Thread: Snooker World Championship

Snooker World Championship

First weekend of the snooker was intresting. My own favourite Mr Hendry, is in a bit of bother against promising Northern Irish lad Mark Allen. John Higgins looks like he may do it again. Also excellent performance by Peter Ebdon. Stephen Lee was hammered by good old Joe Swail. My tip for winner is Mark Selby.
    Results so far:
    Higgins 10-5 Stevens
    Ebdon 10-9 Cope
    Carter 10-9 Hawkins
    Lee 4-10 Swail
    Robertson 10-4 Bond
    Day 10-6 Judge
    Hendry 10-9 Allen
    Davis 8-10 Bingham
    Last edited by Pike B; 22/04/2008 at 7:33 AM.

I'm thinking maybe Selby or Murphy with Robertson as outsider , Of course you couldnt rule out Ronnie if he played any way like he can and theres plenty of former champs in the field who know exactly how to win it

I'm going to go for a Neil Robertson and John Higgins final.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Scores updated lads:

Higgins 10-5 Stevens
    Ebdon 10-9 Cope
    Carter 10-9 Hawkins
    Lee 4-10 Swail
    Robertson 10-4 Bond
    Day 10-6 Judge
    Hendry 10-9 Allen
    Davis 8-10 Bingham

Order of play today:
    Ding-Fu
    Selby 5-4 King
    Williams 8-1 M.Davis
    Dott-Perry
    Murphy-Harold

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    I'm thinking maybe Selby or Murphy with Robertson as outsider , Of course you couldnt rule out Ronnie if he played any way like he can and theres plenty of former champs in the field who know exactly how to win it
    All three in form. Could be the big three for years to come those guys. With maybe Ding aswell.

Quote Originally Posted by rambler14 View Post
    I'm going to go for a Neil Robertson and John Higgins final.
    Would be a cracker..

Result from last night:
    Ding 10-9 Fu.
    Such a pity they had to meet so early. Was a cracking match, with some fantastic break building.
    Now Ding is off and running he could be very difficult to stop.

Doesn't seem to be too many snooker fans on this site lads.. Ah well, I tried.

Doherty crashes out in the first round to some unknown Chinese lad. Thats poor.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

Quote Originally Posted by Torn-Ado View Post
    Doherty crashes out in the first round to some unknown Chinese lad. Thats poor.
    I'm disgusted.. Ken needs to get his sh.t together..

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pike B View Post
    I'm disgusted.. Ken needs to get his sh.t together..
    Your disgusted? What a very OTT comment to make ffs as if your any better like cop on
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Quote Originally Posted by Dunny2K7 View Post
    Your disgusted? What a very OTT comment to make ffs as if your any better like cop on
    Hey get stuffed.
    I am disgusted for the man himself. And as a fan of his. His form was very poor, which he admitted himself. Don't go shouting the odds with me bud.

Best 147 I have ever seen. Ronnie is without a doubt the greatest player to ever play the game.
    He should win the World Championship if he continues the form shown so far.
    Stephen Maguire vs Ronnie O'Sullivan in the final.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

85 Posts
    The positional shot he played off the black to open up the red that was stuck to the pink was just fantastic.. A joy to watch!
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    With O'Sullivan playing like that I don't think he will be stopped this year.

Have seen very little of the play this year unfortunately. How's this Wenbo fella doing? Beat Joe Swail 13-12 so faces Ronnie in the next round.

Lots of shocks this year- Selby and Doherty going out first round and Higgins and Murphy (who was well beat) in the last round.

Williams, Doherty and Stevens all out of the top 16. Williams and Doherty both coming towards the end of their careers but a few years ago I thought Stevens would be a future champion. Had a great chance in '05 (when I had money on him) but messed up in the final.

Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    The positional shot he played off the black to open up the red that was stuck to the pink was just fantastic.. A joy to watch!
    Great Shot. Shot of the Championship so far.

Ronnie has now made £471,000 from 147 breaks at the Crucible.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Have seen very little of the play this year unfortunately. How's this Wenbo fella doing? Beat Joe Swail 13-12 so faces Ronnie in the next round.
    That went 13-12? Wow, good comeback from Swail (it was 12-8 the last I saw). Liang Wenbo has looked good from what I've seen of him, although that's not all that much, good long potting and good patience in a few safety exchanges. He only got his first century of the tournament this evening though so his break building may not be top notch.

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pike B View Post
    Hey get stuffed.
    I am disgusted for the man himself. And as a fan of his. His form was very poor, which he admitted himself. Don't go shouting the odds with me bud.
    And what? It happens FFS! Ken is a proven champion and just because he went out early! Thats snooker its unpredictable. And I will shout the odds "bud"
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Saw the last frame of the Liang - Swail match last night. Incredible drama, I'm just annoyed that the result was ruined for me on here.