Thread: Hilary on the way out?

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    You don't really believe that do you?
    Watch what she does if her demands to be Vice President aren't accepted by Barack, she has been issuing thinly veiled threats to tear the democratic nomination apart since she knew she had lost, and she will do if her demands aren't met.

176 Posts
    Clinton won the popular vote, the swing states, carried by the blue rinse, the hispanics, and most of the recent primaries. She is also ahead of McCain in the polls.

Obama swept the black vote obviously, who make up just a quarter of the population, lost the popular vote, the swing states, and most of the recent primaries. The Democrats have had 2 Presidents in the last 30 years. And with him as their nominee, they'll be the ones holding primaries again in 4 years time.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Clinton won the popular vote
    http://www.realclearpolitics.com/epo...ote_count.html

not according to that site, although I dont know how reliable it is.

Also, you have to factor in over 300,000 votes in Michigan where Obama's name wasnt on the ballot.

I agree with some of your other points though.

I think that choosing the person who best represents what your party stands for and choosing the person with the best chance of becoming president may not be the same thing in this case.

What does all that mean so??
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

Clinton won the popular vote, the swing states, carried by the blue rinse, the hispanics, and most of the recent primaries. She is also ahead of McCain in the polls.

Obama swept the black vote obviously, who make up just a quarter of the population, lost the popular vote, the swing states, and most of the recent primaries. The Democrats have had 2 Presidents in the last 30 years. And with him as their nominee, they'll be the ones holding primaries again in 4 years time.
    Clinton didn't win the popular vote, Barack won the popular, the superdelegate and the majority of states, all Hilary won was the majority of the big states so please get your facts right before you come on talking about it. And Obama lost most of the recent primaries (not a clear majority either), but won a decisive victory in the majority of the primaries. As with the black vote you talk about, please. Spare me the racial nonsense, he also won the youth vote, the 'educated vote', the working white male vote. Hilary only clearly beat him in the hispanic vote and the over-45 woman vote. He's the better candidate and the party chose wisely.

Why do you think he won't win in November? He's clearly a better politician than McCain, and has the momentum now

Election there for democrats to lose

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Why do you think he won't win in November? He's clearly a better politician than McCain, and has the momentum now
    There is no guarantee Obama will win & I don't see how it can be suggested he is a better politician than McCain. Obama has no experience worth talking about in terms of Presidential CV whereas McCain is heaped in military & Senate experience. Sure Obama makes great speeches & says all the right things but I think he may have a challenge proving he can deliver. Democrats have to win the big states & Obama won't take Florida - he needs to take some republican states to make up for that. Polls currently show Obama ahead but he is likely getting a post nomination boost so will be interesting to see what it shows in a couple of weeks.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Obama has no experience worth talking about in terms of Presidential CV whereas McCain is heaped in military & Senate experience.
    Giving Obama the Presidency, would be akin to giving Staunton an international manager's job.

Not even the Yanks are THAT stupid.

Giving Obama the Presidency, would be akin to giving Staunton an international manager's job.

Obama does speak better than Steve though.

Yeah but given your loose interpretation on facts listening to you is akin to asking Bertie for his definition of friendship

Pete, I'll respond to your point later on when I'm not in work

522 Posts
    Forgive And Forget lads, Forgive And Forget.

Arf arf.

522 Posts
    BTW, mypost and jebus will both need to post links to documents that support their assertions above if they're going to continue making them. There won't be another warning about this, I'll just ban one or both of ye from the forum if it continues.

ktnxbye,

Ahm, they gave Bush a 2nd term? And they might very well elect McCain to give themselves what would be in effect a 3rd term of Bush. Ahhh let the economic crises, mortgage crisis, heathcare crisis, energy crisis, foreign policy crises roll on. Yes, yanks ARE that stupid.

Quote Originally Posted by dancinpants View Post
    Ahm, they gave Bush a 2nd term? And they might very well elect McCain to give themselves what would be in effect a 3rd term of Bush. Ahhh let the economic crises, mortgage crisis, heathcare crisis, energy crisis, foreign policy crises roll on. Yes, yanks ARE that stupid.
    Good point. As he said himself "There's an old saying in Tennessee — I know it's in Texas, probably in Tennessee — that says, fool me once, shame on — shame on you. Fool me — you can't get fooled again."

McCain is basically running an incumbent campaign which really should not offer him any hope but the US is very conservative.

Obama v McCain state by state breakdown

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    BTW, mypost and jebus will both need to post links to documents that support their assertions above if they're going to continue making them.
    http://edition.cnn.com/ELECTION/2008/

Click on the state and they will give you a breakdown of age, church, sex, etc. of votes. These have been widely reported in the media, I realise the need for having people support claims in current affairs, but when every proper news outlet is running them is there really a need? I have read that Obama was winning in the majority of voting demographs on CNN, BBC, and in the Guardian and the Times, anyone who has an interest in this election has surely done the same?
    Last edited by jebus; 06/06/2008 at 8:30 AM.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts

what part of bombing iran is a good foreign policy plan for America? Yikes

Would an Obama/Clinton campaign do enough to topple Republicans?

My grandmother is convinced that the States will not have a black president but then she hasn't lived there since 1961, funnily enough in Chicago. Surely things have changed since then?
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    Would an Obama/Clinton campaign do enough to topple Republicans?

My grandmother is convinced that the States will not have a black president but then she hasn't lived there since 1961, funnily enough in Chicago. Surely things have changed since then?
    to the first question - defintely YES. Though Obama would do it on his own in my opinion.

In my opinion, If America is ready for a black nominee then they are ready for a black President. You dont realise just how in love the majority of Democarts are with this guy - and rightly so. The media seems to love him too. The work and sacrifices of Robert Kennedy, MLK and Jesse Jackson will not have been in vain.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    In my opinion, If America is ready for a black nominee then they are ready for a black President.
    His nomination only shows that the Democrats are ready for a black president, not all of America. It will only be seen in November if that is the case for the whole country.

I think he will probably win in November alright, as long as the debate isn't focussed on foreign policy.

Anecdotally apparently people even in the more liberal East coast have issues voting for black man. According to guy at work when speaking about people he knows living there.

I know probably only 50-60% of registered voters partake in the Presidential election but even less again vote in democratic primaries. Obama needs the black vote but does he risk being seen as "the black candidate" ?

CNN

A majority of Democrats think Barack Obama should select Hillary Clinton as his running mate, according to a new national poll.
    art.clinton.obama.file.ap.jpg

Most Democrats think Barack Obama and Hillary Clinton, seen in a 2006 photo, should share the ticket.

Fifty-four percent of registered Democrats questioned in a CNN/Opinion Research Corporation poll released Friday think Obama should name his rival as his running mate; 43 percent disagreed.

Now that Hilary has bowed out without trying to take down the whole party I'll go on record and say that Obama will slaughter McCain in November. Watch what happens when these two go head to head in debates