Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: Tonights Latest (Friday 25th April)

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    Class? Honestly? You score a goal against the run of play, then score another goal when a team down to ten men is pushing forward to score, and then sit back, and thats class? At one point after the second goal the entirety of your team was on the edge of your box. You played the game well but it devalues the word class if you win in a situation you'd be expected to, in the way you'd be expected to.

Congrats on the win, but class it was not. If we're going down the road of could haves and should haves, we could have drawn level. In the real world, not every chance you get is converted.
    Eh, yeah.

Ok, we were very good then. Maybe 4-0.

Idiot though he may be, with him on the field we would've swept aside your little blip and continued playing the way we were, all over you.
    Haha, you've blown your wind up there with that line Gav!!

Quote Originally Posted by WindmillWarrior View Post
    It would be one of the things I would have worried about(thought Im sure ye didnt care last night) as a Drogs fans.

Both goals were defensive errors and I was surprised ye didnt put away a couple more.

I dont think ye're best 11 was playing tbh.

Drogs were class last night. Sure the sending off made a difference but I'd say we would have won even without it. We were well up for it, played class passing football and played the right formation. It was a 4-3-3 formation when attacking - Baker and O'Keefe were pushed way up the field most of the time. Tbh I was dissapointed we didn't score more. We could have quite eashttp://foot.ie/images/editor/smilie.gif
    http://foot.ie/images/editor/smilie.gifily won 5-0!
    4-3-3 ?????? 4-5-1 with Baker and O Keeffe pushing on when you broke. Grant was the only one who was pushed up 'most of the time' (And did a great job in tying up our defence and caused them trouble all night in fairness).
    Be honest, when do Drogs EVER play 4-3-3, in particular away from home and even more in particular down in Cork.

Eh, yeah.

You should have won 4-0. There were a couple of very bad misses and with us going forward constantly I'm surprised ye didn't.
    Haha, you've blown your wind up there with that line Gav!!
    Who was on top, when ye scored?
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

You should have won 4-0. There were a couple of very bad misses and with us going forward constantly I'm surprised ye didn't.
    Drogs were - and pleanty of cork fans in the pub lastnight agreed with that.

We were great going forward - as said above it was a good mix of 433 when we had the ball and 451 when we didnt.

Mathews is under serious pressure down there now - spoke to two cork lads who reckon he;ll get the bullet before the season finishes despite having a couple of years contract
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo View Post
    Mathews is under serious pressure down there now - spoke to two cork lads who reckon he;ll get the bullet before the season finishes despite having a couple of years contract
    Rubbish. Not a hope he will. Couldnt afford it

You'll find at least 2 fans down here to tell you anything you want.....
    Last edited by micls; 26/04/2008 at 4:57 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo View Post
    Drogs were - and pleanty of cork fans in the pub lastnight agreed with that.
    right, well, I can imagine that ye couldnt see very much what with ye being on the opposite side of the stadium to the ball for the first 20 minutes, but your goal was against the run of play

We were great going forward - as said above it was a good mix of 433 when we had the ball and 451 when we didnt.
    You really weren't. If ye were "great" ye'd have scored a few more goals; instead you put away two defensive errors. Ye were great in defense alright though, despite constant pressure we didn't have that many clear cut chances.

When you're at a club like Cork City, you're always under pressure. Unfortunately Mathews has a 3 year contract and we're busy paying off our last manager, so I can't see it happening barring omission from Europe.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

We were, we had scored you had not. So it was 1-0 to us. Basic maths actually. Keep up kiddo
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

When we've got only 10 men on the field? Sure, doubly so if that player is Joe Gamble. Idiot though he may be, with him on the field we would've swept aside your little blip and continued playing the way we were, all over you.
    You think he would have molested us so,
    Sure if you had got more points than us last year you'd be champions, but you didn't and you're not.
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

I really shouldn't have expected honesty, should I?
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

I really shouldn't have expected honesty, should I?
    you people woulndt know honesty if it slapped you in the face .We were much the better side last nite FACT .We scored 2 goals and you scored none FACT , our keeper hadnt a save to make .The only half chance i remember you having was mooneys bicycle kick .Thats was it , your superstar Boy george was totally anonymous for the whole game .The article written in the evening echo was a total disgrace , i hope the author enjoyed the game

For the first 20 mins I wouldn't expect anything less than for Cork to come out all guns blazing and thats what yis did and yis did play some nice football. But it wasn't "constant pressure", we had a few breaks and some possession. Its up to the away team to weather the storm innit? I thought we done that fairly comfortably really and then scored a goal that was somewhat against the run of play, yes. Sorry for scoring it and not following your script!
    Of course then Gamble got the red. That obviously knocked yous but I though for the rest of the game we were very good and very comfortable. We got our 2nd goal and created many many other chances which we squandered with terrible finishing and some good defending (MNS on monday should tell all).
    Sure Cork had spells of pressure in the 2nd half - afterall you were 2-0 down at home! - but in all that our keeper didn't have to make 1 save, and again to suggest "constant pressure", Gav, is not very "honest" now is it.

291 Posts
    57'
    Athlone 0 v 2 Dundalk
    Cassidy 33'
    Duffy 36'

291 Posts
    Full time 3-0, Cassidy 79'

Dundalk move five points clear.
    Last edited by thischarmingman; 26/04/2008 at 8:31 PM.

Will this be their year?
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

147 Posts

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    Will this be their year?
    In short, no. If memory serves me right, they made a similarly impressive start last year and chokedand I'd expect the plastics to do the same this year
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Harps announced birthday wishes over the tannoy to someone while the match was on
    Jeez your some boy. You give out that a birthday wish was given out over the tannoy but not a mention of the Sligo 'fans' that ran onto the pitch at half time and started making fun of the Special Olympics team that we're playing against one and another.

It was easily the most disgusting thing I've ever seen from opposing fans in this league and the two boy geniuses are very very lucky they didn't get the living ****e knocked out of them.

Once again Sligo fans cover themselves in glory in Finn Park.

And you come on a forum to whinge about a birthday wish been read out during the game. Priceless.

Quote Originally Posted by fbtn View Post
    Jeez your some boy. You give out that a birthday wish was given out over the tannoy but not a mention of the Sligo 'fans' that ran onto the pitch at half time and started making fun of the Special Olympics team that we're playing against one and another.

It was easily the most disgusting thing I've ever seen from opposing fans in this league and the two boy geniuses are very very lucky they didn't get the living ****e knocked out of them.

Once again Sligo fans cover themselves in glory in Finn Park.

And you come on a forum to whinge about a birthday wish been read out during the game. Priceless.
    , I'm neither of the two that ran on so can't speak for them so why should I highlight that?

The amount of amateur stuff in FP last night was hilarious-the birthday wish, no bags searched on way in, no stewards stopping the two lads(took about 2mins for a steward to go near them), and then the team itself. Stop trying to divert attention from what I was saying and just accept yer set-up is a joke...and I thought the Showgrounds was bad.

I'm not defending the lads, but they did not go on to make fun of the special olympics kids, this is been blown way out of proportion.

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    Will this be their year?
    In a word, hopefully.

Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast