Thread: Big weekend

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Redie View Post
    Sorry but you won't be given much credit for 'predicting' the result of a match played two weeks ago.
    Oh dear.

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    i wonder what odds you'd get on a 1-0 victory for every home team? that'd be my prediction anyway
    I reckon three draws myself.
    Who Cares?!

all this talk of a top six bottom six divide and there is a distinct possibility that the minnows of sligo rovers might creep into 5th place this weekend.

considering that rovers finished top six last season also, people on here might have to reconsider this division

after saying that it would be my luck to f**k up and lose to harps

Apologies CharlesThompson.
    Just found a spare hour to read your full post as opposed to just picking out Sligo Rovers and the three or four words either side and jumping to conclusions!
    I'll try to do better in the future.

Quote Originally Posted by sligored View Post
    all this talk of a top six bottom six divide and there is a distinct possibility that the minnows of sligo rovers might creep into 5th place this weekend.

considering that rovers finished top six last season also, people on here might have to reconsider this division

after saying that it would be my luck to f**k up and lose to harps
    I actually don't think that the season is going to be as simple as a top 6, bottom 6 divide. For the most part I think the divide will be the top 5 (Bohs, Cork, Derry, Drogheda, St. Pats), then a middle section (Rovers, Sligo, possibly with Bray and UCD) with a crossover with the bottom section (Galway, Cobh and Harps).
    I got no lips I got no bones where there
    were eyes there's only space

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red View Post
    I reckon three draws myself.
    Some good odds on draws this week. E1 on 6 draws returns E916
    Last edited by pete; 24/04/2008 at 1:38 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Some good odds on draws this week. E1 returns E916

How many draws are ye doing?

Quote Originally Posted by CameramanConka View Post
    How many draws are ye doing?
    6 (edited above)

reder
    Ok ppl, I am going to venture to a game this weekend. I live in the Dublin area so its between Bohs V Derry and Pats v Rovers. Which game should I go to? I am look for a good entertaining fixture, high tempo in particular mixed with good football.
    Last edited by reder; 24/04/2008 at 2:20 PM.

38 Posts
    Pat's vs. Rovers is your best bet, I would have thought. Probably a bigger crowd and a more open game.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by reder View Post
    Ok ppl, I am going to venture to a game this weekend. I live in the Dublin area so its between Bohs V Derry and Pats v Rovers. Which game should I go to? I am look for a good entertaining fixture, high tempo in particular mixed with good football.
    You can go to both. Bohs match is on Friday and Pats match is on Sunday.
    I got no lips I got no bones where there
    were eyes there's only space

101 Posts
    I'd pick Bohs-Derry. I'm going along as a neutral to that myself tomorrow night. You could always go to both of them, or watch the Rovers-Pat's game on the telly.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

With Rovers, Derry and Drogheda not at their best you would naturally fancy Pat's Bohs and Cork. However every bad run comes to an end sometime. Can't fathom Doolin out. He doesn't seem to know what his best combo is up front. Then who usually gets the tactics wrong.

Three big game's and if all the teams play to their potential they could be crackers.

Don't think six draws is a reality.
    "Look at them. They're all out of step except my son Johnny"
    Mrs. Delaney

48 Posts
    Not just because I'm a Derry fan, but because atmosphere wise the Bohs V Derry game should be good.

If you do come along maybe take a seat in section B as you will hear the famous non-stop singing from the Derry fans. The drums might drive you mad but hey........the craic will be good.

If you like what you see take in the Rvrs V Pats game on sunday, although by that time I predict you'll be a Derry fan by then.
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

I'd go for Bohs-Derry. However, please just go to it, as a game of football. At best 50% of football games, regardless of the level they are played at and especially early in the season, are good entertaining fixtures. As a Liverpool fan, I'm sure you find most of their games exciting; however, that is because you have an emotional attachment, every offside decision or throw taken 5 yards too far forward has a bearing on something you care about. For whatever reason, you wont have that attachment to either side.

If it turns out to be a bit of a bore, please don't come crowing about being proven right or how your new found insight has granted you the ability to define exactly what is wrong with irish football. I'm not saying this to be mean, and I'm not saying this to be elitist, and I'm not saying this as a pre-emptive strike so you'll think better of the league if it does turn out to be a poor game. I'm saying this because I want you to enjoy the game for what it is; one game between two clubs.

It doesn't matter what league or level or standard you think it is, those don't come into play once the whistle goes. Each team has their weaknesses and their strengths, each team will have different tactics and ploys. Try to immerse yourself in them, as you would be if you were taking your intimate knowledge of Liverpool FC to a game against a familiar foe. To the unfamiliar eye, any game of football is 22 lads chasing a ball up and down a field in a mostly uneventful manner. The beauty is in the detail.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

291 Posts
    I'd go for Bohs-Derry. However, please just go to it, as a game of football. At best 50% of football games, regardless of the level they are played at and especially early in the season, are good entertaining fixtures. As a Liverpool fan, I'm sure you find most of their games exciting; however, that is because you have an emotional attachment, every offside decision or throw taken 5 yards too far forward has a bearing on something you care about. For whatever reason, you wont have that attachment to either side.

If it turns out to be a bit of a bore, please don't come crowing about being proven right or how your new found insight has granted you the ability to define exactly what is wrong with irish football. I'm not saying this to be mean, and I'm not saying this to be elitist, and I'm not saying this as a pre-emptive strike so you'll think better of the league if it does turn out to be a poor game. I'm saying this because I want you to enjoy the game for what it is; one game between two clubs.

It doesn't matter what league or level or standard you think it is, those don't come into play once the whistle goes. Each team has their weaknesses and their strengths, each team will have different tactics and ploys. Try to immerse yourself in them, as you would be if you were taking your intimate knowledge of Liverpool FC to a game against a familiar foe. To the unfamiliar eye, any game of football is 22 lads chasing a ball up and down a field in a mostly uneventful manner. The beauty is in the detail.
    You Sir, are on good form today.

I think both games will be good ones. Bohs-Derry might be a little less open but in any case, a goal would open the whole thing out. Plus you have the Fenlon/Brennan/Oman subplots.

Big day for Finn Harps, 4 defeats on the trot and away to Drogheda next week means they really have to get something from Sligo at home this weekend. Sligo unbeaten in 4 and look like they're finding their feet. I think on paper Sligo should have too much for Hegarty's side but the fact that it is such a big game so early on, in Ballybofey means Finn Harps will might just be able to do enough. 1-0 and a nervous finish.

Far too early to rule Drogheda out of the title race, even if they lose tonight but a 4th defeat in 8 would leave them in trouble. Cork are looking ominously good woth a potent strike partnership, but even Finn Harps last week had good chances against them. Cork to win 2-0 or 2-1.

Galway haven't earned a point since March 15th, and on the back of 5 straight defeats look dead certs to lose against in form Bray. New manager factor notwithstanding, Bray should take the opportunity to play a probable relegation struggler at a time when they're at their most vulnerable. The two lowest scoring sides in the country won't be serving up a goalfest, but Bray should take advantage tonight and win.

UCD and Cobh could be a good game with a win for either side probably taking them out of the relegation zone. Both sides have had similar form of late but when yo consider that both are relegation rivals, the onus is on the home side to pick up the points here. A draw would be much better result for UCD.

Bohs-Derry could go either way. Kenny has a good record against Bohs and Derry will be up for it. Bohs coming off a great results last weekend and our defence is weak. Heart says 2-1 Derry, head says 2-0 Bohs.
    Last edited by thischarmingman; 25/04/2008 at 8:51 AM.

reder
    I think you should look back on my previous forum posts. I went to the Cork v Shamrock Rovers game last season and only had one grip with the whole thing. That was a song sung by a small section of the rovers fans. I had nothing but admiration for every other aspect of the game. I have said it before umpteen times and I say it once more, I dont understand the apathy that people here have towards the league. I have no chip on shoulder in relation to it (fans, players etc) unlike the un-educated masses who travel to Liverpool.

I have decided to go to the game tonight, judging by the responses here. Presuming I can get a ticket from the ticket office or pay at the gate.

You wont have a problem getting a ticket.

I think you should look back on my previous forum posts. I went to the Cork v Shamrock Rovers game last season and only had one grip with the whole thing. That was a song sung by a small section of the rovers fans. I had nothing but admiration for every other aspect of the game. I have said it before umpteen times and I say it once more, I dont understand the apathy that people here have towards the league. I have no chip on shoulder in relation to it (fans, players etc) unlike the un-educated masses who travel to Liverpool.

Good, well enjoy the game. Hopefully its a high scoring draw
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    Pat's vs. Rovers is your best bet, I would have thought. Probably a bigger crowd and a more open game.
    Ye i cant wait for this game. Please god it is nice and sunny so every one can get the jersey's out. Rovers are also giving out free scarfs on the day. Should be a great atmosphere
    We'll never die, we'll never die