Thread: Jeff Kenna appointed Manager of Galway

Jeff Kenna appointed Manager of Galway

According to FAI.ie Jeff Kenna has been appointed the new Galway Utd manager on a 3 year contract.

Best of luck Jeff, as you will need it

Steve Staunton Mark II

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    Steve Staunton Mark II
    I dunno, has Jeff ever put out the cones before?
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    Steve Staunton Mark II
    I was thinking along the same lines - Gareth Farrelly MII
    I got no lips I got no bones where there
    were eyes there's only space

Might be an idea to throw this in the joke thread right now.

Seriously though if it weren't for the club he'll be managing I'd wish him the best of luck, always liked him at Blackburn and seemed like a sound guy when I met him in 94 (took time out to come over a few of us watching the Irish team train in UL anyway)

89 Posts
    In fairness to Kenna everyone has to start somewhere. Staunton wasn't undone by a lack of experience, it was more a complete lack of intelligence. At least Kenna doesn't sound like he's had a lobotomy, and our League has many managers who were succesfull at their first job in their mid to late 30s, Doolin, Fenlon, Scully...

20 Posts
    No disrespect meant to both the league and Galway, but at least Kenna is starting at the right level; ie, club level, where he can get to grips with the day to day aspects of football management. Stan Mk II's a bit harsh - Stan never had a hope in hell.

My feeling on this sudden sacking is that we're on the verge of another PR move by the blowhards who run GU. An approach from an agent telling them he can get them an impressive 'name' (former Ireland international or the like), making a quick shafting of Cousins a priority. It would be of a piece with the whole approach of being more concerned with building a brand than winning matches.
    Fivesilver aka Nostradamus - 1/4/2008
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

did he approach them ? or did galway go looking for him i wonder ?

It will be great to have a former English Premier League winner in the First Division next season.
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by Fivesilver View Post
    Fivesilver aka Nostradamus - 1/4/2008
    Quote Originally Posted by showgies View Post
    Jeff Kenna was an applicant for the Rovers job before Cookie got it.........he could want a start in management
    31st March 2008 - Bet you by one day Fivesilver
    "Overwhelmed"

Very intelligent posts everyone.....
    Ireland wouldn't be Ireland without the begrudgers......
    "I'd rather have a full bottle in front of me than a full frontal labotomy."
    Fred Allen.

Quote Originally Posted by Square Heir View Post
    Very intelligent posts everyone
    Thanks ... although I'd have preferred 'prescient'.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

joke of an appointment,
    kenna knows feck all about management,
    hes only here for a quick buck.

Quote Originally Posted by The Man Himself View Post
    joke of an appointment,
    He has played in the UK for the past twenty years, mostly at top flight clubs such as Blackburn, Southampton, Birmingham.

I presume that he is very well off - he is hardly going to make his fortune at Galway United !

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Ya have to laugh at some of the posts on here.Every body has to make a start in management somewhere. Just because Staunton was a joke with Ireland doesnt make everybody in their first job a bad choice. Roy Keane hasnt done bad in his first job in management!!Even Sam Allardyce make is first start in management in the League of Ireland.To say hes only here for a quick buck is laughable, when he was playing with Blackburn he prob earned more in a month than he will in a year at United.
    It might be a bit of a gamble appointing a rookie manager but at least he will instantly command the respect of the players and that is a good place to start, after that we will have to see.But the club had over 30 applicants for the job and didnt rush into the appointment so he must have impressed with his plans and knowledge of the game when he was interviewed
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Quote Originally Posted by The Man Himself View Post
    joke of an appointment,

Ah, he was a Premiership player for many years and he is surely a multi-millionare with a few comfortable livestyle in England, I dont he is becoming Galway United manager for the money. From what I heard he could have continued playing with Kidderminister but He obviously wanted to get involved in management so Galway was a great oppurtunity for him to do this.
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Ya have to laugh at some of the posts on here.Every body has to make a start in management somewhere.
    Which is why most people start off as a coach or assistant manager before they become manager of a club. Not saying Kenna will be a failure, but it will be interesting to see how he does considering he has no previous coaching experience. Hope it works out for you and stay up, Galway are going about things the right way and would be a shame if they were to be relegated.

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    In fairness to Kenna everyone has to start somewhere. Staunton wasn't undone by a lack of experience, it was more a complete lack of intelligence. At least Kenna doesn't sound like he's had a lobotomy, and our League has many managers who were succesfull at their first job in their mid to late 30s, Doolin, Fenlon, Scully...
    While I mostly agree with you, I feel compelled to point out that Paul Doolin got a good UCD team relegated, and left our youth setup (unquestionably our strong point) in a shambles. Invoking his name is sufficient to get some people in the club to spit blood; most others roll their eyes and let out a sigh. Doolin learned on the job, but he wasn't an instant success, whatever you may think of him now.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

I think its good to see an ex Irish international leaving England to get involved in Irish soccer.He's played in the top flight in England for years and is bound to have a great knowledge of the professional game.He's achieved more and played at a higher level than anyone else at the club and given his status may attract some good players to Galway.
    Obviously there is a big question mark over his management skills but I think he's worth a shot and to be honest things couldn't get much worse!