for inclusion in Platinum's proposed 12 team All Ireland League? If so, any such collapse would be a bit embarrassing, to say the least.

Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    Sad news if it happens.

On a point of information, are Waterford full-time or part-time?

And does anyone know whether they were a candidate for inclusion in Platinum's proposed 12 team All Ireland League? If so, any such collapse would be a bit embarrassing, to say the least.
    Part time and I doubt it

47 Posts
    This can't be allowed to happen. The LOI needs a good geographical spread and especially in GAA strongholds. Let us know what we can do to support

Turn amateur?

I mean there is not much difference between amateur and part time anyway.
    The deepest layer of human thinking and feeling somehow knows that God must exist - Pope Benedict XVI

Quote Originally Posted by oldyouth View Post
    This can't be allowed to happen. The LOI needs a good geographical spread and especially in GAA strongholds. Let us know what we can do to support
    Good idea Old Youth, will one of us put this on the WYSFC site leave message section or even in the forum?
    YNWA LFC
    Forza Youths!

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    Part time and I doubt it
    You'd never know ...apparently platinum had penciled in Limerick as a participant.

Those of us who support Limerick will know I'm not putting us down when I say that the very notion brings to my mind nothing so such as an ailing Hitler in his bunker, mid april '45, demanding counter attacks on all fronts from armies that no longer exist.

Anyway, I hope this isn't true about Waterford. They're always good craic. If things get really tight maybe we can loan them a set of jerseys.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 5ForKeeps View Post
    Good idea Old Youth, will one of us put this on the WYSFC site leave message section or even in the forum?
    Can the Waterford lads get an announcement out on the tannoy tonight. There will be 100's of us 'pinkies' there and let us know about the situation and what we can do. It is in our interest to make sure we have a local derby team to play

Quote Originally Posted by Salmon Coloured View Post
    When I was there recently i had to ask why that stand was built in the first place.
    Part of the FAI centres of excellence or whatever it's called - basically was built so that underage internationals could be played there and to bring the capacity over 3000 - that's a magic number for something iirc.
    Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast