Thread: Wii is it worth getting ?

Wii is it worth getting ?

Been thinking of getting a wii now for a bit was just wondering if anyone has one are they worth it i have a 360 and ps3 now so im not sure do i need it.

Is there any serious gamers out there that got one and cant put it down rather than the "its great fun with the lads having a few cans" gamers. As the lads arent aloud in my games room after causing ridiculous amounts of damage to my controllers/ disks over the years.

Or will i get it play for 2 months then have it sit there next to the 360 that also justs sits there now
    Last edited by anto1208; 21/04/2008 at 9:09 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post
    Been thinking of getting a wii now for a bit was just wondering if anyone has one are they worth it i have a 360 and ps3 now so im not sure do i need it.

Is there any serious gamers out there that got one and cant put it down rather than the "its great fun with the lads having a few cans" gamers. As the lads arent aloud in my games room after causing ridiculous amounts of damage to my controllers/ disks over the years.

Or will i get it play for 2 months then have it sit there next to the 360 that also justs sits there now
    I have an 11 yr old lad and we play it a lot together, if i didnt have kids i wouldnt be bothered with it tbh.
    A man can have no greater love than give 90 minutes to his friends

Its a good laugh, but some people(like me)can get bored after an hour of playing the golf game or tennis etc.

Mario Kart is a fun game but its also gets boring.

Overall it depends if you want it to play constantly or just if you have nothing else to do, i dont even think its possible to have a hardcore gaming session on the wii

SligoBrewer has one so he'll give you expert analysis!

Play Pro Evolution on the wii and you'll never play it on another console again

Im thinking its not a serious gamers console its not next gen any way to start with so thats a minus. Ill put down anything from 4 to 8 hours in a good session if people leave me alone but thats the problem with mates and girlfriends being selfish wanting to spend time with you. I normally get around 8 hours a week And thats mainly on call of duty 4. other games will come and go in between from time to time.

They are 330 new with 2 or 3 games so they arent expensive i just dont want to have another console sitting on the table gathering dust and with GTA4 and Haze coming out in the next 2 months it might not get any use .

I was thinking of getting pro evo mario kart and something like resident evil ( a shooter ). Might look for a 2nd hand one if enough peopel have them sitting at home i might pick one up on the cheap.

Im thinking its not a serious gamers console its not next gen any way to start with so thats a minus. Ill put down anything from 4 to 8 hours in a good session if people leave me alone but thats the problem with mates and girlfriends being selfish wanting to spend time with you. I normally get around 8 hours a week And thats mainly on call of duty 4. other games will come and go in between from time to time.

They are 330 new with 2 or 3 games so they arent expensive i just dont want to have another console sitting on the table gathering dust and with GTA4 and Haze coming out in the next 2 months it might not get any use .

I was thinking of getting pro evo mario kart and something like resident evil ( a shooter ). Might look for a 2nd hand one if enough peopel have them sitting at home i might pick one up on the cheap.
    you play COD4 on PS3?

Quote Originally Posted by Boo_Boy View Post
    you play COD4 on PS3?
    yip its ruining my life nearly 3 days put down now .

Im thinking its not a serious gamers console its not next gen any way to start with so thats a minus.
    To be honest if you think that graphics are something a "serious gamer" is concerned with I would advise you to stick to things like yet-another-first person world war two shooter. Buy a better graphics card for your PC and get the real cutting edge of graphics and effects. Added to the majority of console games coming out on the PC also, and games like Spore coming out later in the year, I think that would be your best bet.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

yip its ruining my life nearly 3 days put down now .
    i've done 6 days 13 hours & 44 mins...amateur!....well i've done about 5 days(mate gave me his account lol)

i assume you play online?,add Oatesy_07

i'll play with ye sometime, show you how its done

Quote Originally Posted by Boo_Boy View Post

SligoBrewer has one so he'll give you expert analysis!

Indeed I will.

I'm not exactly mad into it as of yet. The amount of games that I have to get/complete yet is unreal.

Mario Galaxy, not finished.
    Resi Evil 4, only finished on easy.
    Wii Sports, fantastic.
    Mario Kart Wii. Online, it's the best game yet.
    Zelda, I haven't had time to touch it yet.
    Mario Strikers, Brilliant fun.

Now games I still have to buy,
    Medal of Honor,
    Pro Evo,
    Bully,
    Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles.

Virtual Console is fantastic.
    Still have a ****load of Gamecubes games that I bought to touch.

Tbh, I won't go near any other console for quite a while yet.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Play Pro Evolution on the wii and you'll never play it on another console again
    I have played the Tiger Woods golf (pretty good), tennis (boring) & bowling (pretty good) but none would tempt me to buy.

I am not much of a gamer (nothing post 1999) but Pro Evo sounds good on the Wii. Addition of Mario Kart is tempting me..

43 Posts
    It's great if you have someone to play it with at home. I can't imagine any hardcore gamers playing it on their lonesome for days at a time though. It's a fun console. My 6 year old has finished Mario Galaxy and seems pretty handy with the wii. He has mastered pro evo on it too, something which I have tried and failed at and plays the Olympic game and Mario Kart. Mario Kart is good fun online. Most of the other games he got are rarely used. I enjoy playing the Olympic game when the mates are over for a few beers, good craic watching a few beer bellied 30 somethings ready to take a heart attack. It'll be onto Wii Fit next!
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

I played it for the first time in the sisters gaff at the weekend and have promised the kids I'll get them one Baseball on it is class

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor View Post
    Baseball on it is class
    not when you're drunk

I cant testify to that but I'd imagine if you aim for the middle ball you should be ok

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor View Post
    I cant testify to that but I'd imagine if you aim for the middle ball you should be ok
    its not aiming thats the problem, its swinging on time and not after you're already given a strike

Still thinking about it at the moment had a look in game they have 2nd hand ones for 255 or a new one with 1 free game ( + wii sports so 2 games ) for 300 !! and a game costs 50 euro ! so a new one is cheaper than the 2nd hand one !!.

Ive GTA4 out next week new maps for COD4 the week after then 3 weeks after that Haze so i might wait for a quiter time to pick one up unless i go mad and just buy one

Pesonally i think the wii is very much over rated, some games are good, others very tempermental!
    Més Que Un Club - More than a Club

Decided to pick one up yesterday console and mario kart and tiger woods for 315 with a staff discount.

First impressions its only ok. Graphics are pretty poor but i knew that getting it.

Mario kart is quite boring but ive only done around 5 tracks.

Have nt played tiger yet but the golf on the wii sports is good. I reckon if i get the right games it could be good but im having trouble with the remote i cant find out how to calibrate it to the tv at the moment its about 8 inches below where i point so im just moving a target around the screen rather than pointing at something directly.

Played for about 2 1/2 hours last night and got bored which hasnt happened before on the other consoles.

Its really aimed at the under 10's everything is very childish. If someone was asking which they should get out of all 3 there is no contest the PS3 wins hands down id recomend anyone with a Wii to get the PS3 it will blow you away.

Its really aimed at the under 10's everything is very childish
    Its not. You don't get it, and thats fine, but stop trying to make out that if you don't like something, its automatically ****e...