Thread: Sligo V. GUFC (League Cup)

37 Posts

Sligo V. GUFC (League Cup)

United travel to Sligo tonight in the League Cup. I wonder if JK will put out a weakened team ahead of the Harps game on Friday.

I hope not. We are a professional football club. What is the point of spending
    E30,000 a week if we have no interest in winning trophies ?

Paul Cook will be fielding a strong team, as per todays Star - "The best way
    to achieve recognition is by winning trophies, and thats what the players, the club and I want to do in the League Cup".

Not a hope in hell we are going to put out our first 11, it would be an idea maybe for both sets of fans to help each other out with some team news to see if we can cover ahem expenses for ourselves.

288 Posts
    www.galwayunitedfc.net will provide a live text match updates.

They can be found here.

http://www.galwayunitedfc.net/matchday.php

Agree with Rovers Maniac we will field a strong team but not our starting 11 maybe Pat Jennings in goals for us would be a change anyways
    Coleman for Ireland

46 Posts
    nil all after et so its now down to pens

come on utd

37 Posts
    United won 6 - 5 on pens.
    Well done JK.

5-6 Penos to Galway According to Xscores!!
    Fr. J

Nice one.

The lads will be a bit tired for friday but who cares,quarter final of the league cup and hopefully home draw vrs Drogs or someone.
    When is the draw?

Good stuff. Two clean sheets in a row away to Derry and Sligo. That's a definite improvement on what went before. Have to make ourselves difficult to beat at the very least if we are going to survive.

Hopefully can get a win now on Friday.

Is the draw not already made? Brandywell in the next round I thought
    "I'd rather have a full bottle in front of me than a full frontal labotomy."
    Fred Allen.

Our players, and the supporters who travelled to the Showgrounds, are a
    credit to Galway United Football Club.

The fighting spirit that we have lost for years seems to be returning.

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Square Heir View Post
    Is the draw not already made? Brandywell in the next round I thought
    No draw made yet according to the bottom line of this.... http://www.eircomloi.ie/other-compet...ason/fixtures/

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    Our players, and the supporters who travelled to the Showgrounds, are a
    credit to Galway United Football Club.

The fighting spirit that we have lost for years seems to be returning.
    Fighting spirit?

Ye won an awful game that neither team deserved to win. Ye were poor and we were poor, don't see how that's fighting spirit?

Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    No draw made yet according to the bottom line of this.... http://www.eircomloi.ie/other-compet...ason/fixtures/
    You're right.
    "The winner of this match (Longford) will take on Sligo Rovers in the second round which is due to take place on May 5th / 6th. The winners of the Second Round fixtures will be entered into an open draw for the eircom League of Ireland Cup Quarter Finals"
    "I'd rather have a full bottle in front of me than a full frontal labotomy."
    Fred Allen.

Tough next round anyway, pick of the teams would be Bray, UCD or Wexford. The you have the likes of Drogs, Bohs, Derry or Cork!!

Would'nt be disappointed as long as we get home advantage!!
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

210 minutes away from home without conceding a goal, from the
    team with the previous worst defensive record in the League, is
    fighting spirit.

Well done United.

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gilberto_eire View Post

Would'nt be disappointed as long as we get home advantage!!
    We hace been pi$$ poor at home all season. We have had three draws on the road (well, 2 plus we won a game on pens ).

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    210 minutes away from home without conceding a goal, from the
    team with the previous worst defensive record in the League, is
    fighting spirit.

Well done United.
    That's fighting spirit?

I take it you weren't there tonight? Both sides were very poor, and if I were ye I'd be worried if that's "fighting spirit".

9 games in the league without a win too isn't it?

Fair play to the fans who did travel though, didn't make noise, but fair journey for a Tuesday night LC game.

I wasn't there, again, well done to those from Galway who travelled.
    Onwards and upwards !