9 9.57%

Thread: MNS- best analyst

Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce View Post
    ...they would never have a woman on the programme though ..would they?
    Quote Originally Posted by saintmaniac View Post
    Not unless one of the major newspapers employs a female journalist to cover the eL. I can't think of any, offhand. 'Tis a shame, as there are several female eL fans I know who would be absolutely fantastic panellists. I wouldn't count myself in that number, though - I probably belong to the Rico school of rambling.
    What about your wan who interviews players and managers of RTE radio on Friday nights. Can't think of her name now.

Hang on... is it Evan Ni Chuilleann (sp?) or something??

539 Posts
    i voted richard sadlier he speaks well and he knows his stuff too!

290 Posts
    Best MNS Panelist to date

Er...I think I'll take the female one please.

38 Posts
    Rico - restrained and informative. Roddy - Roddy. Sean Connor - surprisingly okay-ish. Mackey - clueless, tries to be irreverent but ends up being irrelevant. Sadlier - pretty good considering he's not very clued in on the league. Foley and McDonnell - Zzzzzz.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hedderman View Post
    Here's a great Rico quote from his MNS website column from 25th April:
    That is pure genious, but I don't know why. Can't stop laughing at it. Maybe I shouldn't read it while drunk...

I cant believe that Roddy and Connor got votes

saddlier , mcdonnell and foley are all equally as good
    no their stuff and the later 2 know the league inside out

not sure about dan mcdonnell going on it has a tendency to over exaggerate about some things

49 Posts
    Tony McDonnell is the best along with Rico. Bloody hate listening to connor. Dave Barry seems like he's love to cause a row and beat round him.

Quote Originally Posted by saintmaniac View Post
    Not unless one of the major newspapers employs a female journalist to cover the eL. I can't think of any, offhand. 'Tis a shame, as there are several female eL fans I know who would be absolutely fantastic panellists. I wouldn't count myself in that number, though - I probably belong to the Rico school of rambling.

Richard Sadlier surprised me with how astute an analyst he is, he is very direct and his statements are generally spot-on.

I really like Philip Quinn as a writer but it has to be said that television is not his medium...
    Agree about Sadlier.His article in the SI is excellant and he did'nt flinch when Roy threw a tantrum.I enjoyed Phillip Quinn when he was on.Came across like somebody who enjoys the good craic in football.

Others have joined me in the pro-Sadlier bandwagon

Anyone who votes Collins should be rightly accused of being Collins himself.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    Others have joined me in the pro-Sadlier bandwagon

Anyone who votes Collins should be rightly accused of being Collins himself.
    And its an anonymous vote any chance you could reverse that, adam?
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Rico is the best as strangely he does not waffle. His columns can be hit & miss as sometimes too much trouble to read.

Roddy is the Dunphy of the group. Says what he likes but sometimes goes too far for the attention.

Quote Originally Posted by Salmon Coloured View Post
    Tom Symmonds, if there is a God this man will be on the show soon.
    I'll 2nd that, not sure how he would reat to the limelight though!!!

Sadlier has been tops for me, its like he's putting the effort in and not waffling.
    Més Que Un Club - More than a Club

Quote Originally Posted by cheifo View Post
    I enjoyed Phillip Quinn when he was on.Came across like somebody who enjoys the good craic in football.
    Ah, I did like the anecdotes, don't get me wrong. But they threatened to detract from the programme itself - you could see Con Murphy look slightly panicked at one point - "yes, Philip, that's great - but now we go to the Showgrounds..." They just don't suit the 'slick' presentation of the show. Analysis and comment aren't much more than soundbytes - comments from managers and players are cut to the bare minimum, for example. Quinn just doesn't suit the format. The reason Sadlier comes across so well in comparison, is because he gets straight to the point.

Actually, if they were to expand the Raiders sequence, and have him comment on the context of the clip in question, what happened that season, etc., I could see a place for Quinn on the show. Not sure about the panel though.

What is with the Liam Mackey love-in? I don't get it. Agree with Sheridan on this, he's trying way too hard to be irreverent. Maybe it's a Hot Press thing. Would rather have Richardson, Dave Barry, and even - God help us - Sean Connor. Not Roddy though.

I voted Sean Connor, he's actually not bad on it. Rico a close 2nd.

Colm Foley has come off very bad in this poll, and definitely doesn't deserve to have less votes that Roddy. Who in gods name is voting for Roddy?

Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    Who in gods name is voting for Roddy?
    Someone taking the ****. Surely the same has to be said for those who voted for Connors.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

49 Posts
    whats the love for sadlier and mackey ? find them hard to listen to.
    show needs a good host and a panel of

rico
    mcdonnell
    roddy - i know hes annoying

who writes the scripts aswell - the bit at the start when they try to be funny introducing the panel. and that stupid music for raiders of the lost arc segment. that whip noise is so annoying. still love watching eircom league though

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    Mackey would be my favourite, Dave barry is quite good too, why is he not in the list.
    ah please!!!!!!!!!!!

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cheifo View Post
    Agree about Sadlier.His article in the SI is excellant and he did'nt flinch when Roy threw a tantrum.I enjoyed Phillip Quinn when he was on.Came across like somebody who enjoys the good craic in football.
    Yeah his articles in the Indo are very good, but i still cant get the fact that he supported Stan right upto the end out of my head, and then did a hatchet job on hin just before he got the boot.