View Poll Results: Should Derry City FC receive funding from the government of Ireland?

Voters
79. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

50 63.29%
  • No

29 36.71%
Page 3 of 14 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Thread: Derry City applying for Grant Aid

Are you serious? You clearly know nothing of the circumstances. We have been requesting financial aid, and permission to buy and redevelop the stadium for a long long time. Unfortunately the council has held us up at every opportunity. This is the climax of a long and hard fought campaign.
    All they've done is request funds. I'd be stunned if they get them as well for all the many counter-arguments. You say this is the climax, is there a decision in the next day or two? Have you a choosen a perfered contractor to build the stadium / has the design been agreed pending the funding..assuming it has what happens if it fails to get the 15million needed..back to square one again. believe me i hope you get it..as an eircom league fan i really want the facilities to grow, it just seems Dery (And loads more clubs) have been talking and talking for years about getting a new stadium and now i read they're only hopeing to get some funds!

Quote Originally Posted by Juanace View Post
    All they've done is request funds. I'd be stunned if they get them as well for all the many counter-arguments. You say this is the climax, is there a decision in the next day or two? Have you a choosen a perfered contractor to build the stadium / has the design been agreed pending the funding..assuming it has what happens if it fails to get the 15million needed..back to square one again. believe me i hope you get it..as an eircom league fan i really want the facilities to grow, it just seems Dery (And loads more clubs) have been talking and talking for years about getting a new stadium and now i read they're only hopeing to get some funds!
    The council only give us permission to seek funding for the stadium a few months ago after 2 years of trying. Nothing gets handed over from the council unless funding is in place.

30 Posts
    This has been a long process and Derry are asking the Irish government for money, because in discussions with Irish Government representatives, it has been intimated that funding will be made available to DCFC to use the stadium as a hub for redevelopment of the local community.

We have released plans for the new stadium and I'd assume a contrator has been choosen. Details here http://www.derrycityfc.net/season/07...hp?storyid=182

There is a wealth of info floating about concerning the protracted dealings with the council. Work has been ongoing for a long time, but with a council who doesn't seem to care but also own the stadium, delays are understandable.
    DCFC

Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    An entirely fair post, imo. I can have no objection to Derry City applying to the IFA for grant aid, in addition to grant-aid from the Irish Govt (who can assist whoever they like with their money). But this is not IFA aid DCFC are talking about, it's money from the NI Executive.
    Most of your cpmments make sense and are certainly not anti Derry as such, however I think you have it wrong in who they should be entilted to apply to:

State funding should come from the NI executive IF it is deemed a worthy project it should not come from Dublin, we have to respect that Derry City is located in a differentt jurisdiction.

Football funding (excuse my description - but you know what I mean) should come from the assocaition to which ther are affiliated to namely the FAI, again based on it's merits.

The amount applied for may be way over that of what other clubs throughout Ireland are looking for, but to this I would congratulate thme for being ambitious and fighting their corner.

I don't see how the IFA could countenance a grant payment to a club not affiliated to it NOR the Irish government likewise to a club in a different jurisdiction.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

30 Posts
    We were in a bit of a catch-22 situation. We could not apply for funding unless we had ownership of the ground.

It has taken a few years for us to get agreement from Derry City Council to take over ownership of the ground.

Now that is sorted out, we can begin the formal process of applying for funding. It's all part of the process.

What worries me is that, since we first (informally) promised money by the Irish government, the economy isn't as strong as it was.

30 Posts
    http://www.derryjournal.com/3422/Bra...s39.3781258.jp

February 2008

THE refurbishment of Derry's Brandywell Stadium has been discussed at the 'highest levels' in the Republic and funding for the project is currently on the agenda, John Byrne, an F.A.I. Executive Officer, confirmed to the 'Journal' last night.
    Mr. Byrne, whose remit within the Football Association of Ireland is to liaise with the Irish Government in relation to capital spending on sport, also confirmed that he has been present at a number of these high profile meetings and insisted he would be ‘very surprised’ if Brandywell Properties Ltd. - the firm behind the refurbishment plans - did not have an application for funding lodged in the Sports Capital Programme.

Following reports this week that alleged funding deadlines had not been met by Brandywell Properties - which is acting on behalf of Derry City Football Club - Mr. Byrne confirmed that the deadline for application for sports funding within the Sports Capital Programme would not expire until Wednesday, March 5.

He said: “I would be very surprised if an application for funding from Brandywell Properties was not on this list. I can also confirm that meetings have been held at the highest level in relation to the refurbishment of Brandywell Stadium and I can confirm that funding for the Brandywell project has been on the agenda,.”

The FAI official also confirmed that, should the FAI and Irish Football Association (IFA) be successful in securing the 2011 UEFA Under-21 Championships, Brandywell Stadium would be “high on the list” to stage games.

He said: “There have been several meetings in relation to both the FAI and IFA hosting the 2011 European Under-21 Championships. Both organisations will apply jointly to host that tournament - north and south of the border - and, if we are successful in our application, then Brandywell Stadium in Derry would be high our list to stage games. “If we are successful in our application to UEFA, then Brandywell Stadium will have a role to play - but not in its current state as it would not hold the necessary criteria to host such high profile games.”

Mr. Byrne said he was aware that funding was also being sought from the British Government and that meetings had taken place with the relevant people.

It’s understood that directors from Brandywell Properties have travelled to Stormont to meet with the N. Ireland Sports Minister, Edwin Poots and, indeed, hosted a meeting with the Social Development Minister, Margaret Ritchie, in relation to attracting funding.

And with the business plan now completed by Peter Quinn Consultancy, it’s understood Brandywell Properties is now in a position to lodge both applications with the Irish and British Governments before the end of the month.

In fact, it is also understood that another meeting between Brandywell Properties Ltd. and Derry City Council’s Development Committee could be arranged for as early as next week to give the Development Committee an update on the progress made by Brandywell Properties in relation to funding.

Just as the "Receive Government funding from Dublin and Government funding from Belfast, whilst every other club in the island has to make do with one or the other, all in order to sustain full-time football which appears otherwise unsustainable" argument is going over yours?

What next? Derry City to be allowed to field 22 players per game? Two sets of goalposts for the opposition to defend at the Brandywell?
    EG - I can't work out if you're being more of a WUM or a muppet over this.

Derry City didn't join the Republic's league for fun. Remember - the biggoted idiots who run your league constantly refused to let the club back in for 13 years - even when assessments said there was no security risk playing at the Brandywell. We had no choice but to turn south.

So when you can name me one other club on the island that was based in one jurisdiction and forced to play football in the other, then I'll give your point some credence about taking funding from both jurisdictions. Until such time, I suggest you dry yer feckin eyes, or take your sob story to one of the rabid Irish League forums where it'll be warmly embrased with further bile....

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post

Derry City didn't join the Republic's league for fun. Remember - the biggoted idiots who run your league constantly refused to let the club back in for 13 years - even when assessments said there was no security risk playing at the Brandywell. We had no choice but to turn south.

So when you can name me one other club on the island that was based in one jurisdiction and forced to play football in the other, then I'll give your point some credence about taking funding from both jurisdictions. Until such time, I suggest you dry yer feckin eyes, or take your sob story to one of the rabid Irish League forums where it'll be warmly embrased with further bile....
    Great post.
    DCFC

Derry City are entitled to funding from the Irish Government the same as any other EL club and they should milk the NI executive for whatever they can get.

**** the begrudgers like EG!!!!!

Hate to say it but it's attitudes like yours that turn people away from the game, from reading EG's post he never wanted to see Derry not play in the IL it was circumstances from the PAST, he has a very fair point in objecting to any club getting funding from either 2 governments or 2 football associations.

It is you who refers to the bigots of the PAST not EG

Quote Originally Posted by kingdomkerry View Post
    Derry City are entitled to funding from the Irish Government the same as any other EL club and they should milk the NI executive for whatever they can get.

**** the begrudgers like EG!!!!!
    No they are not entitled to money from our government no more than are Queens University Rugby Club or the Armagh County Board.

However queens are entitled to money from the IRFU as they are affiliated to it and the Armagh County Board from the GAA for the same reason.

1,551 Posts
    To put this in perspective- the IL has been given 8 million to be paid out over a number of years. Derry are looking for 5 million in one go from each government.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    No they are not entitled to money from our government no more than are Queens University Rugby Club or the Armagh County Board.

However queens are entitled to money from the IRFU as they are affiliated to it and the Armagh County Board from the GAA for the same reason.
    Who are you to say who the Irish Governement can and cannot give money to?
    DCFC

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    I suppose Derry City FC saw that the Irish Gov. were funding redevelopment of the A5 from Derry to Aughnacloy to the tune of £320m+ and thought - why not ask for for a few million to be thrown in their direction. You never know, if you don't ask you won't get it.
    The Irish government is funding a growing list of projects and organisations in the North, including :

- £400m investment in NI's infrastruture (incl belfast to Larne corridor, as well as roads radiating form Derry).
    - £36m into an 'innovation fund' for the north.
    - The Orange Order
    - The Apprentice Boys of Derry.
    - Policing Board for their new college in Cookstown.
    - The mid-Ulster 'Friends of the Somme' group for trips.

Now I don't recall a clamour from Ealing Green and the little Ulsterites in certain Irish League forums complaining about other organisatioons or infrastructure in NI getting funding from both northern and southern governments. No, it's only when their favourite hate-figure, Derry City - you know, the club that had to cheek to get on with its life without them, and then finds itself doing a lot better than most of them put together as a result, thank you very much - has the temerity to follow suit and seek funding from both governemnts to reflect its unique dual status.

It's like a mix between a cheesy Disney High School movie and Cinderella. The ugly Irish league sisters (with, as usual in the pantomime's, an unhealthy amount of Orange make-up on...) make life hell for nerdy fellow pupil 'Candy-erella' from the wrong side of town/the Bann, forcing her to move school where much to their annoyance she blossoms into a popular and attractive lady and ends up dating the best looking kid in town. In other words - it's all just petty bitchy jealousy from a bunch of whinging drama queens.

We're based in the north and we play in the south. "Get over it...!"

1,551 Posts
    The Irish government is funding a growing list of projects and organisations in the North, including :

- £400m investment in NI's infrastruture (incl belfast to Larne corridor, as well as roads radiating form Derry).
    - £36m into an 'innovation fund' for the north.
    - The Orange Order
    - The Apprentice Boys of Derry.
    - Policing Board for their new college in Cookstown.
    - The mid-Ulster 'Friends of the Somme' group for trips.

Now I don't recall a clamour from Ealing Green and the little Ulsterites in certain Irish League forums complaining about other organisatioons or infrastructure in NI getting funding from both northern and southern governments. No, it's only when their favourite hate-figure, Derry City - you know, the club that had to cheek to get on with its life without them, and then finds itself doing a lot better than most of them put together as a result, thank you very much - has the temerity to follow suit and seek funding from both governemnts to reflect its unique dual status.

It's like a mix between a cheesy Disney High School movie and Cinderella. The ugly Irish league sisters (with, as usual in the pantomime's, an unhealthy amount of Orange make-up on...) make life hell for nerdy fellow pupil 'Candy-erella' from the wrong side of town/the Bann, forcing her to move school where much to their annoyance she blossoms into a popular and attractive lady and ends up dating the best looking kid in town. In other words - it's all just petty bitchy jealousy from a bunch of whinging drama queens.

We're based in the north and we play in the south. "Get over it...!"
    Ah come on Steve- DCFC are looking for almost as much money in one go as the whole of NI football over a few years. I don't think you can pass all this off as anti-Derry sentiment.

Hate to say it but it's attitudes like yours that turn people away from the game, from reading EG's post he never wanted to see Derry not play in the IL it was circumstances from the PAST, he has a very fair point in objecting to any club getting funding from either 2 governments or 2 football associations.
    If we are based in one jurisdiction and play in another, why shouldn't we seek funding form both sides ?? Apart from a whinge based on the fact that you personally don't think we should, give me one good reason why a club forced into that unique position should not therefore seek unique fundign arrangements to reflect it ?

It is you who refers to the bigots of the PAST not EG
    The bigots of the past are largely the same bigots of today in the Irish League. It took until this year to change the sectarian block on Sunday football, for example, and it was still supported by almost 20% of those League members who voted on it.

Shall I assume that you and Ealing Green will be complaining to the NI Executive about the roads, Police Schools and 'cultural organisations' in the north that are also being dual-funded. Oh no wait- it's just Derry City you don't like it happening to.....

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    To put this in perspective- the IL has been given 8 million to be paid out over a number of years. Derry are looking for 5 million in one go from each government.
    Why does this have to be a 'zero sum' game....?

£8m between 16 Premier and 24 First/Second Division teams in senior football ?

Perhaps the answer is for the Irish league to be given more - not Derry City less...

70 Posts
    So will the other Eircom clubs be happy at one of their Members receiving double lots of Government aid, whilst they have to make do with one?
    Yes. Simple answer to that one...
    Sure, its better then it going to the gah heads...

So will the other Eircom clubs be happy at one of their Members receiving double lots of Government aid, whilst they have to make do with one?

That's the difference between football in the north and the south, you see EG, and why we're glad to be long shot of the Irish League

Football in the North is like watching crabs trying to escape from a bucket - dragging each other down and climbing on top of each other. The league is riddled with petty turf wars, grudges and jealousies. If one club benefits it can only be seen as a bad thing by fans of every other one (e.g. Linfield's arrangement over Windsor).

Conversely in the south, fans are just pleased to see any money going into the league - regardless of source. Hence, for example, there was no uproar here at South Dubnlin County Council putting money into Shamrock Rovers new Stadium.

I guess if you approach things with the mind-set of an Irish league supporter it must be diffiuclt to appreciate that there are other ways of viewing the footballing world...

Page 3 of 14 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast