Thread: support

support

wat do ye think about the support ramblers are getting and the support they actually deserve, im sick of people in this town not supporting their team.
    up in pats there was the usual suspects, where are the rest of the town, are they still up in athlone????? when will people realise the acheivements of this team and their manager, 1st division champions, winning promotion and all that on the smallest budget, phenomenal stuff. not to mention the class football their playing. all this especially for such a small town, people dont realise these things until they're gone.

the supporters club dont help either, not 1 bus ran this season, they are an absolute disgrace. we drive up but not everyone such as the young fellas have transport, if i was to take every young fella who asked me could they go to games every week id have to sell the car and buy a 52 seater.

they will have to understand that a supporters club is not a profit making organisation, but is mainly to subsidise supporters travelling to games, and increasing interest in the club. any money left after that(which must be a lot, as running buses wud pay for themselves) could then go to the club.

what is wrong with these people, i just dont understand this mentality.this club is not an elitist organisation, the more support got for the club, the more revenue and hence more security and success.

id advise anybody and everybody to go on youtube and see the likes of srfc ultras and general rovers supporters, and many other clubs and how they support THEIR TEAM.
    The lads deserve better, even though they are very professional in their approach to the games,it must be disheartening to them or at least not helping them as much as it could. im a firm beleiver in the 12th man when the going gets tough, it seems to bring out extra energy in the players.
    Last edited by depor; 21/04/2008 at 12:38 AM.

well said depor
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

One word: Cobh

Always been that way. Don't support their own and nerver will I'm afraid to say. Just look at the state of business in the town FFS.
    RamblersWeb

Cricket: The most boring farcical game to ever grace the planet.

Fair play to you depor, you've said what most of us believe. The thing is that generally speaking, those of us who follow Rams are basically a large part of the minority that actually give a damn about the town. There are a few exceptions at Rams (the MSL brigade) but we'll say no more about them (grrrrrr....).

These days, we have a hardcore of about 500 and about 1000 'drifters', I reckon the best bet is to concentrate on getting the drifters to come down and watch every week if we are to boost attendances. Preaching to the masses, you may as well spend your time beating your head off a wall.

Tbh, living in Cobh frustrated the hell out of me, couldn't make any headway in business and too many cliques operating - Rams was the one redeeming feature. Got so sick of it I left, and now I'm out of it I like the place much better as a visitor.

I agree that the supporters club needs to be sorted out better and to get at least a minibus running to every game.
    Players lose you games, not tactics. There's so much crap talked about tactics by people who barely know how to win at dominoes. Brian Clough

Every single club has it's hard core and the drifters. If you evaluate it, to average 1,000 at the gate from a population of approx 14,000 is good by any standards. Our location means that we are like a close knit family, all being islanders. Our location also means that we are unlikely to attract anyone outside of Cobh because most would view Cork City as their "natural" team or the team that represents them as Corkmen. We see ourselves as Cobhmen first and Corkmen second. I like that personally although it is obviously restrictive.

I agree about the away games though. The supporters club should do more in the way of publicity to operate buses to away games. The club website and a few posters in the pubs will ensure that people will know. I cannot see how they wouldn't be able to take at least one mini bus to games in Dublin etc by doing that.
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

becareful now lads remember last time we suggested things that the supporters club should do? there was holy war.
    Quote Originally Posted by fbtn View Post
    No matter to us. We win all our games, we win the league regardless of what anyone else does.

Quote Originally Posted by MojoPin View Post
    becareful now lads remember last time we suggested things that the supporters club should do? there was holy war.
    your right, but what has happened since with SC, nothing at all
    "Some weeks the lady is good looking and some weeks they're not. Our performance today would have been not the best looking bird but at least we got her in the taxi". - Ian Holloway

There is a section on the official site for them to use and place their information. Even if they don't want to spend the two minutes inputting it into the online software, all they have to do is simply forward it to me and I'll put it there for them. Easy eh!
    RamblersWeb

Cricket: The most boring farcical game to ever grace the planet.

Quote Originally Posted by luka View Post
    There is a section on the official site for them to use and place their information. Even if they don't want to spend the two minutes inputting it into the online software, all they have to do is simply forward it to me and I'll put it there for them. Easy eh!
    ya youd think it would be easy, but with so many people fighting against each other nothing is easy
    We control by attitudes positive mental attitudes not by rules.

Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse View Post
    Our location also means that we are unlikely to attract anyone outside of Cobh because most would view Cork City as their "natural" team or the team that represents them as Corkmen. We see ourselves as Cobhmen first and Corkmen second.dn't be able to take at least one mini bus to games in Dublin etc by doing that.
    Whili I see your point I know an awful lot of Cork City fans who go down every Saturday night. At the Rovers game there were plenty of us.

I think you'l notice that on Friday when we're playing a the same time.

Just once i'd like to go to an away match and see somebody new turn up, nothing against any of the lads that travel up but it's the same faces everytime. I'd say the players are sick of us by now aswell.
    I get phonecalls from people leading up to every away match asking me if theres a bus and each time it's the same answer everytime......"Unfortunately, No!"

The behind the scenes of the club needs a real shake up. On the playing front were fine but lets be honest the "mini-commitees" within the club have major problems.
    For example:
    Bar Commitee-In trouble
    Supporters Club-Who?
    Main Commitee-Cobh Boxing Club

As for the crowd in Athlone, unfortunately depor that will never be seen again.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Quote Originally Posted by rambler14 View Post
    Just once i'd like to go to an away match and see somebody new turn up, nothing against any of the lads that travel up but it's the same faces everytime. I'd say the players are sick of us by now aswell.
    I get phonecalls from people leading up to every away match asking me if theres a bus and each time it's the same answer everytime......"Unfortunately, No!"

The behind the scenes of the club needs a real shake up. On the playing front were fine but lets be honest the "mini-commitees" within the club have major problems.
    For example:
    Bar Commitee-In trouble
    Supporters Club-Who?
    Main Commitee-Cobh Boxing Club

As for the crowd in Athlone, unfortunately depor that will never be seen again.
    probably the funniest thing you have ever posted
    "Some weeks the lady is good looking and some weeks they're not. Our performance today would have been not the best looking bird but at least we got her in the taxi". - Ian Holloway

its not just cobh, its the same problem faced by most clubs tbh. but my gripe is the supporters club, thats why i started this thread. with the few exceptions such as rovers and derry. i really dont understand why people knock our league even when they never seen a LOI game, its shameful.

we have discussed this on the main forum before, isnt it amazing that if an englishman asked you who you follow and you replied ''ramblers'' or any other LOI team he'd say ''ok''. but if an irish man asks you and you give the same reply he'd either laugh or think you were taking the ****. why is this?? is it this nations low self-esteem or some type of complex or what??
    Last edited by depor; 21/04/2008 at 10:47 PM.