Thread: Trust Activities

Trust Activities

Hi lads. Just a quick update on events and goings on in the trust.
    At the moment we are in the process of constructing a new website in conjunction with a local web development company. The website will be sponsored by Quayside Shopping centre so a big thanks to Anthony Murray and Seamus O'Dowd for their continued support to Rover fans. We are confident when finished the site will be among the best fans websites in the country.
    Last evening the trust assisted Athlone with the launch of their supporters trust "Athlone Town Independent Supporters Trust. This is the third Trust we have assisted with along with Derry and Dundalk. There is further also interest from Cork, Limerick and Bray in establishing a supporters Trust.
    Noel Mooney was unable to attend the ATIST last evening but I spoke with him on the phone before it and he again stated the FAI is 100% behind the trust concept. There are plans in the pipeline to hold a gathering of all LOI supporters Trusts (and clubs that have not yet formed one but would like too) and also Irish League trusts. This will be attended by representatives from Supporters Direct .The FAI have offered any facilities we will require in Abbottstown and if need be assist with any costs incurred in bringing in guest speakers. So that’s where the state of supporters trust is at present in Ireland.

Back to the Bit O'Red Supporters Trust activities. So far this season thanks to all our members, sponsors and fans who have donated to us we were able to assist the club financially with
    Player Sponsorship - BORST sponsored Boca €600
    Player Accommodation - Players accommodation while on trial €1,200
    Players Pre match Meal - Before the Pats game €360
    Sponsored Texas Poker posters - €300

Apart from the financial assistance directly to the club we sponsored 2 tables for the 1977 wining function (€1000) and also the Vincent Nally fundraiser last season (€2000).

Accounts have been submitted to the auditors and these figures will all be presented at the AGM.

So apart from the financial assistance B.O.R.S.T has also assisted with ongoing works in the showgrounds.Lads spent many a Saturday painting, cleaning, working on the pitch (main one and extending the training pitch) generally whatever they were asked to do with the ground. Credit to Jeffery Rainey for organinisng this.

On match away match nights trust members Colin and David organise the buses for travelling fans. As well as the soccer friendlies between fellow trusts.

Finally the trust is part of the promotions side of the club. Keith has accepted an offer from us to basically form sort of a promotions committee which we try and help any way we can to promote matches. Every week before a home game we try and get as many posters as we are given up across the town and on entries to the town on roundabouts etc. We are looking into getting 10-15 very large signs made up for major routes into town so advertise the games.
    So just filling ye in (if interested) as we have not yet the website up and running but when we do we will keep all informed.

30 Posts
    On behalf of iSTAT, Independent Supporters Trust of Athlone Town, I would just
    like to thank Alan and the B.O.R.S.T. for all their assistance and support as we
    try to get our Trust up and running.

Having also spoken to G.U.S.T. we are confident that we can follow the great
    example set by the already established Trusts.

Fair play Alan to you,the Trust and all the volunteers.

The club would have been stuck a few times had ye not the money raised for the donations you outlined.

Keep up the good work.

Mean to to say anyone interested in joining the trust or even getting a group of lads in their area or street or who they play footie with and want to organise something that will benefirt the club feel free to contact me or any of teh lads and we will try our best to hlep.
    the trust meets every Wednesday in the glasshouse from 7-8(meeting are no longer than 60mins) and all are welcome.

Forgot yo mention we are organisinga BBQ for Rovers fans in August and a Race night sometime in June, but will let you know details as we get closer to these events.