Thread: Sligo V. GUFC (League Cup)

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    That's fighting spirit?

I take it you weren't there tonight? Both sides were very poor, and if I were ye I'd be worried if that's "fighting spirit".

9 games in the league without a win too isn't it?

Fair play to the fans who did travel though, didn't make noise, but fair journey for a Tuesday night LC game.
    Like the Murphy's you're not bitter.

ffs would you ever get over yourself. People are entitled to be a little bit happy to see their team not concede goals after such a terrible start to the season and keeping clean sheets away from home does require some sort of team spirit no matter how poor the standard of football is
    Last edited by Maroon 7; 06/05/2008 at 10:25 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Maroon 7 View Post
    Like the Murphy's you're not bitter.
    Just stating facts

Fact : We won, you lost !

If we are stating facts........ the only facts of any importance are
    1. we are in the 1/4 Final
    2. Shligo are out of the League Cup
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

Beat me to it Pa!
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

TBH, it was a v poor game, was like a pre season friendly. We probably didnt take it seriously enough, thinking you would be a pushover, but your defence was well organised and Wes headed everything that came near him.
    But as you say, your in the next round, not us

Does anyone have the teams?

here goes my best guess
    galway had rogers regi wes fitzgerald mcculloch oshea deegan lester(i think or russell)obrien leech and fenn?
    used subs were faherty glynn and not sure who
    rovers had brush coleman mckenzie almeida butler raf murphy ventre cash faz and boco
    used subs were judge ogrady and foy

good defensive performance from galway - the hungrier but not the better team.
    best of luck in the next round

Sligo Rovers: Brush, Coleman, Butler, MacKenzie, Almeida, Murphy (O'Grady 89), Cash (Foy 78), Ventre, Cretaro, Kudozovic, Boco (Judge 27).
    Subs not used: Jennings, Curran.

Galway United: Rogers, Nooitmeer, McCulloch, Charles, Fitzgerald, O'Shea, Deegan, Russell (Fenn HT), O'Brien, Leech (Faherty 72), O'Flynn (Glynn 107).

64 Posts
    Well organised in defence. Wes had great game. Fitting Deegan got the decisive peno as he really came into the game, ok Russell and more importantly Sligo's Murphy had gone off. Stevo lead the line well and the other strikers gave there all. Fenn missed a great chance with header in second half, but like the rest battled hard. Same commitment needed for Friday and two clean sheets must add to confidence. still hope there.

If Galway are to play like that every week crowds will plummet. What the **** is Kenna at?
    Ye created 1 decent chance on goal all night, never venturing out of your own half.

People should ignore the Sligo muppets.

The game wasn't an entertaining one but UTD's effort was 10 times that of the last time we were in the showgrounds.Rogers was excellent as was Russell.Stevo held the ball up well throughout.
    Only 2 non-performers were Deegan and Leech who were very poor.Deegan did improve gradually though and scored the winning penalty!

30 or so there from Galway.Always enjoyable winning on penalties.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

this is a great boost for kenna and the team - hopefully the confidence will be high and united can create more and take some of the chances they are well capable of making

beating sligo on penalties is a huge turn around compared to 3-0 albeit with slightly different teams

slight chinks of hope are appearing...

was russler injured when subbed or was it tactical?
    more water!

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    If Galway are to play like that every week crowds will plummet. What the **** is Kenna at?
    Ye created 1 decent chance on goal all night, never venturing out of your own half.
    Probably fulfilling the promise he made on taking up the post..........."my priority is to stop leaking goals". Most Sligo 'fans' are bitter but that is understandable. Now go away and sort out your own problems.
    If YOU are not part of the solution,
    YOU ARE part of the problem

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    Fair play to the fans who did travel though, didn't make noise, but fair journey for a Tuesday night LC game.
    There were 3 of us beside the press box and we made as much noise as we could.

Great craic annoying the yokels... sorry, locals

Great photo of Wes from the game here:

http://www.jonathanhill.ie/photo/gen/800/001-016269.jpg

great pic alright!
    more water!

Quote Originally Posted by exiled_gufc_fan View Post
    Great photo of Wes from the game here:

http://www.jonathanhill.ie/photo/gen/800/001-016269.jpg
    Are you sure that was the other night?He was wearing different boots in the 1st half

Some more photos of the other night http://gallery.framelight.ie/viewpic...tureid=6390970
    RIP JOHNNY

Hes wearing the same ones in Pic 81 of your photos.