Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: LTFC vs ATFC

Talking to some one this morning its 3 or 4 lads mainly who are about 14-15. They have caused trouble before on buses so apparently they are well known. How to get rid of them is the next problem
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

84 Posts
    Enjoy watching the highlights of what is hopefully your last victory against us this season by going to www.athlonetowntv.com

I am also sending Davorens miss into Soccer AM and any other joke show I can think of

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

47 Posts
    Thanks Battery Rover. Any pictures from it anywhere, raydonlon doesnt have any on his site from it.
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

84 Posts
    One of the lads from Athlone was there taking photos but after that performance he might bin them like I am thinking of doing with the full match footage.

Quote Originally Posted by Maz View Post
    Talking to some one this morning its 3 or 4 lads mainly who are about 14-15. They have caused trouble before on buses so apparently they are well known. How to get rid of them is the next problem
    Not let them in the ground to start with, even for a couple of games as a shot across the bows. Sorry, on reflection that's a nonsense suggestion as it would involve the club and stewards doing some policing of the ground rather than blaming innocent people for the actions of others.

Oh they shouldnt be let in at all but problem is they are getting in so someone somewhere isnt doing their jobs. Ridiculous goings on though, anyone worth their salt knows there has never been trouble before so targeting "original" section O members is outrageous

Quote Originally Posted by Maz View Post
    Oh they shouldnt be let in at all but problem is they are getting in so someone somewhere isnt doing their jobs.
    And then they're being let get up to what they want during and after the match. I mean the stewards by section O watched them head out, some with hoods up and scarves over their faces ffs to go and square up to their Athlone equivalents and didn't even follow them, let alone stop them. Totally bottled out of doing what they are there for.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    And then they're being let get up to what they want during and after the match. I mean the stewards by section O watched them head out, some with hoods up and scarves over their faces ffs to go and square up to their Athlone equivalents and didn't even follow them, let alone stop them. Totally bottled out of doing what they are there for.
    How do you go about changing this? Who do you go to? Has to be some of them that can force change.

137 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    One of the lads from Athlone was there taking photos but after that performance he might bin them like I am thinking of doing with the full match footage.
    First shot I got was of the Longford players celebrating, my heart just wasn't in it after that.

Needless to say, I promptly deleted the celebrating pics.
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

112 Posts
    We just got to sort out the bad eggs from the good eggs. But it's not that easy. What these young scuts are doing puts a bad name on us. The stewards are just tarring all of us with the same brush, and I reckon we should clear our name somehow by writing to the club or doing an article for the programme, something like that..
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

1,104 Posts
    Bad form to be having a go at ye Marty and Pauro. It's obvious enough who the troublemakers are and the stewards should be removing them or as Macy says don't let them in. I heard that there was three or four bottles of spirits taken off a couple of those lads as well at the match which is getting them tanked up. Now fair enough plenty of us have had a bit of drink at games over the years but if it causes trouble due to lads not being able to handle it then the stewards should be removing them. I'd suggest writing to the secretary or speaking to him specifically to air your views lads, those of ye that were personally challenged. It was out of order and ye have a right to reply.

112 Posts
    Agreed, the stewards should be working with us, not having a go at us. Fair play to Massop and the other lad Paddy too for not backing down and having their say. We're being treated like scum by the stewards, they're a disgrace to this club.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Bad form to be having a go at ye Marty and Pauro. It's obvious enough who the troublemakers are and the stewards should be removing them or as Macy says don't let them in. I heard that there was three or four bottles of spirits taken off a couple of those lads as well at the match which is getting them tanked up. Now fair enough plenty of us have had a bit of drink at games over the years but if it causes trouble due to lads not being able to handle it then the stewards should be removing them. I'd suggest writing to the secretary or speaking to him specifically to air your views lads, those of ye that were personally challenged. It was out of order and ye have a right to reply.
    Why not contact the club and ask who was the event supervisor ( can't remember proper title ) or chief steward. They are in charge of these guys and should answer any questions put by those at the game.

Although i do not agree that Section O should be responsible for this i do think the older ones should point out this scum to the stewards and if nothing is down then report them. A few photos of this might also help.
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

47 Posts
    Just to throw a sideways comment in there lads. We had Longford and Athlone down on successive weeks recently and both were great visitors to have at Ferrycarrig Park. Not an ounce of bother and everyone mingling together. We'll have yez all drinking wine yet
    Why is it that a couple of gobshi*es always appear to 'represent' a club?

Angry

[. Yous are the lads that wanted everyone over to section o surely you gotta start takin responsibility for what goes on over there. This should have been cut out a long time ago but hasn't and it is now giving us a bad name. Some has to cut it out and its gonna have to come from the founding members.

thats what I have done tallonted I have gone to the flansiro bebosite and gave out like f**k to them and told them never to return to section o.. Im sick of it to be honest if I see them in section o again I will run them out of there personally speakin..

I have wrote two letters of complaint to the local press regarding this matter.. I couldnt be bothered sending a letter of complaint to the club as I know quite well that nothin will be acted upon there too much of a cosy circle.. imo the most effective tool is by embarassing them in the local media teach them a bit of manners .. nobody embarasses me in front of me and my friends..

the silence amongst the younger section o members says it all really.. Im sure cabs and rosco arent too happy either...

Quote Originally Posted by max power View Post
    Why not contact the club and ask who was the event supervisor ( can't remember proper title ) or chief steward. They are in charge of these guys and should answer any questions put by those at the game.

Although i do not agree that Section O should be responsible for this i do think the older ones should point out this scum to the stewards and if nothing is down then report them. A few photos of this might also help.
    in fairness to the event supervisor at least he would listen to us unlike certain bullies of stewards.. I would gladly point the people involved and so would rosco and massop 10 as I would play football with some of them( and by the way that will be the last time as i dont want to be associated with scholigans)

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oldyouth View Post
    Just to throw a sideways comment in there lads.
    We had Longford and Athlone down on successive weeks recently and both
    were great visitors to have at Ferrycarrig Park. Not an ounce of bother and
    everyone mingling together. We'll have yez all drinking wine yet
    Why is it that a couple of gobshi*es always appear to 'represent' a
    club?
    Thats the thing, little gobshyte wannabees from small clubs like Longford ....
    (and us ) wont be bothered making long trips to Wexford for the sake of
    trying to look like hard men.

If theres any real effort to be made in getting somewhere then they suddenly
    fade back into watching the Late Late Show with their Mammys on a Friday
    night! Sitting on the couch, logging on to Bebo to tell everyone how they
    would have done a job on any opposition if they had gone to the game ...
    as they the sip on their mugs of hot chocolate with the extra marshmallow
    for Mummys Little Soldier!

84 Posts
    Which is why the "Firm"will probably be in Kildare Friday night only a short spin up the road

1,104 Posts
    [. Yous are the lads that wanted everyone over to section o surely you gotta start takin responsibility for what goes on over there. This should have been cut out a long time ago but hasn't and it is now giving us a bad name. Some has to cut it out and its gonna have to come from the founding members.

thats what I have done tallonted I have gone to the flansiro bebosite and gave out like f**k to them and told them never to return to section o.. Im sick of it to be honest if I see them in section o again I will run them out of there personally speakin..

I have wrote two letters of complaint to the local press regarding this matter.. I couldnt be bothered sending a letter of complaint to the club as I know quite well that nothin will be acted upon there too much of a cosy circle.. imo the most effective tool is by embarassing them in the local media teach them a bit of manners .. nobody embarasses me in front of me and my friends..

the silence amongst the younger section o members says it all really.. Im sure cabs and rosco arent too happy either...
    Just to comment again, a few well placed letters to parents from the club could see a dramatic effect. From what I hear a good few of the people causing bother are <18 and from quite "respectable" families around the place. I wonder how a letter informing them that "little Johnny" has been getting hammered and causing trouble in Flancare would go down?. To those who were targeted personally don't let the actions of a couple of stewards poison the whole thing for ye either and I would again suggest that ye've every right to bring up the matter on an official basis through the secretary who is undoubtedly aware of what has gone on. He won't ignore ye.

Quote Originally Posted by max power View Post
    tbh, if the stewards can't pick them out by now they shouldn't be stewarding them. ffs, two of the boyo's came in hoods up, scarves covering their faces acting the hard men. The stewards let them out past them at the end of the game in the same get up to go out to the car park. Stevie Wonder would've spotted they were up to no good.

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast