Thread: Weekend latest 18/04/08

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Lilywhites View Post
    Same goes for his brother.
    Apparently he's a better prospect than Alan in his father's eyes! Make of that what you will..

are there any judges who follow eircom league football?

Flan Brennan posts regularly on OrielWeb
    Thursdays are Oriel.

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paulie_walnuts View Post
    Flan Brennan posts regularly on OrielWeb
    Yep Judge Brennan is a regular on Orielweb.
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CharlesThompson View Post
    Did you not have Sean Cooney up there not too long ago?
    Both would be up there in my hit list, although Cooney gave us so many laughs we are considering erecting a statue in his honour.

Quote Originally Posted by City till I Die View Post
    I have to say Bohs deserved it. Drogs looked poor, and Bohs wanted it more. ****es me off to see Brennan put in a performance like that and he wouldnt bother his balls for us last year.

Also that big striker for Drogheda Thiam is crap!! Tits on a bull!! His first touch is poor, his passing is poor, always stood still, pure pish!!!
    I can't see anything I could disagree with here.

I think last night we stamped the envelope and addressed it to the FAI announcing our withdrawal from the title race.

3 loses from 7 games - last season we only lost 3 before winning the title.

Going to be a long painful season for the Drogs, watching a group of extremely talented players run around like headless chickens in pure frustration due to the tactics of the manager. Doolin has to take full responsibility for the start to this season given his team slections (dropping Byrne FFS) and his subs (Thiam anyone !!!) - but do you think he will take responsibility - not a chance - too busy polishing the chips that are stacked high on this shoulders.

Thumbs down

"BobtheDrog" , you must be joking about Brennan (who appears to be a headcase, anyway).....Doolin and his bench were clearly winding him up all first half, (goes to show how focussed the manager was), and as for Robinson, he should have seen straight red for the assault on young Powell!..Stu Byrne scythed Joxer Kelly down as if he was a woodcutter chopping trees!!....the legs are gone for poor Stuart, and as for Gavin/Gartland partnership!!....some people suggested these lads should be in the Irish set-up! the pressure must be on Doolin now.....Drogs were simply dreadful!...having said that, I thought Bohs were hungry and the lad Cronin did really well in the middle but whatever people say about Burns at centre-half, he is some player....never flustered and never caught for pace!

Quote Originally Posted by City till I Die View Post
    Also that big striker for Drogheda Thiam is crap!! Tits on a bull!! His first touch is poor, his passing is poor, always stood still, pure pish!!!
    I agree. Seen him a few times & is really poor. Seems to have no awareness of the other players & takes too much out of the ball usually losing possession. Hope Doolin starts him next week.

Drogs did not deserve anything from the game. Until they got the wicked deflected goal had shown nothing. Pressure will be mounting now as they have lost their 3 games (Rovers, Derry, Bohs) against the top 6 teams.

Should be a big crowd for City-Drogs next week & Stuart Byrne will be a big loss.

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post

Should be a big crowd for City-Drogs next week & Stuart Byrne will be a big loss.
    Massive, massive game. Personally wouldn't say they're out of the race already, especially in a league where you play every team three times giving you more opportunity to gain on rivals, not to mention the fact those at the top will probably keep taking points off one another without anyone really racing ahead.

That said, if St. Pats and Cork win on Friday, Drogheda will find themselves 11 points adrift after only 8 games and out of only 24 possible points).

Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    Personally wouldn't say they're out of the race already, especially in a league where you play every team three times giving you more opportunity to gain on rivals, not to mention the fact those at the top will probably keep taking points off one another without anyone really racing ahead.
    I got the Impression from Doolins' post match interview last night, that he's resigned himself to the fact that Drogheda are out of the title race

44 Posts
    Have to say i totally enjoyed Brennans performance last night,i was speaking to him earlier in the year and he had initially wanted to sign for Drogheda,but i think a combination of Boh's really wanting him and the arrogance of Doolin made his mind up for him.

Fair play on the peno,reminded me of helder postiga V England in Euros
    Only another 9 titles till Drogheda become pride of county louth!!!

it shows to prove that doolin bought the title last season and only for shels demise he mightnt be drogs manager.. they are brutal this year I would like O Brien and Barrett to play from the start.. Gavin Whelan leavin was a bit of surprise... if thats true about doolin winding up brennan doolin deserves everything he gets! thank god he never came to us when he was at ucd.. the sneaky slime..

Tonight's league cup:

UCD 2-0 St. Pat's
    McMillan 77
    Reilly 83

101 Posts
    Well UCD had a completely different 11 out from that at the weekend.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    We only had three first team players, and only one would be in our best XI. Good few debuts and a good few players who have less than 10 first team appearances. Pats played their reserves, but that included Barry Ryan, Bobby Ryan, Dempsey, Brennan, Guy and Dessie Byrne. Very good performance from our youngsters.

3,489 Posts
    Think Bazza only played because Clarke was injured and Horgan's 40.

But basically, three or four first teamers each.

Ahhhh ballax - don't tell me we're gonna have to win the League Cup again this year....?!?

Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 789