Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Thread: Trapattonti's first press conference

176 Posts
    Distinct lack of coverage yesterday in the media. Of what there was, some interesting observations from RTE presenters: He says "It will be very difficult to qualify"

Look lads, if we can't improve our results under this coach and backroom staff, we may as well give up.

386 Posts
    I've no doubt we'll improve under Trapattoni. It was hard not to be impressed with his press conference yesterday despite the dodgy stream and his broken English. He wasn't afraid to literally stand up and be counted, and there's definately an air of charisma about the man that's inspiring.

Pretty much basic things he needs to do with the team - get them organised and stop the leaking of soft goals. His CV suggests that this is something he is capable of doing. If he gets that right, we have a group of players that are good enough to push for qualification.

Quote Originally Posted by theworm2345 View Post
    No, hes the humor coach from Borat off to the lookalikes thread
    "Do you know what a pause is? . . . That's a pause..."

thanks for posting photos and audio, shame we can't get a better stream from the eejits who hosted it, some things never change eh
    zombie/thread killer..

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ken foree View Post
    shame we can't get a better stream from the eejits who hosted it, some things never change eh
    moan moan moan

Who the Feck is Trappatonti

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ken foree View Post
    "Do you know what a pause is? . . . That's a pause..."

thanks for posting photos and audio, shame we can't get a better stream from the eejits who hosted it, some things never change eh
    The fai weren't responsible for the streamed pres conference, avcmedia - http://www.avcmedia.com/ - hosted it

Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    moan moan moan
    ha, well you'd think perhaps - or perhaps you wouldn't - (regardless of who hosted it tetsujin, it's the FAI's name on the press conference, let's face it), that the transmission coulda been vetted and tested for something as potentially momentous as this? no? not even a mainpage link on their (fai) website to the thing, reeeeediculous.
    zombie/thread killer..

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Distinct lack of coverage yesterday in the media
    Saw a bit on Sky Sports News, and all the they had to comment on was his broken english. Don't they have an Italian as their manager too? Mr. Articulate Capello.
    Jealousy is a terrible thing.
    Esse Quam Videri

CEO, various board members and hanger-ons in 2:33 seconds .. reminds me of the politicians nearly collapsing the stage at the GPO in 1990

The conference itself
    Last edited by macdermesser; 06/05/2008 at 9:45 AM.

386 Posts
    Delaney comes across as a right buffoon in the first video. But then again the camera never lies.

i thought delaney was quite natural to be honest. dont see why you think he was a buffoon there, what exactly do you want him to do? Fair play to trap though appeasing and going along with everything, seemed very natural and relaxed also.

As the man says though, the hard work starts here.....

1,928 Posts
    Did you notice that Trap has a natural gift for posing on cue for the photographer. No matter how endless the introductions of yet another board member, Trap would suddenly ignore them all, turn and pose for the photo.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    Delaney comes across as a right buffoon in the first video
    in what way exactly?

386 Posts
    in what way exactly?
    Definition:

"Buffoon" - A person given to clowning and joking.

20 Posts
    in what way exactly?
    In a buffoonish kinda way...

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    Definition:

"Buffoon" - A person given to clowning and joking.
    very interesting. i saw trappatoni laugh and joke as much as anyone in that footage.... that must make him a buffoon also by your "reasoning"

386 Posts
    very interesting. i saw trappatoni laugh and joke as much as anyone in that footage.... that must make him a buffoon also by your "reasoning"
    The "reasoning" of a dictionary.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234