Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: Limerick: European Capital of Murder 2008

Unless it's a point about your middle class persecution complex and how you pick up all your information from the Daily Sun I suppose I am missing your point.

Bravo anto

Unless it's a point about your middle class persecution complex and how you pick up all your information from the Daily Sun I suppose I am missing your point.
    Right my mistake ill try not to make wild sweeping generalisations about people.

Lads it turns out Limeirck has no crime no poverty no gang related shootings that all this was created by the middle class tabloid readers in Limerick because they want to ruin there own businesses and reduce the value of there homes put off tourists and investors etc etc . I know thats hard to believe because it sounds really really stupid but aparently its true.

Ps. I have nt read a tabloid in about 7 years all my "info" comes from people dealing with this on a day to day basis. i suppose if i stuck my fingers in my ears and went la la la la la i too would think there is nothing wrong.

PPS your middle class !!!
    Last edited by anto1208; 24/04/2008 at 8:54 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post

Ps. I have nt read a tabloid in about 7 years all my "info" comes from people dealing with this on a day to day basis.
    Do they work for the Irish Sun though?

Right my mistake ill try not to make wild sweeping generalisations about people.
    Please do.

To save yourself looking ridiculous as much as anything else

Lads it turns out Limeirck has no crime no poverty no gang related shootings
    That's just ludicrous.

Reverse anto, REVERSE!!

You've gone too much the other way now and you were doing so well........

that all this was created by the middle class tabloid readers in Limerick because they want to ruin there own businesses and reduce the value of there homes put off tourists and investors etc etc .
    Absolute drivel.

And I bet you thought you were really clever writing it and everything.

I know thats hard to believe because it sounds really really stupid
    It does.

REALLY.

but aparently its true.
    Haven't had a chance to glance at The Sun yet today so no idea where you got this from.

Ps. I have nt read a tabloid in about 7 years
    Read it yourself, had it read to you by someone.

Makes no difference to me, the result is the same.

all my "info" comes from people dealing with this on a day to day basis.
    Expand your circle of friends anto

The Salem Young Womens association had more luck than your lot.

i suppose if i stuck my fingers in my ears and went la la la la la
    Mind you don't poke yourself in the eye while aiming those fingers at your ears

i too would think there is nothing wrong.
    Or you'd still be cowered in a corner somewhere waiting for the inevitable gangland bullet.

PPS your middle class !!!
    WTF

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Do they work for the Irish Sun though?

Nope investigating detectives and social workers.

Please do.

To save yourself looking ridiculous as much as anything else

That's just ludicrous.

Reverse anto, REVERSE!!

You've gone too much the other way now and you were doing so well........

Absolute drivel.

And I bet you thought you were really clever writing it and everything.

It does.

REALLY.

Haven't had a chance to glance at The Sun yet today so no idea where you got this from.

Read it yourself, had it read to you by someone.

Makes no difference to me, the result is the same.

Expand your circle of friends anto

The Salem Young Womens association had more luck than your lot.

Mind you don't poke yourself in the eye while aiming those fingers at your ears

Or you'd still be cowered in a corner somewhere waiting for the inevitable gangland bullet.

WTF
    How am i cowering waiting for a gangland bullet ? it doesnt stop me from going about my day.thats rubbish raising issues about the city doesnt mean your hiding in your attic afraid to go out what a dumb response.

Are you working class ? No ! so your either Middle or upper class ? i presume your middle class like the rest of us on here.

Anyway i cant be arsed anymore it makes no difference to me what you think of me. If you cant respond to a thread without throwing insults at people who dissagree with you then dont bother.

Nope investigating detectives and social workers.
    I'm friends with social workers in Cork, and guess what, they too have crime in their city, and not only that they have drug related gangland crime! He tells me it's the worst place to live in the world for crime bar Disneyland Japan, and he should know, he's a sensationalist.

The only detective I know is Bluebeard however, so I'll get on to him about it and get back with his findings in due time

Are you working class ? No !
    Because the working class don't exist anymore? seriously giving away your middle class Irish Independent reading ways here anto

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    I'm friends with social workers in Cork, and guess what, they too have crime in their city, and not only that they have drug related gangland crime! He tells me it's the worst place to live in the world for crime bar Disneyland Japan, and he should know, he's a sensationalist.

The only detective I know is Bluebeard however, so I'll get on to him about it and get back with his findings in due time

Because the working class don't exist anymore? seriously giving away your middle class Irish Independent reading ways here anto
    Again i never said other cities dont have the same problems one last time Every city has these problems, limerick isnt the worst you go to dublin cork galway they all have crime its just this is a thread about crime in Limerick so i talked about crime in limerick.

Nope but does a working class person sit at a Pc at 10 in the morning on a thursday ?

Are you working class ? No ! so your either Middle or upper class ? i presume your middle class like the rest of us on here.
    Nope but does a working class person sit at a Pc at 10 in the morning on a thursday ?

And here, in a rather ludicrous nutshell, is everything you need to know about anto and his attitudes

Jesus Wept.

Anyway i cant be arsed anymore it makes no difference to me what you think of me.
    Probably just aswell.

If you cant respond to a thread without throwing insults at people who dissagree with you then dont bother.
    There are only some many times you can bang your head against a brick wall before you grow resentful of bricks.

Probably just aswell.

There are only some many times you can bang your head against a brick wall before you grow resentful of bricks.
    Your a bully...

Keep the tit for tat ramblings to PMs please.

Do you have a problem with educating the working class now?

Your sending mixed signals too 80% to be wiped out yet standing up for the rights of a scoab to dress like a scoab i think your going soft i want Jebus in charge of the cul just in case
    I'm not sure if you're being facetious or not here? If you're not and you're seriously advocating dictating how people can dress you're gone completely off in the deep end. Are you going to ban hoodies completely can I ask (regardless of whether it's scobe, skater, rocker or other wearing it?) Perhaps any t-shirt with a vaguely outrageous message?

They can dress however the hell they want surely (and indeed drink on embankments if they want) as long as they don't mess around with stellar pillars of the community such as detectives (part of the problem by the way) and social workers.

New Garda Recorded Crime Stats out; http://www.cso.ie/
    Doesn't show Limerick in the best of lights when compared to other urban centres.
    Those stats are for all of Limerick including the County whereas the Dublin stats are broken down to the various urban divisions and the Cork stats are broken into Cork City and the two county divisions. They don't show just the Limerick urban stats (city and environs) per head of population, fortunately for Limerick otherwise the figures and comparisons would be truly shocking.
    Cork City FC

Nobody is denying that (though the gardai would do well to examine their own role in the whole thing too). The crux of the issue is that the popular perception is that Limerick exists as a sort of Irish Baghdad or something where ordinary, decent folk can't walk from one end of the street to the other without suffering at least three vicious crimes against their person. The figures fail to show that the violence is mostly, not entirely but mostly, conducted within the city but without impacting upon the vast majority of its citizens (the luckless anto seemingly dragging the figures up all by himself). If you moved to Limerick tomorrow the chances of you personally being the victim of a violent crime are no higher than in Cork (unless you're an active member of the criminal underworld ) but the figures are unable to show that most of the violent crime in the city is far removed from the everyday live of those of us who live here.

This does not lessen the significance of the murders per se but it is wholly different situation to the one that is commonly spun.

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    Do you have a problem with educating the working class now?

I'm not sure if you're being facetious or not here? If you're not and you're seriously advocating dictating how people can dress you're gone completely off in the deep end. Are you going to ban hoodies completely can I ask (regardless of whether it's scobe, skater, rocker or other wearing it?) Perhaps any t-shirt with a vaguely outrageous message?

They can dress however the hell they want surely (and indeed drink on embankments if they want) as long as they don't mess around with stellar pillars of the community such as detectives (part of the problem by the way) and social workers.
    Where the hell did you get that from ? education is a good idea for every class.Not being smart about it but I dont get this class concept anyway what defines your class why am i being called middle class and others claiming to be working class, like being middle class is something to be ashamed off and being working class is something to be so proud of that even middle class people claim to be working class.

How do you figure it out is it where your from ?
    Is it your education ?
    Is it you job ?

On your 2nd point (even though it was clearly a joke )ive no problem with how people dress and since im wearing a hoody now i dont think id ban them.i think they are quite comfortable . I do have a problem with guys getting there dole money and buying cans drinking them then throwing all the cans on the ground for some one else to clean up. why is that a problem for you am i infringing on there human rights to make a mess ?

Its great to see you so worried about a scoabs right to dress how he wants and act how he wants but you completly disregard somebody else right to go about there day minding there own business and not bothering anyone.

Im all for personal liberties its the people infringing on others personal liberties that im against i dont know why your getting so uppidy about it.

Where the hell did you get that from ? education is a good idea for every class.Not being smart about it but I dont get this class concept anyway what defines your class why am i being called middle class and others claiming to be working class, like being middle class is something to be ashamed off and being working class is something to be so proud of that even middle class people claim to be working class.
    Don't worry, whatever else you're being in this thread it's not smart! I'm middle class. And not ashamed of it in the slightest. Most middle class people claim to be working class or upper class because they're tossers. Nothing I can do about that. And the point I was making is that one reason that a working class person may be on such a middle-class tool as a PC at peak cost times is because they're in an educational facility.

I do have a problem with guys getting there dole money and buying cans drinking them then throwing all the cans on the ground for some one else to clean up. why is that a problem for you am i infringing on there human rights to make a mess ?
    You haven't mentioned rubbish until now which I'll concede is necessary for you to put some distance between you and your previous contention that was to be honest very close to saying 'scobes should be rounded up and erradicated regardless of their history of criminality'. Of course I have a problem with people littering. It's a classless act that should be punished far more severely than it is. However prior to your last post you objected to 'scobes drinking on embankments'. You made no mention of littering, simply their presence as you walked past. Those were your words, I'm not making anything up, you objected to having to walk past groups of scobes drinking.

Its great to see you so worried about a scoabs right to dress how he wants and act how he wants but you completly disregard somebody else right to go about there day minding there own business and not bothering anyone.

Im all for personal liberties its the people infringing on others personal liberties that im against i dont know why your getting so uppidy about it.
    Again you are disregarding (wilfully or not) my repeated contentions that it is wrong to prosecute somebody just for looking 'scobbish' if they are not actively involved in criminal acts. I just happen to think that your objections to having to share air and common space with people that you think look as though they may potentially dangerous are pretty facistic.

if you can show me one place in my posting where I've suggested that it's ok for a criminal act to be perpetuated against anybody not involverd in criminality you may have a case. Otherwise your arguments are groundless.
    Last edited by sadloserkid; 24/04/2008 at 1:44 PM. Reason: Cleaning up quotes...

Don't worry, whatever else you're being in this thread it's not smart! I'm middle class. And not ashamed of it in the slightest. Most middle class people claim to be working class or upper class because they're tossers. Nothing I can do about that. And the point I was making is that one reason that a working class person may be on such a middle-class tool at a PC at peak cost times is because they're in an educational facility.

You haven't mentioned rubbish until now which I'll concede is necessary for you to put some distance between you and your previous contention that was to be honest very close to saying 'scobes should be rounded up and erradicated regardless of their history of criminality'. Of course I have a problem with people littering. It's a classless act that should be punished far more severely than it is. However prior to your last post you objected to 'scobes drinking on embankments'. You made no mention of littering, simply their presence as you walked past. Those were your words, I'm not making anything up, you objected to having to walk past groups of scobes drinking.

Again you are disregarding (wilfully or not) my repeated contentions that it is wrong to prosecute somebody just for looking 'scobbish' if they are not actively involved in criminal acts. I just happen to think that your objections to having to share air and common space with people that you think look as though they may potentially dangerous are pretty facistic.

if you can show me one place in my posting where I've suggested that it's ok for a criminal act to be perpetuated against anybody not involverd in criminality you may have a case. Otherwise your arguments are groundless.

Again ive no problem with how people dress i dont think of people wearing hoodies as scoabs , scoabs to me are people up to no good i dont care if they have a hoody or a suit on.

The "scoabs" im refering to that i want rounded up are criminals, why would i want rid of somebody that is doing no wrong ?

Ive plenty of mates that are from these so called deprived areas and wear tracksuits and hoodys etc yet they still dont break the law and get of there ass and work hard.I want rid of the Dirtballs not the decent people.

you mentioned 80% are you saying 80% of the population are criminals ? or are you getting rid of people that havent done wrong as well ?
    Last edited by anto1208; 24/04/2008 at 1:45 PM.

If you moved to Limerick tomorrow the chances of you personally being the victim of a violent crime are no higher than in Cork
    Not sure if I agree with you there. Unfortunately there are plenty of pretty horendous examples of innocent people in Limerick having their lives dented and blighted by the problems of serious violence in the city from the 2 kids that got petrol bombed to Brian Fitzgerald to the families that have had to move out of Moyross, Southhill, etc to those that were told not to testify in criminal cases, to those others that were murdered by members of the crime families in unrelated incidents.
    I really like Limerick but I always get into arguments with Limerick people about this issue when they say it doesn't affect the majority of law abiding citizens in the city no more than any other city. Unfortunately it does and you are more likely to be the victim of serious crime in Limerick above other cities evn if you have no connections to anything to do with the fueding.
    Cork City FC

Quote Originally Posted by rebs23 View Post
    Not sure if I agree with you there. Unfortunately there are plenty of pretty horendous examples of innocent people in Limerick having their lives dented and blighted by the problems of serious violence in the city from the 2 kids that got petrol bombed to Brian Fitzgerald to the families that have had to move out of Moyross, Southhill, etc to those that were told not to testify in criminal cases, to those others that were murdered by members of the crime families in unrelated incidents.
    I really like Limerick but I always get into arguments with Limerick people about this issue when they say it doesn't affect the majority of law abiding citizens in the city no more than any other city. Unfortunately it does and you are more likely to be the victim of serious crime in Limerick above other cities evn if you have no connections to anything to do with the fueding.
    Oh oh follow on now 4 pages of how wrong you are how stupid you are how you are ruining limerick like i got when i said the same thing

Allthough i dont think you are any more likely to be a victim in limerick than any other city id say its prob around the same chance. I was just saying there is a big chance that the crime you are victim to can be traced back to these gangs through a few degrees of seperation.

But what do i know im an idiot that judges people in hoodies.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast