Thread: Stewarding in LOI

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce View Post
    They were busy on Saturday, I arrived late and there had already been two Dundalk fans standing outside the ground after been evicted. But I was pleased with the relaxed view by security at the bar, where both sets of fans sang songs at one another with drinkers passing through them to get in and out of the bar.
    Yep, I didnt see the incident that lead to the 2 lads being turfed out, but from
    talking to the Dundalk lads in the bar they said that had they got them first
    they'd have thrown them out themselves.

Apart from that there was no bother from either sets of fans. Segregated for
    the game but all mingled and chatted away at half and full time. Bit of singing
    and a bit of banter.

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red View Post
    Cork, Derry, and Shels (the paid ones) are the worst I've seen.
    The Derry ones are a pile of balls. I remember last year when we got shafted by the Corkies there was some really heated stuff going on right in front of the stewards and **** all was done.

Ye can sorta understand it though. Imagine a couple of hundred fans turned nasty. The stewards would have no chance.
    DCFC

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    Yep, I didnt see the incident that lead to the 2 lads being turfed out, but from
    talking to the Dundalk lads in the bar they said that had they got them first
    they'd have thrown them out themselves.

Apart from that there was no bother from either sets of fans. Segregated for
    the game but all mingled and chatted away at half and full time. Bit of singing
    and a bit of banter.

Just want to say the problems weren't just with those Dundalk fans as we had a few turfed out or refused entry as well

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Quote Originally Posted by pól-dcfc View Post
    The Derry ones are a pile of balls. I remember last year when we got shafted by the Corkies there was some really heated stuff going on right in front of the stewards and **** all was done.

Ye can sorta understand it though. Imagine a couple of hundred fans turned nasty. The stewards would have no chance.
    Yup the derry ones are a bit of a joke, a bit slow on the feet

the cork stewards were assh0les to us last season but this year they were bang on. so far the galway stewards have been the worst by a country mile, they took airhorns off us (the blow in ones not gas) kicked 2 fans out (ok they were drunk!! but still come on) threaten to take our drums off us as they were too loud, let the knacker kids open the big gate to let their friends in for nothing and in general complete tools.

rovers had no stewards near us when in tolka and the bohs ones were grand and very helpful when they were asked to do something.

imo ours are crap aswell.
    Last edited by dublinwanderer; 29/04/2008 at 5:13 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by dublinwanderer View Post
    the cork stewards were assh0les to us last season but this year they were bang on. so far the galway stewards have been the worst by a country mile, they took airhorns off us (the blow in ones not gas) kicked 2 fans out (ok they were drunk!! but still come on) threaten to take our drums off us as they were too loud, let the knacker kids open the big gate to let their friends in for nothing and in general complete tools.

As much as I hate those things, that's shocking.
    Who Cares?!

Personally I taught the Derry security was class,big,huge,shaved heads and mean faces,what else do ya need?

Harps was a joke,we had over 400 fans on Friday,no bag searchs.Two stewards(or stewerts as a few on the Harps forum call them) that did nothing,flares and smoke canisters were openly being passed around and once I seen a steward look directly at this happening and just looked away. 40+ bog/till rolls got in aswell
    RIP JOHNNY

we had about ten stewards to four ucd fans on friday, feckin students dont know what theyll do next, feckin tax dodgers
    We control by attitudes positive mental attitudes not by rules.

250 odd people at Turners X last night and a steward tried moving about a half dozen of us from the St.Annes end...

To be fair to the poor guy he explained that he didn't really care and that his orders were coming from above and when we told him that we were happy where we were he left us to it.

Quote Originally Posted by dublinwanderer View Post
    the cork stewards were assh0les to us last season but this year they were bang on. .

New company. Slight improvement but not much

64 Posts
    the professional stewards at galway last week were consficating water bottles (plastic) at the gate. really a joke. hope stewarding doesn't become as bad as the standard of referring, in what used to be called the old chicken league (kentucky & pat grace)

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    Ours are shocking...and their 'professionals'
    A Polish lad came over to us in the St. Annes last night and asked us to move to the designated away fan section

Our stewards are volunteers. We have about twenty of them.

Generally no problems in the First Division with the exception of Fingal who are a joke

Fans or stewards?
    RIP JOHNNY

Quote Originally Posted by deecay View Post
    Fans or stewards?
    Stewards.

I can only assume they were sent over to Galatasaray to train