Quote Originally Posted by life long red View Post
    no but your flag was
    It is not my flag.
    I have no connection with the flag.

And your post makes no sense what so ever.

Quote Originally Posted by Da Real Rover View Post
    How many shook my hand??
    Is that the basis for your argument??
    Thats really quite a pathetic effort.
    How many asked us to remove it?? Just the two members of the MC.
    Anyway the numbers involved either way are irrelevant, the primary focus of this argument is how the MC allows some political activisim but then forbids the rest, that is the central point.

As for my signature.
    3 members of this party died on Hunger Strike for freedom, show some respect!
    I think those three people you refer to were INLA not IRSP, but considering the IRSP were never organised in Sligo is your signature just rebel chic posturing

This is not very football lads although saying that i did change my sig.

A pic of the banner in the weekender above Rory H's piece.Well done Rory,nice few word about Forza Rovers
    RIP JOHNNY

Quote Originally Posted by deecay View Post
    A pic of the banner in the weekender above Rory H's piece.Well done Rory,nice few word about Forza Rovers
    the first poster i will address is clubman.you have stated you are a man of the club,totally unbiased and not on either side.yet you go on to call the person who erected the banner an 'idiot'.how unbiased of you clubman.you are a hypocrite just like the MC.

the issue is not the message of the banner,but the arrogant and innapropriate way in which it was handled. the person in question implied that i had ran onto the pitch in ballybofey, a game i didnt attend unfortunately. he then went on so argue that us 'fans' were absolutely worthless.he justified imelda henry's appearance in the showgrounds scoring political points because she had donated 2,500.he was saying that lifelong fans,who travel to support our team home and away all over the country are worth less than this political figure who has never stepped foot in the ground yet donated 2,500.so lads,who spend what money they can get together on tickets,merchandise,away buses at 20 quid a pop and who sing themselves hourse are worth less than a one off payment of 2,500.

rovers are a reflection of their community,not the other way around,and certainly not a reflection of a committee.i will not have a suit wearing man full of self-importance put a value on my committment and dedication on anything.

another point is the steward helping the man in question.his said in his demands to remove the flag and i quote ''we dont want a riot on our hands''...this is the mentality we are dealing with.we offered to discuss the banner with these men,they declined.i asked if we could at least tae a pic of it,they even declined this.the problem arose because of the 2 lads behaviour, otherwise it wouldnt be an issue.

another point is that many of our flags had political significance over the season and still do,yet they were allowed remain.i mean the tri-colour,starry plough,palestine,basque,communist etc are all left in tact,yet it seems the most inoffensive of them all was taken down.i find it no coincidence that the one banner removed may have upset our political patrons,devins,mcsharry and henry et al..

if there was a rule in place,i would not have put up the flag....if the club would get fined, i would not have put up the flag.but these things dont come into the equation.

one final point.many of the banners we have,all supporters,contain a picture of ernesto guevara.is this not a very political image?!! yet these are openly waved at games home and away.

to the poster who commented on da real rover and stalin and the irony.the party the poster is affiliated to is in no way stalinist.please educate yourself.and guess who's politics were based on staunch stalinist support...one ché guevara..theres your irony for you

Quote Originally Posted by Knappagh Red View Post
    I think those three people you refer to were INLA not IRSP, but considering the IRSP were never organised in Sligo is your signature just rebel chic posturing
    Do not lecture me on the history of the Irps.
    The were also members of the IRSP, Mickey Devine being one of the most prominent members of the IRSP in his day.
    What??
    I know they didnt originate in Sligo.
    But we have a RSYM Cumann here, and new Cumanns in Waterford and Cork.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    This is not very football lads although saying that i did change my sig.
    Would almost be funny if you were old enough to vote.

Quote Originally Posted by life long red View Post
    no but your flag was
    I find Imelda Henry on the Showgrounds pitch offensive??

Quote Originally Posted by Da Real Rover View Post
    I find Imelda Henry on the Showgrounds pitch offensive??
    Come on she is not ugly now http://www.finegael.ie/rep-images/ACF27DE.jpg

Would take much more offence to a male politician

All the issues above raised by redrebel and da real rover are hard to top so i'll not try. but at the same time i find it sad that the representatives of the club feel it is ok when they want, for the club not to be political but it can prostitute it's integrity to the highest bidder. Clubman do you view it as acceptable to have a stance on something I.E rovers are not political yet it is ok for the likes of jimmy devins and imelda henry to USE the club for their own gain simply because they have opened a cheque book? i know for a fact that i have spent more money on following and supporting sligo rovers than any contribution made by these two.

So why is it that the loyal fans are asked to shuffle in and out each week quickly and with the least hassle, but the MC would be quick to bend over backwards for any local politician or business man? The MC now it would seem believe they are greater than the "normal" fans. They have lost touch with the average supporter and it is a shame that this is perhaps irreversable as they now believe they are greater than the club they are supposed to represent. The issue for me is not the removal of the "controversial" flag, it is the behaviour of the MC member in question that could not argue against the logic he was faced with and the fact he felt it neccesary to,

1. lie to us and say that we as a club would receive a fine for the banner
    2. That he generalised each of our fans on the performance of two drunken fans at an away game, and decided he knew "what we fans were like"

To be honest this man is so high up on his pedestal i'm suprised he could make out the lettering of the banner. it is a shame that these men are on serious power trips and although i cannot question what these men have done for the club as i know they have put great time and effort in, but that does not give them immunity to critisism of their hypocrisy or give them the right to treat loyal fans as lower forms of existence.

Quote Originally Posted by celticV3 View Post
    All the issues above raised by redrebel and da real rover are hard to top so i'll not try. but at the same time i find it sad that the representatives of the club feel it is ok when they want, for the club not to be political but it can prostitute it's integrity to the highest bidder. Clubman do you view it as acceptable to have a stance on something I.E rovers are not political yet it is ok for the likes of jimmy devins and imelda henry to USE the club for their own gain simply because they have opened a cheque book? i know for a fact that i have spent more money on following and supporting sligo rovers than any contribution made by these two.

So why is it that the loyal fans are asked to shuffle in and out each week quickly and with the least hassle, but the MC would be quick to bend over backwards for any local politician or business man? The MC now it would seem believe they are greater than the "normal" fans. They have lost touch with the average supporter and it is a shame that this is perhaps irreversable as they now believe they are greater than the club they are supposed to represent. The issue for me is not the removal of the "controversial" flag, it is the behaviour of the MC member in question that could not argue against the logic he was faced with and the fact he felt it neccesary to,

1. lie to us and say that we as a club would receive a fine for the banner
    2. That he generalised each of our fans on the performance of two drunken fans at an away game, and decided he knew "what we fans were like"

To be honest this man is so high up on his pedestal i'm suprised he could make out the lettering of the banner. it is a shame that these men are on serious power trips and although i cannot question what these men have done for the club as i know they have put great time and effort in, but that does not give them immunity to critisism of their hypocrisy or give them the right to treat loyal fans as lower forms of existence.
    agreed celtic. good post

Shiba post 05/05/08 Post #7 :
    "What if someone put up a banner calling for Drum/Harney/ Devins to resign over the cancer fiascom what would their reaction be!"

I would imagine the club would also ask for such a banner to be taken down due to it being a personal attack and one the club would not want to be seen condoning in a similar way to removing the banner in this very instance.

Fortunately the people protesting for the retention of cancer services in Sligo, which I am one of those fighting for that retention, go about it in the correct and democratic manner of marches, discussion on radio, flyers, engaging all forms of press etc. to promote the campaign and keep it in the public eye. All of these avenues are also open to those who wish to promote a NO to Lisbon campaign.

Da Real Rover 05/05/089 Post #9 :
    "We know this banner has got nothing to do with the club itself"

That is exactly the point it was a political statement by YOU and the party YOU are a member of so they are fully entitled to take down such banners in the Clubs Grounds if they deem necessary.

Henry/McSharry/Devins being allowed on the pitch at the Showgrounds -

Henry/McSharry/Devins never displayed banners stating vote Yes/No to a Treaty Vote FF/FG etc. when donating money to the club.

The money donated/sponsored was used to sponsor club teams/costs etc and the money was not taken from Party funds but personal/business funds as can be seen from any published accounts of the politicians in question.

By the way those Lotto grants we get for developing the main stand, all weather pitch etc., guess who has a say where the Lottery monies go and who gets what...........yes its politicians, should we decline all Lottery grants in future because of that?? I don’t think so.

Da real Rover05/05/08 Post # 12

Directed at Clubman "You have some ****ing cheek"

The resorting to foul and abusive language like some bully in the playground does nothing for you, your party or your campaign. (Redrebel32 initial post on Forza that was posted on Foot.ie by Da Real Rover on 04/05/08 also contains choice language)

I don’t know Clubman from Adam but having read his posts here over the last while he has always been civil and friendly to a fault in giving his opinion whether he is agreeing or disagreeing with an opinion expressed.

Shame on you lads for the language you resorted to, it always shows a lack of intellect.

Da Real Rover 06/05/08 Post #19 :

You commented that people shook your hand for putting the banner up that is why I asked how many shook your hand as we know from other posts that several Shams fans took offence to the banner.

Given the level of support for IRSP in Sligo and the Rep Of Ireland as a whole out of the attendance at the match the other night your party supporters could not have numbered even double digits within the confines of the ground.

Yet you saw it fit to display a banner of YOUR opinion at an independant football clubs ground – a club who has no political affiliation, in order to aid your campaign.

It was nothing more than a cheap shot and desperate act.

It may shock you to know that you are not the only form of information to the Public....hey we have TV's, Newspapers, Radio, the Internet and plenty of other media outlets where we can source info on what the treaty is about, the positives, the negatives why we should Vote Yes or No etc.

Putting up a banner saying 'Vote No to Lisbon' is not providing people with a very informed basis of decision making.

As regards your comment "3 members of this party died on Hunger Strike for freedom, show some respect"

As Knappagh Red stated they were first and foremost INLA members.

In any case I find it crass and irresponsible of you that you are trying to use such a situation to try and justify your actions.

Da Real Rover 05/05/2008 Post # 12

"the Satlinist regime that imposes their will on loyal fans."
    and Subsequently RedRebel32 on the 06/05/08 Post #25

The irony of a Socialist supporter calling the Rovers MC some type of "Stalinist regime that imposes their will on loyal fans" is (a) Socialism and Communism are both left wing ideals (the left advances Socialism / Communism whilst the right advances Capatlism/Democracy).

As regards the comment from RedRebel32 to "educate yourself", you dont know anything about me, however just to let you know I do have two degrees and several professional qualifications so I feel that I am educated enough to engage in this debate -thank you for your encouragement of education nonetheless.

Just because I do not agree with your beliefs does not make me inferior - is equality of the people not one of Socialism's primary beliefs??!!

Here is a parting irony for you DaRealRover and RedRebel 32.

I will be voting 'NO' for the Lisbon Treaty but thats because I have read up on the Treaty and I am familiar with the issues and matters of debate - NOT because somebody tried to put a banner up at the Showgrounds stating
    'No to Lison'.

Thank You and Good Night.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    It just does (This is Fact)
    Any chance you're related to Rocketfingers?

Quote Originally Posted by redtildead View Post
    Any chance you're related to Rocketfingers?
    Sorry? I don't think so to be honest.

Quote Originally Posted by Guts&Glory View Post
    Shiba post 05/05/08 Post #7 :
    "What if someone put up a banner calling for Drum/Harney/ Devins to resign over the cancer fiascom what would their reaction be!"

I would imagine the club would also ask for such a banner to be taken down due to it being a personal attack and one the club would not want to be seen condoning in a similar way to removing the banner in this very instance.

Fortunately the people protesting for the retention of cancer services in Sligo, which I am one of those fighting for that retention, go about it in the correct and democratic manner of marches, discussion on radio, flyers, engaging all forms of press etc. to promote the campaign and keep it in the public eye. All of these avenues are also open to those who wish to promote a NO to Lisbon campaign.

Da Real Rover 05/05/089 Post #9 :
    "We know this banner has got nothing to do with the club itself"

That is exactly the point it was a political statement by YOU and the party YOU are a member of so they are fully entitled to take down such banners in the Clubs Grounds if they deem necessary.

Henry/McSharry/Devins being allowed on the pitch at the Showgrounds -

Henry/McSharry/Devins never displayed banners stating vote Yes/No to a Treaty Vote FF/FG etc. when donating money to the club.

The money donated/sponsored was used to sponsor club teams/costs etc and the money was not taken from Party funds but personal/business funds as can be seen from any published accounts of the politicians in question.

By the way those Lotto grants we get for developing the main stand, all weather pitch etc., guess who has a say where the Lottery monies go and who gets what...........yes its politicians, should we decline all Lottery grants in future because of that?? I don’t think so.

Da real Rover05/05/08 Post # 12

Directed at Clubman "You have some ****ing cheek"

The resorting to foul and abusive language like some bully in the playground does nothing for you, your party or your campaign. (Redrebel32 initial post on Forza that was posted on Foot.ie by Da Real Rover on 04/05/08 also contains choice language)

I don’t know Clubman from Adam but having read his posts here over the last while he has always been civil and friendly to a fault in giving his opinion whether he is agreeing or disagreeing with an opinion expressed.

Shame on you lads for the language you resorted to, it always shows a lack of intellect.

Da Real Rover 06/05/08 Post #19 :

You commented that people shook your hand for putting the banner up that is why I asked how many shook your hand as we know from other posts that several Shams fans took offence to the banner.

Given the level of support for IRSP in Sligo and the Rep Of Ireland as a whole out of the attendance at the match the other night your party supporters could not have numbered even double digits within the confines of the ground.

Yet you saw it fit to display a banner of YOUR opinion at an independant football clubs ground – a club who has no political affiliation, in order to aid your campaign.

It was nothing more than a cheap shot and desperate act.

It may shock you to know that you are not the only form of information to the Public....hey we have TV's, Newspapers, Radio, the Internet and plenty of other media outlets where we can source info on what the treaty is about, the positives, the negatives why we should Vote Yes or No etc.

Putting up a banner saying 'Vote No to Lisbon' is not providing people with a very informed basis of decision making.

As regards your comment "3 members of this party died on Hunger Strike for freedom, show some respect"

As Knappagh Red stated they were first and foremost INLA members.

In any case I find it crass and irresponsible of you that you are trying to use such a situation to try and justify your actions.

Da Real Rover 05/05/2008 Post # 12

"the Satlinist regime that imposes their will on loyal fans."
    and Subsequently RedRebel32 on the 06/05/08 Post #25

The irony of a Socialist supporter calling the Rovers MC some type of "Stalinist regime that imposes their will on loyal fans" is (a) Socialism and Communism are both left wing ideals (the left advances Socialism / Communism whilst the right advances Capatlism/Democracy).

As regards the comment from RedRebel32 to "educate yourself", you dont know anything about me, however just to let you know I do have two degrees and several professional qualifications so I feel that I am educated enough to engage in this debate -thank you for your encouragement of education nonetheless.

Just because I do not agree with your beliefs does not make me inferior - is equality of the people not one of Socialism's primary beliefs??!!

Here is a parting irony for you DaRealRover and RedRebel 32.

I will be voting 'NO' for the Lisbon Treaty but thats because I have read up on the Treaty and I am familiar with the issues and matters of debate - NOT because somebody tried to put a banner up at the Showgrounds stating
    'No to Lison'.

Thank You and Good Night.
    stalin has nothing to do with irsp,and it was not my intention to have a political debate on any football board.i simply am saying how hypocritical the board are.like it or not,politicians appearing in the programme or on the pitch is endorsing the party they are involved in and givingthem a forum.plus we have many,many political flags owned by numerous rovers supporters,many i dont even know.do you not see this hypocritical and unfair??that is the issue here,not anyones politics.fair play to you on the treaty and im glad your not just an anti-government voter in how you came to your conclusion.

but enough of the politics and personal attacks, they are do no0one any good and add no credibility to either argument.i am just saying,the MC allows political emblems and people in the stadium,endorsing their beliefs.but yet took exception to one, its not consistent.plus the stweards didnt say anything about shams fans or anything, they suggested they were removing it on personal opinion that the club would be fined.hypocrisy and lies do not appeal to me, especially from gentlemen who are officials at my club

Red rebel32 Maybe you try to get on the MC next AGM

Thumbs down

I use to post regular on this forum and of late haven’t, it’s the same sh1te all over again, I am no fan of the committee but the reality is that no one else will do epically the **1**s who give out most about them! 6 of 1, 2 3’s of the other, of late this has turned in to a bitching forum with fnck all constructive debate and few serious topics been addressed, the fact that Saturdays result is overshadowed in any way by a spunk stained bed sheet is sad. lads cop on were all on the same side, this is a footy forum not a yes/no campaign drive for the Lisbon treaty or a bitching gallery. Pay your money in, support your club in the best way you can clap your hands or bang your balls together, who gives a fnck, choose to do a bit extra if you wish, you’ll get fnck all praise and loads of criticism.

Stick to the footy and stop the whinging, bitching, moaning, crying, cribbing, canvassing, criticizing, whatever the fnck.

Have to say I agree . . . except for the bit about banging my knackers together.

The reason we come to this forum in the first place is because we're Sligo Rovers supporters, and I enjoy seeing people's opinions on players and tactics, rumours etc. There's any amount of forums for other stuff.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

There is one or two decent members who do an awful amount of work that the stupid old fella's wont do.I think most of ye know one of them,puting great life into the club
    RIP JOHNNY

Just because I do not agree with your beliefs does not make me inferior
    Exactly our point in regards to the MC member that talked to us as inferior because we were not in suits and sitting down eating the prawn sandwiches they would prefer.

This issue is not political in anyway. We are not looking to debate about the banner itself or anything behind it just the constant lying to fans from the MC and i think it can be found in redrebels, redrev's and my own post that we are trying to highlight the hypocrisy of the MC's pick and choose system which revolves around money. We are merely trying to raise the point that because we are "average fans" that we were told to remove the banner, and i do not find it too big of an assumption that prior and maybe even after this banner if any of the local politicians wanted to canvass a yes or no vote on the upcoming referendum within the showgrounds then all they would need is an open cheque book.

The issue is not as i said political, politics is just the example being used in this instance to highlight rovers hypocrisy and although some maybe happy to just "Pay our money in" i would personally prefer to raise issues about how the men who run our club choose to let special priviledges go to those with the money and subject the die hards and regulars as simply customers.