Thread: Rovers 3-2 Shams

Rovers 3-2 Shams

great crowd.chris buttler man of the match saved 2 shots of the line.cash,almada,boco all scored.shams player got sent off in the last couple of minutes for hitting Alan Moore because he wouldn't give him the ball.match report from the web site;http://www.sligorovers.com/content/view/531/1/
    Last edited by forza rovers; 03/05/2008 at 9:34 PM.

Great result but can't believe we came so close to throwing it away in the end, I'm sure Cook won't be happy with that. We were so comfortable throughout and the game should have just been over before Shams had chance to come back. Still, another 3 points is huge, Mauro on the scoresheet again and great crowd there. Set's us up nicely for Cork. Hopefully no injuries picked up on Tuesday.

Great goal by Cash too!

great result - 3 points and thats all that matters. abit dissappointed how we finished the game. Boco is pure quality - great touch and goal.
    nice crowd aswell
    if only the halftime entertainment was like this every week

151 Posts
    Best back five we've had for a long time - it would have been a scandal if we had not held out. Should point out for anyone reading who was not there that the game was played in a gale. We had it in the first half and scored twice.. They had it in the second half and scored twice. Difference was, we had Boco and a great back five.

brushie is a class act
    by the way did anyone see jennings doing his warm-up

Phew !!!!!!!!!!! I never thought I would ever feel a little disappointed after beating Shams but it would have been a sickner if we hadn't won this game. I only feel disappointed because we looked like keeping another clean sheet, but fair play to Shams they threw a lot of men forward.

There are some cracking goals for MNS, from both sides. Terrific to see a big crowd. It has often being the case where we get a big crowd but no entertainment - not so tonight.

I thought Anto done really well in the middle of the park. The defence were superb for most of the night. Butler deserved the MOTM. Great to see Boco score that type of goal - this should give him confidence for future games.
    "Overwhelmed"

great win...was sure we'd thrown it away at the end. Shams werent themselves this evening, think we got them at a good time. Bring on Cork!

Great to see Mc Cloat squareing up to a teenager on the railway end when he protested about a 'No to Lisbon' banner being taken down and Burke ripping it down.Sligo Rovers are non politcal but if you have enough money(Imelda Henry on the pitch at a game at h/t last season) you can be as politcal as you want.Burke said we would get fined for it,which is a lie.McCloat tryed to make a joke of us for donating €600 to the club,this man is as bad as it gets.

Great crowd,Shams still brings huge numbers out.Great result,Brush and Almeida were fantastic,Peers and Raf at a consistant high standard,Anto did great in the middle,Seamie was quite
    Last edited by deecay; 03/05/2008 at 11:59 PM.
    RIP JOHNNY

Why was McKenzie brought on with Moore on the bench with experience in midfield? Peers and Almedia won everything in the air at the back, Brush made a few GREAT saves. BUT WHY ARE WE STILL PLAYING THE LONG BALL TO FAZ who wont jump for a header!!!!!!!!!!!

Lucky to get away with a win in the end, I bet Scully will harp on about their last minute effort that was cleared off the line and maybe about the worst pitch in the premier league...........

3 points!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    Shams werent themselves this evening, think we got them at a good time.
    Oh we were!

I refuse to believe that last header could possibly have stayed out, but any Rovers fan at the game would be hard pushed to say we remotely deserved the draw.

The second goal was just a long throw, ffs
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    Oh we were!

I refuse to believe that last header could possibly have stayed out, but any Rovers fan at the game would be hard pushed to say we remotely deserved the draw.

Poor wee Shams

Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    Oh we were!

What’s going on at Shams?

There not playing the type of football the club is synonymous with.
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

Brillant game good crowd and plenty of action.Scully will be moaning as usual no doubt But Fuk him we got the result required.I just hope our lads have takn a lesson from this one.After going 3 up we got complacant and almost paid the price! That lineman owed us one after Harps last week and I think he repaid it in a big way imo. Shams didnt deserve anything out of this game but almost did cos they didnt give up we did we thought it was all over! A lesson learned I hope!
    Till d End!

Great win,great crowd,great atmosphere. But we went bloody close to feckin it up. The first goal we went to sleep,free header. For the 2nd goal seamie was the only putting a bit of pressure on. Then we panicked. You could see a few of the players were sh1tting it when they got the corner at the end. Its bad for the goal difference and its always nice to beat our rivaks by as much as we can but the lads will learn from that,especially as they are such a young squad. I'd say cookie will be happy with the 3 points. As someone said long ball up to faz doesn't work. Its not that he isn't trying its just not his type of game.
    Anybody know why the shams player got sent off and did someone throw a bottle at him?

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    You could see a few of the players were sh1tting it when they got the corner at the end.
    That should do the pitch no harm anyway.

Formerly: wild rover
    It's looking very good at the moment. early days but we looked a much better team than Shamrock Rovers. I think we can compete with Derry too so maybe 5th wouldn't be out of the question. As for looking above that....very difficult . Great test this week with having 3 games in 6 days and finishing if off in Cork.

Showgies was buzzing last night, wish it was like that every week with that size crowd.

Great work from Keith O Dwyer again,alot of people there because of him and the h/t entertainment went well,there was an huge amount of kids and it all ran smoothly
    RIP JOHNNY

151 Posts
    Anybody know why the shams player got sent off and did someone throw a bottle at him?[/QUOTE]

Ball went out for a throw was thrown back and Alan Moore, who was warming up, headed it back into the crowd (as one does). Good man, Alan. Shams guy hit him a slap and he went down dead. Off.
    Empty plastic bottle thrown in direction of Shams player which, if it had hit him, would have resulted in 'fatal' injury and another fine for the club.

Quote Originally Posted by avvenalaf View Post
    Empty plastic bottle thrown in direction of Shams player which, if it had hit him, would have resulted in 'fatal' injury and another fine for the club.
    It was probley thrown from the singing section,they are a disgracefull bunch
    RIP JOHNNY

Would have been some throw to get it across Scullys head deecay. maybe it's because Scully thinks our pitch is so poor that shams kept it up in the air. it was like playing Dublin City again. Great to see a decent crowd.