View Poll Results: Should Derry City FC receive funding from the government of Ireland?

Voters
79. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

50 63.29%
  • No

29 36.71%
Page 4 of 14 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Derry City applying for Grant Aid

Dont listen to them lads, its jelousy and/or biggotry. Hope ye turn the brandywell in to a top class venue

Quote Originally Posted by kingdomkerry View Post
    Dont listen to them lads, its jelousy and/or biggotry. Hope ye turn the brandywell in to a top class venue
    Top fella. Always liked the Kerry people
    DCFC

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Shall I assume that you and Ealing Green will be complaining to the NI Executive about the roads, Police Schools and 'cultural organisations' in the north that are also being dual-funded. Oh no wait- it's just Derry City you don't like it happening to.....

You'll be waiting a long time to get a response to that one. We're still waiting on a response to the fact that Institute got a grant from the South for floodlights.

Quote Originally Posted by dancinpants View Post
    You'll be waiting a long time to get a response to that one. We're still waiting on a response to the fact that Institute got a grant from the South for floodlights.
    Of course we are. The tide of bile is not halted by the mere elucidation of relevant facts.
    DCFC

Quote Originally Posted by pól-dcfc View Post

Sheesh.

Good to see the Republican ideal lives on in Dublin.
    Derry lost all claim on a republican high ground, the day they declared themselves British to sign Gavin Dykes free on a Bosman

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Derry lost all claim on a republican high ground, the day they declared themselves British to sign Gavin Dykes free on a Bosman
    Never a truer word spoken
    Theres a prize for bringing the most fans you know

F**k the whole lot of ye's, I couldn't give a rats ass if some Belfast **** is unhappy at my Club for taking advantage of our unique situation.

If Lizzy's Happy to take our money, then i'm quite content to ask for some back.

Likewise if any of you 'Free Staters' are unhappy about us asking your Government for Money, look upon it as a compensation payment for deserting us and leaving us at the mercy of the Brits.

By the way, if the Irish Government give us the money tomorrow they'll save themselves a fortune as the exchange rate from Euro to Sterling has never been better.

£€£€£€£€£€£€

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Krstic View Post
    Likewise if any of you 'Free Staters' are unhappy about us asking your Government for Money, look upon it as a compensation payment for deserting us and leaving us at the mercy of the Brits.
    You were amply compensated when we took in Dana. In fact, you owe us £86.21m.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    Do you take milk tokens?

284 Posts
    You are WRONG though. Institute got Irish Govt funding for floodlights for their training pitch, and I believe Linfield have also taken money aswell.
    OK, how much then? Five million pounds would light up Drumahoe brighter than Las Vegas. The whole of NI football was made to wait four years and jump through all sorts of hoops to get £8 million, and even then it's being paid out in tranches.

And in any case, the Dublin government can give its money to whoever it likes. This application by Derry City is to my Government - the self-same Government which has starved local NI football for decades.

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    I suppose Derry City FC saw that the Irish Gov. were funding redevelopment of the A5 from Derry to Aughnacloy to the tune of £320m+ and thought - why not ask for for a few million to be thrown in their direction. You never know, if you don't ask you won't get it.
    As I've said elsewhere, the Irish Govt may give its money to whomsoever it likes. What I am objecting to is DCFC feeling it is entitled to money from two Governments: "Norn Iron" when it suits (Bosman), "Oirish" when it suits (Dublin funding).

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    When you put it like that.....

Is 86.21m enough though

Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    OK, how much then? Five million pounds would light up Drumahoe brighter than Las Vegas. The whole of NI football was made to wait four years and jump through all sorts of hoops to get £8 million, and even then it's being paid out in tranches.

And in any case, the Dublin government can give its money to whoever it likes. This application by Derry City is to my Government - the self-same Government which has starved local NI football for decades.
    Good subtle movement of the goalposts there.

Clearly NI bodies can apply for Southern money. That's the point. Maybe if 'Stute asked for more they would have got more.

It's also our government these days aswell. Derry is still in NI. And we pay our taxes. We are entitled to ask for some back, as are all the IL and Intermediate/Junior clubs in the province.
    DCFC

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts

And its also the government of Derry and Derry City is in their jurisdiction, whether you like it or not. What I do know is John Delaney will be helping us in our quest for funding, he was at Stormont with Jim Roddy before on this isue

284 Posts
    It's simple economics. It is a sensible decision for the NI Exec to plough money into the Brandywell. More jobs= smaller dole queues, and more money being contributed in taxes to the exchequer. I'd say in a few years the Govt will have made back it's money, plus some.
    Fair enough. Can the likes of Newry City, Donegal Celtic, Crusaders and Glenavon each expect £5million? Or is the Bogside uniquely disadvantaged? Remember, the whole of IL football is having to share £8 million between them, over several years.

Of course, they're not relying upon this money to stay full-time, as their Chairman intimates DCFC are...

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    Fair enough. Can the likes of Newry City, Donegal Celtic, Crusaders and Glenavon each expect £5million? Or is the Bogside uniquely disadvantaged? Remember, the whole of IL football is having to share £8 million between them, over several years.

Of course, they're not relying upon this money to stay full-time, as their Chairman intimates DCFC are...
    You talk the biggest pile of horse****e!! You just cant see the point people are trying to make. Here it is big and bold:

THE MONEY IS NOT ONLY FOR THE STADIUM, BUT ITS ALSO FOR THE REGENERATION OF THE BRANDYWELL, NOT BOGSIDE, BRANDYWELL AREA. THIS ISNT JUST ABOUT FOOTBALL, ITS ABOUT CREATING JOBS IN A DEPRIVED AREA, ABOUT CREATING JOBS ON THE CONSTRUCTION OF THE STADIUM AND THE BUILDINGS AROUND IT. YES THERE ARE PLACES LIKE DONEGAL CELTIC, ARMAGH CITY THAT HAVE POOR STADIUMS AND COULD DO WITH FUNDING, BUT DERY IS PART OF THE UK, PAYS TAXES, VAT ETC TO THE BRITISH GOVERNMENT, THEREFORE DERRY IS ENTITLED TO APPLY FOR FUNDING ON ISSUES LIKE DEPRIVATION AND CREATION OF JOBS. DO YOU UNDERSTAND THIS?????

The Brandywell is not in the Bogside, it's in the Brandywell.

Or are you another typical Belfast Bigot who thinks everyone from Derry lives In the Bogside??

And on the uniquely disadvantaged question, the answer is not unique but statistically one of the most economically & socially deprived ares of Northern Ireland.

Maybe if they applied. Open your eyes and read what people are actually typing.
    DCFC

30 Posts
    At the end of the day, there is nothing to stop any club putting together a funding proposal and using their stadium as a catalyst for economic and social change in their local communities. Why shouldn't we do it?

Brandywell Properties has invested a lot of time and money putting together these proposals - employing Peter Quinn Consultancy and visiting community projects based around football clubs in GB, most notably Charlton Athletic.

e.g. "Derry City FC in partnership with CRJI and the PSNI are investigating the feasibility of a football-based project to divert young people from anti-social behaviour, improve their fitness and contribute to their education. It would be based on the ‘Kicks’ project which has been run for some three years in England at Charlton Athletic FC."

This isn't all about building a stadium for DCFC, it's a whole package to create facilities for the area and provide a base for a number of community-based projects with the football club being the focus.

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    EG - I can't work out if you're being more of a WUM or a muppet over this.

Derry City didn't join the Republic's league for fun. Remember - the biggoted idiots who run your league constantly refused to let the club back in for 13 years - even when assessments said there was no security risk playing at the Brandywell. We had no choice but to turn south.

So when you can name me one other club on the island that was based in one jurisdiction and forced to play football in the other, then I'll give your point some credence about taking funding from both jurisdictions. Until such time, I suggest you dry yer feckin eyes, or take your sob story to one of the rabid Irish League forums where it'll be warmly embrased with further bile....
    You seem to have difficulty in distinguishing me and my arguments from those of people on other forums who appear to wind you up. Frankly, I don't post on any ILF sites, in fact, I don't even read them. That is because from what I've seen, they appear to be full of people who behave like you are doing here.

Namely, I have acknowledged and deplored the circumstances of DCFC's enforced move to the EL. You are being offensive by associating me with the "biggoted [sic] idiots" of that period, with absolutely no grounds.

As for "drying my eyes" and my "sob stories", you are the one who is still harping on about grievances of over 30 years ago, not me. That is, a time when your best known supporter was on the run from the Brits. You know, the one who is now Deputy First Minister in the Brit's local government. Or the time when a gerrymandered local council was discriminating against the Bogside and its club. As opposed to the present, when a Nationalist-dominated local Council is still discriminating against the local football club, in favour of local GAA clubs.

The fact is, I am commentating on today's events. And I think it brass-necked of DCFC to think that they can screw £10 million out of two separate Governments, when between them, the two Governments haven't spent that amount on all 40 senior clubs in NI combined, over the last 20 years. Especially since they (DCFC) are pleading that their full-time status might be jeopardised if they don't get this cash.

Somehow, I think that claim of poverty will hardly go down well with e.g. Distillery, who had their ground burnt our from under them and had to move out of their home city entirely, or Cliftonville, who saw their traditional fanbase move out of the area and have to replace it with an entirely new fanbase, all in the midst of civil disorder at least as murderous as anything seen in Free Derry.

In the end, you can't have it both ways. You are either the Big Time Charlies, full-timers, best-supported club in Ireland etc, or you are the poor, downtrodden victims, deserving of special mitigation.

Page 4 of 14 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast